Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Stroudsburg Shs South

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 27, 2014

School is very involved and is the highest in America of all public schools. also redone for technology upgrade
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2014

This is a great school that offers many clubs and activities that could assist a student in attending college. Relationships and friendships with teachers and peers will definitely last a lifetime.


Posted December 8, 2013

I am a sophomore at this school (a bronze level by the way) and I have only been here a short time, but I believe that this school as not that bad. I love that they give students opportunities to advance with AP classes, honors classes, and taking more than one of a certain course, such as doubling up in math, as well as offering help for students who need more. They offer sports and a variety of academic clubs, such as debate team, FBLA, DECA, and eTeam, which is a club to teach local senior citizens to use their electronic devices to their full potential. Only a few complaints come to my mind, such as food, but not much can be expected from school food. I personally have not been encountered with gang violence, but it is something you just can tell is there. There are occasional fights, but the principal is very strict when it comes to violence. The teachers do let you get away with some things. Cursing would normally result in a warning depending on the teacher or nothing with others. Some immediately punish you.. Overall, I feel I am in a good school with mostly decent teachers and academic opportunities. I have heard worse from other schools about violence.


Posted October 24, 2011

I am a current senior at this school, and I am very satisfied with my experience. It is very diverse, and while this is sometimes a source of conflict, the administration handles it very well. Fights and violence have gone down noticeably since I arrived here, and Mr. Catrillo is doing a very good job with running the school. Most of my classes have been good experiences, and a motivated student will find ways to challenge him or herself. It would be nice if there were more AP classes offered, but Intependent Study is always an option. Extracurricular activities are very good, there is quite literally something for everyone: Multicultural Affairs, Green Team, Physics Club, you name it. Overall, a very good school, and I am definitely glad I spent my four high school years here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2011

My son will be starting the 5th Grade, we have a long way before he reaches the 9th Grade. The school has shown alot of progress academically since we moved here. I hope that they continue to excel in Academics , Athletics and Arts throughout the years. I am very please with the choice I made to move to this school district. Coming from New York, I can already see advantages for my kids and improvement in their development. Hoping the school comtinue to offer wide choices of Electives and programs. I am very impressed.


Posted September 8, 2010

If your child struggles in school, these teachers don't want to put extra effort in. They gave my child an IEP that allows him extra time for tests, and may leave the class if the teacher would allow it, to go for help. However, all this did was enable my child to use his IEP to slack off and use it as an excuse not to do well and put in extra effort. In the real world, at a college, trade shcool or in the workforce, nobody is going to be there to hold your hand. You have to work hard and he learned the opposite at school. He just barely graduated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2010

My child just completed his first year of high school and had a terrific freshman year. For any child who is motivated and comes to school to learn, the opportunities are many -- AP classes, extracurriculars, vo-tech specialties.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

We have had children in this school district for 14 years and overall have been pleased. Best high school available in Monroe County (and the school board has utilized property taxes in a more responsible manner than in some nearby districts). The new high school building is beautiful, the course offerings extensive, and programs for academically gifted students substantial. Many students have gone on to receive full academic scholarships at ivy-league or comparably competitive colleges. Very active extracurriculars, many non-athletic, such as FBLA, Speech & Debate, NHS, musical productions/theater. State-renowned music program (band / chorus). Diverse student body. Many top-notch teachers and coaches. Yes, there are some teachers who ought to retire but that is a weakness of any public school system. We have so far found this school administration to, overall, be responsive to any issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

I read some of the reviews below and hope people dont judge the school by them. parents obviously dont know what they're talking about. teachers do as much as they can there and are very helpful, yes there are some bad ones, but what school doesn't have them. if you are willing to learn, you will. and also, the school is done now and it is beautiful and completely clean. the comment about the principlas and security being not visibla is comepletely a lie. our principal is always checking in on classrooms and is always around the school. and security is everywhere. all in all, south is a very good school. there are som problems but every other school has problems too. what I love most is that south probably has the most electives to choose from than any other school in the area. and extracurriculars and sports are awesome there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2009

This school stinks and the teachers are horrible, the kids get away with anything and i dont like it
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2007

The teachers dont challenge the students, the students get away with anything, theres a major gang presance, the principal is clueless. No safety, even with security guards.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2006

If you ask me the leaders in this school and this district have no idea how to run a great(or even decent) school and should all step aside and give someone else a try. If it wasn't for some excellent teachers we would have moved by now. Although, we will still move because our kids deserve better schools than this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2005

i think the quality of academic programs is below average. The availability of music art sports and other extracurricular activities are average. The level of parent involvement needs to be greatly encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

most teachers are effective educators, but look out for the ones who don't care. administration is lacking, but slowly improving, in small areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2005

Most of the teachers are positive, helpful and responsive. Administration does not always respond to parental concerns in a timely manner. Must keep on them if there is an issue that needs a resolution. Habits of tending to let issues fall through the cracks unless student and parent push for acknowledgement and resolution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2004

Principal is rarely visible. Security is spotty. Physical condition of the building is horrendous. Everything was torn up in anticipation of renovation and left that way. Class size is extremely high. Racial tension abounds with which administration is incapable of coping. School board sharply divided and inefficient. They cannot even provide classrooms with facial tissues due to lack of funds. Textbooks are antiquated. The only saving grace is the dedication and quality of experienced teachers, but new teachers are inexperienced. Public relations are very poor as is communication with parents whose involvement is discouraged. New superintendent surely has her work cut out for her.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2004

We have security guards and cameras throughout the school, but many things still come into the school that shouldn't. The physical condition of the school is very poor, and the renovation process has stopped- even though we've spent alot of tax money on the process. There are many ethnicities/races who attend this school. You're not allowed to wear bandanas, headbands, or anything gang-related and they are very strict about this. The teachers are okay, but classes are sometimes too big. It's an overall 'okay' school, but the conditions of the school are what make this a worse place then it really is capable of being.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2004

I wish the support for Learning Disabled children was stronger. I sometimes feel my child is being forgotten and neglected. I am not informed on his academic progress as I was initially promised, and it is sometimes not until his letter grade has dropped to a D or F before I am notified. His teachers overall are very good, but I feel he isn't getting the additional support he needs and he is legally entitled to.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

315 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

313 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

312 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

356 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female57%
Male55%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female82%
Male74%
Black72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)44%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students40%
Female40%
Male41%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students89%
Female93%
Male85%
Black95%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)48%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 71%
Black 20% 15%
Hispanic 19% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

279 North Courtland St
East Stroudsburg, PA 18301
Phone: (570) 424-8471

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Notre Dame Jr./Sr. High School
East Stroudsburg, PA


Stroudsburg High School
Stroudsburg, PA


E Stroudsburg Christian Academy
East Stroudsburg, PA


Shawnee Academy-The Beacon School
Shawnee on Delaware, PA


Monroe Career & Tech Inst
Bartonsville, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT