Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J M Hill El School

Public | K-5 | 397 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2014

To all the concern parents out there, MAKE SURE YOU ARE ON TOP OF LOOKING AT YOUR CHILDS ATTENDANCE RECORD!! THE OFFICE LOVES TO PUT MORE DAYS DOWN THAN THEY ARE REALLY OUT FROM SCHOOL!! They do that so when they take you to court, they will get more money for every unlawful Excuse that you missed, and trust me, it adds up if you don't pay attention to the records of when they are out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

First week into third grade my child complaint about his teacher screaming and yelling. I went to see the teacher which stated that he should have been retained in second grade. Concerned I contacted the guider counselor for clarification. At later time the counselor confirming that the teacher statement was false. My child c/o missing recess often and went from loving to hating school. l knew that my child will not learn in this environment thus requested change of class. My request was denied by the principal. I was told if my child can't learn in this class then will not learn in other class ether. By the end of the first marking period the teacher sent in a folder of tests with falling grade to be sign with no letter of concern about my child's learning or lock of. The teacher seams to be indifferent of his needs. I requested meeting which turned to many more until by the end of last marking period my child was categorized as LD and was pulled out in small group. I later learn his class work was being completed by his classmate while he was sent to write the teacher letter of apology. Apology for not being able to learn in her class. What a waist of a school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

This is a great school. We moved from Jersey five years ago and although I believe PA schools are behind academically compared to NJ the environment is safe, teachers are wonderful, and they work hard to fulfill the needs of the children. They also have anti bullying programs and if a child is picked on its not tolerated. For many parents that is a big fear. It's a safe, happy environment, for your children weather you were born here or are an outsider coming in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

I have two children and one of my children has special needs (mildly). I have open communication with the school on modifications for my other son. It is a friendly small school and it seems like all the kids are good kids and well behaved. I am very happy with this school and the education they receive. The teachers give 100% - it shows in all of the assignments and small projects they are given.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2007

The teachers are committed to providing a great learning atmosphere. My daughter had several opportunities for tutoring that made the difference between a negative and a positive attitude towards school in general - I was very impressed with the school's quick response to any academic trouble she was experiencing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

I have one child who attends JM Hill. They are excellenct in supporting his special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

Two of my children have gone to J.M. Hill-both have done superbly in High School and I attribute their performance there to the solid foundation they received at JM Hill...the teachers are really outstanding and innovative-wonderful for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2004

I have two children that attend J.M.Hill. One child is Doing well. My other child is autistic and is not being educated. I have been doing this at home. They have an outside agency work on behaviors only. I am very upset by this. Seems things are a little backwords.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2004

I had 2 sons attend JM Hill School. One son is handicapped with learning disabilities; the other son is highly gifted in all areas. The school accomodated both children well & was adept at identifying their strengths and weaknesses. I have a very high regard for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

61 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
44%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female86%
Male91%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female78%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female86%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students83%
Female84%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female68%
Male63%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female69%
Male70%
Black59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students66%
Female78%
Male57%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 71%
Hispanic 24% 9%
Black 22% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

151 East Broad St
East Stroudsburg, PA 18301
Phone: (570) 424-8073

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Notre Dame Elementary School
East Stroudsburg, PA


East Stroudsburg El School
East Stroudsburg, PA


W H Ramsey El School
Stroudsburg, PA


Clearview El School
Stroudsburg, PA


B F Morey El School
Stroudsburg, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT