Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dallastown Area Senior High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 14, 2014

I will never recommend DHS to anyone. My son was a great student at SHS but upon his tranfer to DHS is grade stunk. I there was no counselor involvement. When he did poorly, for example, a math he chose that he was doing extremely poorly (getting in the 60's, his former school a 64 was failing) he was allowed to chose a higher class for the next year? Why???? The only reason he graduated was because. OOPs he did not. Supposedly because of a gym credit, but again the majority of his grades were below 75%. What I did not understand was the fact that he did NOT have all the required credits or classes but was allowed to were a cap and gown and walk with his class to received a ready for this "Certificate of Completion"? what is this. Doing bad and sit were your class colors and walk with the people you sat with in a class room. Unbelievable. Better high school guidelines need to be put in place. If students show difficulty put in place improvement plans, to help them excel, DHS has no improvement plan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

As a recent graduate of Dallastown (Class of 2013), I am very grateful for how Dallastown prepared me for college. I am excelling in my college courses due to the careful preparation of teachers and staff. I did not appreciate the education I received while I was there, but it is evident to me now that Dallastown is an EXCELLENT school. There are, of course, a few things that could be improved upon like, the math department and the recognition of extra curricular activities outside of sports, but the school is doing something right for its students.


Posted September 22, 2013

I am currently a sophomore at dallastown and I am beyond impressed with the abundance of academic opportunities, the extracurriculars, and the eager to teach teachers. There are so many different courses to take, an abundance of electives, and so many clubs to choose from! I love all of our spirit days and fun activities. The teachers really want you to succeed, so as long as you want to put in the work you will do amazingly! They prepare you for college so well; some of the honors classes already use college text books. And there are also a lot of AP courses available. I really don't find anything wrong with this school other than a lack of diverse teachers. The facility is beyond well kept and everything is clean and up to date. We have wonderful computers and up to date software. I don't know what else I can say but I love this school! As long as you are not a trouble maker and are ready to succeed this is a great choice for anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2011

As a student of DAHS, I often find that this school is "over-hyped". Honestly, Dallastown is a great school in that they are always willing to help students plan for their future. The school is constantly helping the students plan for future jobs, and plan for college. Honors, AP, and Dual Enrollment classes make it possible to receive an above average education. However, Dallastown does have some very notable problems. Money is constantly being thrown into technology which is never used. Smart boards, flat screen TVs, and laptops that are widely hated. A million dollar hallway was just built to connect the high school to the middle school, because we have way too many people in the district, and thus we had to build an intermediate school. Also, as is probably true with all public schools, if a teacher and a student have a problem, it's always the student's fault. Always. Entire classes have gone to the office to complain about a teacher, because they didn't feel they were learning anything in the class, but nothing is ever done. Also, we spend WAY too much on unnecessary administrators.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2008

As a junior, I transferred out of this school after my freshman and sophomore year. I now attend a county school in the south. After seeing how southern schools are run, it gives me a whole new appreciation for DAHS. The classes truly are honors classes, and there is ALWAYS a class that will accommodate the individual learning abilities that each person possesses. The teachers are very helpful, and the guidance counselors are excellent. The quality of the education in this school is the highest I have experienced. Dallastown has plenty to offer athletically, academically, and socially. This school has prepared me so well, that I have not experienced any new learning as a junior for the last 8 weeks in my new school. Although the halls at DAHS are crowded, it is a trivial matter compared to the awesome academics. Dallastown truly is a 'School of Excellence.'
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2008

Great school. One of the best science programs around to complement much honor in every other subject. As a graduate, I excel in college better than many others from other high schools. I am proud to have been a wildcat.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2008

I moved to the district as a freshman and was welcomed with open arms. The teachers are excellent, a number of them having been Dallastown graduates themselves. There is a variety of classes offered, allowing some freedom of choice. Each department is strong, including the art, music, and language depatments. Dallastown's high standards have prepared me well for college. Even though I complained the entire way through, I have memories from clubs, teams, classes, and friends that I wouldn't give up for the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2008

Our son transferred to Dallastown HS in 9th grade from a local private, smaller school. The transition was very much better than anticipated. All our hopes for more opportunities and class choices were met. The teachers are fabulous, some a better match than others, as one would expect. But all of them seem to be very dedicated. We are not originally from this area, and previously have sent our children (4) to parochial schools, but it is so refreshing to find a good public school system and have a choice as to where you want to send your children for a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

As a parent of one student who graduated DAHS, and two that were in DAHS I must say it was a struggle. Volunteering several times, I witnessed 'control, power hungry' teachers, who screamed for no reason at students. Sports? Forget about it. If you are new, out of the area, your child doesn't have a chance. You must have connections. It has nothing to do with the ability of your child. Parents are rude and very unfriendly, therefore the students are the same. Very happy I am no longer in this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2006

As a graduate of the school, i must say how dedicated the teachers are to a students sucess in the world.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 12, 2005

This school is very smart the teachers are great and they help you out as much as they can. Being a student here was good because they teach you some good stuff.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 1, 2005

As a graduate of Dallastown AHS I am proud to spread the word of the excellent programs available to future students. I was involved in sports, both swimming and track and field, both county champions. My parents were very involved in everything that went on from booster clubs to senior class dinner theatre. I also have to agree that college was much easier than I had anticipated due to the academic rigor which I endured in high school. This is a great school district!(oh, and great teachers make great students!)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 14, 2004

I graduated from Dallastown. While there I was challenged, and worked hard to get B's and C's. In college I was a straight A student because of the education and preperation I got at Dallastown.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

The residential area is being built up. You won't find anything in the news against this school. Cop on premises. DARE program is in effect. Building has security day and night. 70% + of the graduates attend college. Most teachers are helpful and considerate and available online during off hours. Many extra-curricular activities to join.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

I am a past student. I enjoyed my high school career very much. I still have pride in my school as I have encountered those who did not receive as wonderful an education as I did. The teachers were excellent and so were the coaches and other students. Would not have traded my high school for the world.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

447 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

457 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

454 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
49%

2009

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

465 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female77%
Male68%
Black37%
Asian89%
Hispanic57%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)48%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female82%
Male75%
Black63%
Asian89%
Hispanic72%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)45%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students61%
Female59%
Male63%
Black27%
Asian67%
Hispanic50%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities (IEP)36%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students92%
Female96%
Male88%
Black85%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)69%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 71%
Black 7% 15%
Hispanic 4% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 New School Ln
Dallastown, PA 17313
Phone: (717) 244-4021

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT