Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Middle Smithfield Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 586 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

This school is wonderful, we arrived here in the 2013 fall semester from out of state and enrolled our twin sons for third grade with special needs requirements and we have had nothing but great support from teachers, teacher assistants, therapists, and guidance counselor, Ms. Dollar - Krell. The faculty follows a strict curriculum, organized setting for students and I receive daily notes from the teachers of my sons progress. If I had to change anything of this school I would only recommend uniforms but again this school has offered all the support my both sons needed and I would recommend it to anyone considering coming to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

There are good teachers at this school. My son had one. My daughter did not. My daughter was terrified to go to school within 2 months of the year starting. She was actually made to miss recess because she colored outside the lines. Rather than working on ways to make her more organized and neater, they punished her. She also has food allergies that the school was aware of. She left her lunch on the bus. Instead of calling me, they gave her lunch from the lunch room. She spent 6 weeks sick and recovering from that! We went to the principle about the teacher issues and were told that many parents complain about her, but her students do well on tests. By the end of the year we were just happy it was over. This school was the deciding factor in us moving out of state!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

If bigger means better, than this school certainly is a good one. Here we have an example of another notch in the superintendent and school board's belt to provide A number 1 accomodations for your child. Heck there's so much room here now that your child could have his/her own classroom to themselves! Hats off to the taxpayers of East Stroudsburg who have made this monstrosity possible. Instead of eating food, we can now eat as much brick and mortar as our tax paying bodies can handle.


Posted November 25, 2008

I can't believe all the rave reviews about this school. Test scores are below the state average. My child does not get the extra help she needs to achieve a passing grade. Poor learning conditions since part of the school is taught in a trailer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

This is definitely a Great School! Our daughter just completed her first year and we have only good things to say about this school, the teachers and the administration. The class work and activities are most appropriate to enhance the children's learning abilities. The teachers are just awsome - they give individual attention to the kids and provide a very caring environment so that the children are motivated to learn. Five stars all the way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

'WOW', 'Amazing', 'Unbelievable' is what I have found myself saying lately since my daughter began her school year at Middle Smithfield Elementary. The staff has been so welcoming and very informative. The amount of dedication is shown throughout the entire school from principal, assistant principal, school psychologist, nurse, secretaries, teachers, parents etc... What I love most is the teacher-parent or home-school relationship. I love that I can reinforce what my daughter does during school at home. More importantly, I know that when I drop her off that she is in a safe and loving environment. I feel worry free while she is at school. Overall, I am so glad to be a part of Middle Smithfield's Community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2006

If it wasn't for this school, my son would have fallen between the cracks of the New York City Education system. The teachers, staff and principals of this school are extremely involved with the student s education. Their hands on involvement (with the help of the parents) ensure children are kept up to speed with the curriculum, and if there are problems with the child (either academically or emotionally) they will place your child through rigorous testing to find the problem and create and execute a solution. My son is getting an excellent education with an excellent curriculum. Only downside is the growth of the community which pushes classes into trailers (which is connected to the school). However, you would never know you re in an extension from the inside. The key to success is parents and the school supporting each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2004

This is the ideal school you would want your child to spend most of his/her day at. A good 90% of the teachers really care about your child getting an education in a safe and fun environment. The current Principal is a strict, but very fair and fun man. (I believe one day he'll be the Superintendent!) The school is filled year round with many activities for the whole family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

82 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

84 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
66%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female93%
Male88%
Black88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female95%
Male79%
Black82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female85%
Male79%
Black79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)58%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female82%
Male62%
Black70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
Black81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)79%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female84%
Male89%
Black75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)77%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female76%
Male67%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)46%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students86%
Female95%
Male75%
Black83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 36% 8%
White 34% 71%
Black 27% 15%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5180 Milford Rd
East Stroudsburg, PA 18301
Phone: (570) 223-8082

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Resica Elementary School
East Stroudsburg, PA


St. Pauls Lutheran School
East Stroudsburg, PA


Shawnee Academy-The Beacon School
Shawnee on Delaware, PA


Smithfield Elementary School
East Stroudsburg, PA



J M Hill Elementary School
East Stroudsburg, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT