Advertisement
Advertisement

Notre Dame High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Easton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $201,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2014

This is a clean school, with respectable kids, a great student teacher ratio, and a myriad of extracuricular activities. There is a diversity issue when administrators tell you up front that some teachers have problems with "certain" demographics. We found this to be true. The execution of both teaching & grading is far more problematic. Quizzes & tests don't have many questions, often falling in the (11-15) question range--a poor way to test comprehensive learning. My child's results reflected knowledge of the "nuances" of how to take a particular test more so than the material. If answers weren't in the precise form, they were marked wrong! Then there is the overall grading system. Only % grades were reported after the first semester. The school provides a grade point average only after the second semester. Only after inquiry, did we learn that grades are translated downward if you didn't take honors (which our child had ALL last year @ another school) The principal admited, in front of another parent, that the staff INTENTIONALLY withheld this information from us during our nine month courting process, at the orientation, and even when we selected classes. WOW!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

Diversity at Notre Dame isn't accomplished only by the thriving exchange student program. Many of the students have multicultural backgrounds which they discuss openly and proudly with each other. I have found this to foster an atmosphere where tolerance isn't even a consideration, it is a given. My son and daughter have many friends of many backgrounds at ND, a fact that is insignificant to them as they only see friends, not races. I attribute this to the atmosphere at ND of family, and the notion often repeated to them by staff, that ND is a Family. There are many scholarships and programs available to encourage and allow any student to attend and benefit from this private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

I am not sure how someone could say this school has a lot of diversity when 88% of the students are white. Only a handful of the teachers wish to help the students succeed. Office staff is not very professional. The act like they have thousands of students to manage. I had to submit several documents more than once. For whatever reason things seem to get misplaced regularly or staff fails to pass on the information to the correct individual. There are three people handling around 30 exchange students and there isn't a designated individual to go to for help with exchange students, they just get shuffled around. Very difficult to get teachers to respond to emails. One teacher actually told me I was not allowed to contact her, that the student had to make the first contact. I was looking for ideas or suggestions to help my child but the teacher wouldn't even let me explain my position. I wasn't contacting her to complain about her teaching I was just looking for help. The principal does not get involved. He passes everything to Mr. Steiner who actually cares about the students and doing what is best for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2012

Besides it being way overpriced, they weren't able to follow my I.E.P. to my satisfaction by ignoring/forgetting some special needs I had. Many (not all, most) were unorganized losing papers and unreasonable with grading, as well as biased with close-minded thinking that could obviously be seen by how rudely they treated me. Don't go here if you are not Catholic or you aren't fully supportive of every Catholic teaching, they will not be friendly to you, they will belittle and harass you although they make the student life diverse to make it look like they won't. Overall It's an expensive mistake you shouldn't make.


Posted May 2, 2007

My child attends this school and requires special education. The services they provide far exceed the public school's and my child is consistently making honor roll due to this. We are very happy with this school - best decision ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2007

Very good school. Good sense of community, very good educational standards. The extracurriculars are great. The staff is wonderful for the most part and they are open to suggestion. I would highly recommend this school for anyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 74%
Asian 6% N/A
Hispanic 4% 7%
Black 1% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Allentown
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3417 Church Rd
Easton, PA 18045
Phone: (610) 868-1431

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Moravian Academy
Bethlehem, PA


Bethlehem AVTS
Bethlehem, PA


Freedom High School
Bethlehem, PA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT