Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-6
Private
East Stroudsburg, PA
Students enrolled: 269

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Notre Dame Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school, teachers, wonderful academics 10 star school. This school is top notch and has a fantastic staff. Very impressed.

Notre Dame Elementary School 3

Posted May 07, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 children in the school and I am not impressed. I know that its thought they are challenging academically but truth be told I think its simply their grading scale, it seems no different then anywhere else. The relationship between teachers and parents is tense but only to specific programs and there is definitely NOT ENOUGH extra curricular activities for the elementary child. Overall it is an average school.


Notre Dame Elementary School 5

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
I put my daughter in this school when she was in 2nd grade and she joined many activies in this school. They have excellent teachers, they have a strong principal, and challenging academic programs.

Notre Dame Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2010
- a parent
I am so very thankful that my 3 children are able to attend Notre Dame Elementary. The faculty goes out of their way to ensure your child grows both academically and emotionally. First rate school!

Notre Dame Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
Notre Dame Elem. is the best.Second to none! Great parents,teachers ,principal and students


Notre Dame Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
I like notre dame because it shows good behavior for your kids and they teach about the bible. My kids are very smart now that they are in notre dame. so I am very happy and they go too school from 8:00 in the morning too 2:30 in the afternoon.

Notre Dame Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2007
- a parent
The teachers are highly qualified. All of them are certified and have B.S. in education. A good percentage of them have Masters as well. A lot is expected out of the students, so this is not a cupcake style school. By having high expectations of the students, they are teaching them responsibility. They have thier own website that you can check on your child's homework assignments, what the curriculum is, and the credentials of the teachers. If your are looking for academics, then this is a good school for your child. If you are looking for athletics or special treatment, then this is not the school for your child.

Notre Dame Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2007
- a parent
Notre Dame is a great school. My child gets dicipline and and education all in one. Love it.


Notre Dame Elementary School 5

Posted July 19, 2007
- a parent
NDE is 1 year ahead of the local public schools.They teach phonics, so your child starts reading right away in kindergarten and can figure out unfamiliar words.By 2nd grade, they are reading beginner chapter books.In 3rd grade they learn square roots.My son feels very comfortable there and the children are not as rough or tease as much as they do in public school. We have had no problems with discrimination and my son is treated very well by the teachers and principal. I like the idea that the teachers have a webpage linked to the main website of the school, so that you can check to see what is expected and what the homework is. You can also check for cancelations and the school newsletter online. If you have any questions, you can email the teachers and they do get back to you with in that day or the next.

Notre Dame Elementary School 2

Posted July 18, 2007
- a parent
We have put two children through ND schools but have the following concerns: Teacher's academic qualifications,limited course subjects and extra-curricular activities,favoritism, obvious racial bias by some teachers, immoral conduct by a teacher witnessed by many children, accepting sub-standard teachers because of financial restraints. Strengths: Team and parental spirit, some great teachers, high profile education beneficial for college resume, fewer drugs than a public school, no gang activity.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Notre Dame Elementary School
60 Spangenburg Avenue, East Stroudsburg, PA  18301
(570) 421-3651
Last modified Notre Dame Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Notre Dame Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top