Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Resica El School

Public | K-5 | 551 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 9, 2013

This school is awesome. My son attended here from K-3 and always an IEP, that has been top notch. My son made alot of progress through out years. The teachers and administration are really great. I really love this school. If i did not move out of the area, I would have let my son finish his elementary years there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

Excellent PTO. They have so many different fundraisers that there's one to suit any preference. Because of that, along with the parents dedication, Resica raises enough money to pay for all the field trips. No other school in the area has been able to do that. Far from disorganized, Resica's PTO and the staff and parents make it a great school, just like a happy family. I highly recommend this area and if you can move into Resica's district you will not be disappointed at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Awesome school! My daughter very close to Mrs. Swineford lovely lady! God Bless
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

I left comments over two years ago. And now my daughter is in fourth grade and my son is in first. I still have the same feelings for the school, and now you can add two more years of satisfaction to my last post. Excellent staff, great Curriculum, I honestly can't think of anything they need to improve on. -Christine Foster
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

I have been an active parent at Resica for about 8 years. I have been part of many volunteer programs and Resica's PTO is by far the most active I have been apart of. Everything they do benefits the children at Resica. They provide field trip for the the students, resources the district can't provide for the staff and they get parents involved in all activties offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

Do not feel put off by Resica! I moved to have my children remain there! Being pro-active in my children's education has averted many potential issues. My younger child is a handful. I support the teachers when they recommend certain discipline, & I question anything that goes against my grain in a diplomatic, but firm manner, as with anything, anywhere! Compared to my school growing up, & schools one county over, Resica is a dream school with an intelligent staff, spacious playing areas & attached preserved parkland. Inside the spaces are organized & airy. The atrium is amazing! They do a great job showcasing the students' creativity with the 4th Grade living Wax Museum, & the Arts program at the end of the school year. Great Scout, sports, & other extracurricular programs are available!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2007

As with anything, Resica has its good parts and bad. They seem to care for the children and provide a safe, well balanced learning environment. The PTO seems a little disorganized. The teachers, so far, have been OK. Resica has some really great totally engaged teachers. There is good and bad here, like anything else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2006

I don't think htese reviews represent the majority of parents' views on the education that their children recieve at Resica. We moved here from NY in April 2005 and have had nothing less htan a wonderful experience. We were undert eh impression that our schools back in upstate NY were the best adn that our kids were was ahead of the curriculum here in PA. Boy were we wrong! The teachers here have been awesome and all seem to be very student success oriented. My only experiences with the principal have been positive (maybe because my kids have never had any trouble on either side). They offer tutoring programs that my children benefit from and now in 4th grdae my boys have started band lessons. I give this school an A+ for all that they try to do for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

The principle is one of the worst for special kids I have ever met! OTOH there have been wonderful sped teachers that have done a terrific job. The office staff seems intent on being rude rather than helping you do what needs to be done. The new guidance counsler was a wonderful addition, she knows her stuff and is always ready to help when I call! This is his last year at Resica thank God!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2005

Very poor administration (not unlike the rest of East Stroudsburg Schools). Disciplines the students who are being harrassed and lets the bullies run free. Nothing is ever the school's fault.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

Well prepared teachers who strive to address individual needs of students and to keep parents involved and informed. Special emphasis on the arts in curriculum is particularly important in developing a well-rounded student and helping student realize abilities and set life goals. Students learn love of learning in classrooms at Resica because teachers here care!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 9, 2005

poor leadership, poor quality teaching, unresponsive, uncooperative, uncaring, would sooner call you & your child a liar than admit that they are doing anything wrong
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

Ineffective Communication on the part of the educators. Poor overall testing scores. Poor evaluation reports and progress reports (very difficult to follow. No sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2005

Ineffective leadership, poor teacher quality, unwillingness to provide positive, effective education, unresponsive to parental concerns, unwelcoming of parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

This school seems more concerned with making sure the kids learn how to take the state tests than actually teaching them. At open house each year, this is the principal's main topic. About how we must educate our kids to take this tests. They constantly send home sample problems of what the kids will see on the exam. They also put much emphasis on the parents doing most of the teaching for them. My youngest had a 'perceived' reading problem and the teacher did nothing except tell us to read with him more and then send in a note giving feedback on how he was doing. I thought that she was paid to do! On the flip side, they do offer good curricular activities and some of the teachers are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

79 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

79 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
72%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female98%
Male95%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female83%
Male74%
Black62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female92%
Male88%
Black91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)67%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female97%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
Black92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)76%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female90%
Male81%
Black91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)38%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female80%
Male77%
Black71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)31%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students73%
Female80%
Male67%
Black76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)30%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 71%
Black 20% 15%
Hispanic 18% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Gravel Ridge Rd
East Stroudsburg, PA 18301
Phone: (570) 223-6911

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Middle Smithfield El School
East Stroudsburg, PA


St. Pauls Lutheran School
East Stroudsburg, PA


Shawnee Academy-The Beacon School
Shawnee on Delaware, PA


Smithfield El School
East Stroudsburg, PA


East Stroudsburg El School
East Stroudsburg, PA


E Stroudsburg Christian Academy
East Stroudsburg, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT