Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Myers El School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
I won't say ALL but there seem to be far too many teachers that have lost their zeal for being with children. Some of them don't even seem to like them.

Myers El School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
There is bullying , shaming and mocking from the aides and teachers. There isn't any kind of true from the inside out, from the top down effort to embed a psycho-social-emotional curriculum. Just because there is a sign on the door that says " No place for hate" that doesn't mean it has any more depth than the paper it's written on.


Myers El School 1

Posted August 10, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are there just to get paid!! They don't care about the students education, they don't communicate well with parents there's always an excuse. Do not send your child here

Myers El School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Myers is a wonderful school. We have been very pleased with the school since moving to the district. The teachers are highly dedicated and know how to motivate students to achieve. The principal is also dedicated and goes above and beyond for the students. This school has a good enrichment program and many extra curricular activities. The PTO is highly involved and engages parents and teachers often and in a variety of ways. I highly recommend Myers to any parent who wants a quality education for their children.

Myers El School 5

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
We moved into this district and this grammar school 4 years ago from a very high achieving grammar school in another state. we have been blown away by how excellent this school is- the experience and commitment of the teachers, the administrative leadership, the sense of community, the incredible diversity, and the commitment to arts and music. We could not be happier. It is a diverse school and there is great parental involvement-- there are challenges associated with this- mostly complaining. We have a great school to compare it to though, and Myers is way ahead on all measures that I care about.


Myers El School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
Myers Elementary is a well-run school with dedicated principal and teachers who love their job and the kids in their charge.

Myers El School 5

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
We feel so lucky to have Myers as our local public school! The teachers are so outstanding, dedicated and talented, but also warm and caring. It's a warm and welcoming school community but also very diverse. Art and music classes are AMAZING, and so is the challenge program for gifted kids. We have a new prinicipal this year who seems great also. I am amazed that people are not lining up to buy houses in the Myers catchment, it is just that good. Best kept secret in MontCo!

Myers El School 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a parent
This is a fantastic school. Very nurturing, close knit, high parental involvement, and most of all I think this school has some of the best teachers in the district. They actually love their jobs and go above and beyond the school day.


Myers El School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
caring teachers and staff, great diversity

Myers El School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Great teachers...super principal...amazing new facility!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Myers El School
7609 Montgomery Ave, Elkins Park, PA  19027
(215) 517-4540
Last modified Myers El School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Myers El School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top