Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
214 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Blessed Virgin Mary School 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
My son attended for Pre-K, and although i was nervous sending my baby out into the real world, i was amazed how much Mrs. kaiser has taught my son. Not only academically, but socially, and spiritually as well. Not nervous at all this year , bring in on Kindergartn!

Blessed Virgin Mary School 4

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
I have a student at this school now. He has had his current teacher Mrs. Denny twice now. Once in Pre-K and now for Third Grade. I have to say that Mrs. Denny has always been a wonderful caring teacher. She is always quick to respond to any of my concerns or questions even outside of school hours. The Principle is pretty good as well, although I feel that sometimes she is not consistent with her follow through. She will say she is going to do something and then not do what she said she was going to do. Overall i would reccomend this school to any parent looking for a school that is really a great family and strong community.


Blessed Virgin Mary School 5

Posted April 24, 2013
- a community member
I have read the responses from students. These should not be posted on the site. However, I think when anyone reads into their anger there were obviously reasons that cause such dislike of BVM. I have read nothing but great reviews in the local newspaper throughout the past 7 years about the pastor and principal -- BVM is a success story!! Perhaps these youngsters were not meant to be educated in a rigorous academic challenging atmosphere both in regards to respect and academics!

Blessed Virgin Mary School 1

Posted April 23, 2011
- a parent
Are you reviewing the school or the student? The comments that you made in regards to the student are not adult like at all. If the principal conducts herself in the manner that you have expressed yourself, I would never send or either consider sending my child to this particular school. We all are entitled to our own opinions. Don't judge. Children/students have opinions too. After all they are the ones that are learning in this environment.

Blessed Virgin Mary School 4

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
First I would like to say that the cruel things that were said about the principal are rude and disrespectful, especially coming from a student. That student , should perhaps pay attention in class more as their spelling is awful. If you are going to call someone a name, you should be able to spell it......Now I have 3 daughters......2 have already been thru BVM ,K-8th grade. I was never more happy with the education they recieved and their safety inside and outside of the school.My last child is still at BVM. The school has conferences as often as the parent needs them. They really care about the children.I have seen this now with 3 children attending.The education is excellent. The only area that could use improvment is extracuricular activities. Have a meeting with the school and then decide. You won't be disappointed.


Blessed Virgin Mary School 5

Posted November 16, 2009
- a parent
My daugter is in her third year at BVM school. I find the school is more than responsive to her needs as a student. The teachers are well qualified and go the extra mile for their students. BVM fosters a high academic standards and a disaplined environment. They have an active home and school association and parents who participate in their childrens learning. I have a son also in kindergarden and the teacher Mrs. Hainey and Mrs. Brabem foster a creative learning enviorment for their students and give them an excellent introduction to school.

Blessed Virgin Mary School
no rating

Posted November 22, 2007
- a student
Blessed Virgin Mary is the best school, the kids are amazing, the teachers are wonderful. Its not a school its a family.

Blessed Virgin Mary School 4

Posted January 31, 2007
- a parent
This is my daughters first year at BVM, she is in Kindergarten. Although don't have years of involvement with BVM, the experience I have had so far has been wonderful. My daughter loves her school and her teachers. From the first day they made her feel welcome and at home. Everyday I pick her up and all the teachers including the principal and sometimes the Father is outside saying goodbye to the students. The Kindergarten class interact with other students from other grades and she loves it. She is learning a lot and I feel she is safe when in school. The teach the core values in life and I am so happy that my child is in a great place like BVM.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blessed Virgin Mary School
47 North MacDade Boulevard, Darby, PA  19023
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (610) 586-0638
Last modified Blessed Virgin Mary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top