Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Downingtown, PA
Students enrolled: 497
 

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shamona Creek El School 5

Posted May 08, 2014
- a teacher
SC is an incredible school with a growing population. The staff shows genuine concern for the welfare of each student. The 2013-14 School Performance Profile ranked SC at #1 in Chester County. The school has a strong sense of community with awesome kids. The Home and School Association is very active in supporting academics as well as special activities, including field trips and assemblies.

Shamona Creek El School 3

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
Just completed our first year here. I was very pleased at first with the how much the school and the teachers seemed to care about the students well-being. They did do a fabulous job helping my children feel welcome. Children were nice enough. However, I felt too much emphasis was placed on the PSAT testing and too much preparation for it. What they had been teaching up until then should have had them plenty prepared. You don't teach to a test. Also, I found my sons fifth grade teacher to be lacking in communication skills when it came to the parents. Since we were new we were left out of the loop and therefore felt forgetten....so much so that I was not aware that parents were invited to their 5th grade promotion ceremony and I had missed it. Needless to say we were crushed. Overall, it was an ok year but we have had much better in our prior school.


Shamona Creek El School 5

Posted September 24, 2012
- a parent
We recently moved to the area and my daughter is new to Shamona Creek. Her teacher is wonderful. She is great at replying right away and works quickly to resole any queries we have. She offered additional math homework problems to meet my daughter's skill level. The school works with each student as an individual which is wonderful.

Shamona Creek El School 5

Posted August 15, 2012
- a parent
We love this school, our children feel safe, enjoy learning and have made many friends. The teachers and support staff are AMAZING!

Shamona Creek El School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
The school is fantastic! What a great group of dedicated teachers and staff.


Shamona Creek El School 5

Posted December 26, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Shamona Creek El School 1

Posted February 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Shamona Creek El School 3

Posted June 24, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shamona Creek El School
501 Dorlan Mill Rd, Downingtown, PA  19335
(610) 458-8703
Last modified Shamona Creek El School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shamona Creek El School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top