Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elkins Park School

Public | 5-6 | 651 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

my school is amazing and the teachers are great and recess is fun and the food is cool and our peec trip is going to be fun


Posted August 28, 2012

As a former student and the kid of a former teacher, i can tell you that this school wants its students to be prepared for the future, and cares enough about its students to blaze the path to get the students in the right direction. The academics are age appropriate, and the activities are great. GO EP!


Posted April 17, 2010

As someone who has worked at this school for the past 11 years, I can attest to the dedication of the staff to providing a top-notch education for all of the children. This is a school that cares deeply about its students and their success and well-being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

I sent my son to Elkins Park from St James School because he had issues that couldn't be addressed in the smaller setting at St. James. His teachers were welcoming and went out of their way to help him to fit in during the beginning of the school year. Overall I feel that I made a great decision and for the most part my son enjoys going to school. I have had some issues communicating with staff there, but when there is a more urgent issue I always get a swift response.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

Elkins Park School is not satisfying the needs of my gifted son. He is bored in his classes, which are much too easy. Furthermore, there are serious social problems - cursing, fighting and pushing each other in the halls, disrupting classes, being rude and disrespectful. Either the teachers don't notice or (more likely), they don't want to take the time and energy to correct students' inappropriate behavior. This school is very big, and my son feels lost in the shuffle. The gifted program is lame, and nobody seems to want to listen to me that my son seems to be wasting his time sitting through classes which are way too easy and where there are too many kids with severe behavior problems. The good thing about the school is the music program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

I find Elkins Park school ok, not great, not poor. I requested a reading specialist for my daughter and received the run around. Although I have worked with my daughter that concerns me a great deal because there was no effort to resolve the problem. I pay far too much in taxes not to have my concerns addressed. I will make an updated assessment as this school year progresses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

My son has been in the cheltenham district since 4th grade and I must say that I am impressed. My son began to have very low grades when he started at myers and the staff worked very quickly with me when he was found to have ADHD. He is doing well and I am very happy with the schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

It is a 2 year school (5th and 6th Grade). Great Parent Involvement with faculty, administration, and social activities. Educational instruction is given on 3 learning tracks (support, grade level, and advance). Student placement on these learning tracks are recommended by faculty and evaluation of PSSA and Cheltenham School District Annual Testing. Frequently, AA parents must advocate for their child's interest to insure proper classroom track placement. However, there is an open door policy with the school's administrators to hear all concerns and justice seems to always prevail. The school has wonderful Art Teachers and a fabulous Music Programs - Choirs, Band, and Orchestra. There are a vast number of afterschool programs - sports, learning enrichment, and competitive teams such as Reading Olympics and Problem Solving. The school district provides late bus transportation for children who participate in afterschool programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

I go to Elkins Park School. The school has great hygiene, teachers, teaching ideas and also some fun things to do here and there. I love E.P. with all my heart, and I never want to leave!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2007

Elkins Park is an excellent school. The students leave not only ready for middle school academically but also socially. High praise for the principal and teachers. If a concern is raised, it is handled quickly and effectively.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

290 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

288 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

297 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
51%

2009

 
 
56%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

330 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

327 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female83%
Male85%
Black68%
Asian97%
Hispanic82%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)54%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female80%
Male70%
Black59%
Asian78%
Hispanic36%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students58%
Female70%
Male45%
Black46%
Asian53%
Hispanic46%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
Black79%
Asian94%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)64%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female87%
Male74%
Black71%
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)32%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 46% 15%
White 40% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 3%
Hispanic 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8149 New Second St
Elkins Park, PA 19027
Phone: (215) 635-7404

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Elkins Park School
Elkins Park, PA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT