Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Myers El School

Public | K-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Myers is a wonderful school. We have been very pleased with the school since moving to the district. The teachers are highly dedicated and know how to motivate students to achieve. The principal is also dedicated and goes above and beyond for the students. This school has a good enrichment program and many extra curricular activities. The PTO is highly involved and engages parents and teachers often and in a variety of ways. I highly recommend Myers to any parent who wants a quality education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

We moved into this district and this grammar school 4 years ago from a very high achieving grammar school in another state. we have been blown away by how excellent this school is- the experience and commitment of the teachers, the administrative leadership, the sense of community, the incredible diversity, and the commitment to arts and music. We could not be happier. It is a diverse school and there is great parental involvement-- there are challenges associated with this- mostly complaining. We have a great school to compare it to though, and Myers is way ahead on all measures that I care about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

Myers Elementary is a well-run school with dedicated principal and teachers who love their job and the kids in their charge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

Pros: Location,new building, enrichment activities, music and art programs and the children. you find out over the course of the school year which teachers truly shine and which lackluster. you cannot make requests so luck of the draw or who you know matters. Cons:the new principal lacks true leadership skills and a vision of taking the school to the next level.Good things do not stay good by themselves or by blaming parents. I get the sense that he is more interested in being liked than being a true leader. I have personally witnessed elitism, and socio-economic exclusion during student events along with an overall attitude of smile and move along, dont question things and dont rock the boat. Compared to most public schools it has very nice packaging, but nice buildings do not translate into a great edcuation. At new parent orientation this year the gap between white and black test scores was analyzed but no plan of action was provided to equalize this situation. Instead the principal put it to the parents to figure it out. Why am I paying all these taxes for me to fix your achievment gap? It was embarrasing and showed a lack of empathy from the admistration for minorites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

We feel so lucky to have Myers as our local public school! The teachers are so outstanding, dedicated and talented, but also warm and caring. It's a warm and welcoming school community but also very diverse. Art and music classes are AMAZING, and so is the challenge program for gifted kids. We have a new prinicipal this year who seems great also. I am amazed that people are not lining up to buy houses in the Myers catchment, it is just that good. Best kept secret in MontCo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2013

This is a fantastic school. Very nurturing, close knit, high parental involvement, and most of all I think this school has some of the best teachers in the district. They actually love their jobs and go above and beyond the school day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

caring teachers and staff, great diversity
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Great teachers...super principal...amazing new facility!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

the best multi-cultural school which loves learning and music
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Myers is the best school. I've had children in different States and different schools. The principal, teachers, aides, and staff at Myers are very caring, attentive, and loving. They treat the children like their own children. The first day of my child's kindergarten class was the best, the teacher came out, got on her knees to the kids level and introduced herself to them...I thought that was the best introduction any child could get. Five stars to Myers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

I am very pleased with Myers. I have one attending now and the teachers truly care about the individual students. I miss Dr. Hart tremendously but we all have to move on eventually. I say keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

Teachers and staff here care deeply about the children. A very diverse, welcoming place, with lots of activities and events going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

my son only spent a year at myers for fourth grade and he loved it. we came from a good west mount airy school, but the classes were kind of large. my son was recently diagnosised with adhd and the school responded very quickly to help us adjust and assisted us with getting him help to move to fifth grade. i highly recommened this school district. keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2006

Myers is a family-friendly school which prides itself on its diversity and strong academics. Pam Hart is a great principal who leads effectively and knows every kid by name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2005

This is an amazing school. The faculty and staff make it a point to highlight and appreciate the great variety of ethnicities and cultures that attend this school. My son loved this school, though sadly we've moved back to Iowa for grad school. He learned so much academically, and more importantly, about accepting others and getting along in a world of diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2005

I'm pleased with the overall quality of the school. I've had to push to get services for my special needs child, but eventually they come through.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

79 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male94%
Black87%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
Black83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female92%
Male95%
Black90%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)77%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female86%
Male70%
Black65%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students86%
Female90%
Male84%
Black81%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)64%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 15%
White 40% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Hispanic 4% 9%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7609 Montgomery Ave
Elkins Park, PA 19027
Phone: (215) 517-4540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ivy Leaf School
Philadelphia, PA


Ivy Leaf Middle School
Philadelphia, PA


Ellwood School
Philadelphia, PA


Hope Church School
Philadelphia, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT