Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-4
Public
Elkins Park, PA

5 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Myers El School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Myers is a wonderful school. We have been very pleased with the school since moving to the district. The teachers are highly dedicated and know how to motivate students to achieve. The principal is also dedicated and goes above and beyond for the students. This school has a good enrichment program and many extra curricular activities. The PTO is highly involved and engages parents and teachers often and in a variety of ways. I highly recommend Myers to any parent who wants a quality education for their children.

Myers El School 5

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
We moved into this district and this grammar school 4 years ago from a very high achieving grammar school in another state. we have been blown away by how excellent this school is- the experience and commitment of the teachers, the administrative leadership, the sense of community, the incredible diversity, and the commitment to arts and music. We could not be happier. It is a diverse school and there is great parental involvement-- there are challenges associated with this- mostly complaining. We have a great school to compare it to though, and Myers is way ahead on all measures that I care about.


Myers El School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
Myers Elementary is a well-run school with dedicated principal and teachers who love their job and the kids in their charge.

Myers El School 3

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
Pros: Location,new building, enrichment activities, music and art programs and the children. you find out over the course of the school year which teachers truly shine and which lackluster. you cannot make requests so luck of the draw or who you know matters. Cons:the new principal lacks true leadership skills and a vision of taking the school to the next level.Good things do not stay good by themselves or by blaming parents. I get the sense that he is more interested in being liked than being a true leader. I have personally witnessed elitism, and socio-economic exclusion during student events along with an overall attitude of smile and move along, dont question things and dont rock the boat. Compared to most public schools it has very nice packaging, but nice buildings do not translate into a great edcuation. At new parent orientation this year the gap between white and black test scores was analyzed but no plan of action was provided to equalize this situation. Instead the principal put it to the parents to figure it out. Why am I paying all these taxes for me to fix your achievment gap? It was embarrasing and showed a lack of empathy from the admistration for minorites.

Myers El School 5

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
We feel so lucky to have Myers as our local public school! The teachers are so outstanding, dedicated and talented, but also warm and caring. It's a warm and welcoming school community but also very diverse. Art and music classes are AMAZING, and so is the challenge program for gifted kids. We have a new prinicipal this year who seems great also. I am amazed that people are not lining up to buy houses in the Myers catchment, it is just that good. Best kept secret in MontCo!


Myers El School 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a parent
This is a fantastic school. Very nurturing, close knit, high parental involvement, and most of all I think this school has some of the best teachers in the district. They actually love their jobs and go above and beyond the school day.

Myers El School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
caring teachers and staff, great diversity

Myers El School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Great teachers...super principal...amazing new facility!


Myers El School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
the best multi-cultural school which loves learning and music

Myers El School 5

Posted February 08, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Myers El School
7609 Montgomery Ave, Elkins Park, PA  19027
(215) 517-4540
Last modified Myers El School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Myers El School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top