Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Pennsboro El School

Public | K-4 | 529 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2014

East Pennsboro School District is wonderful school. My three children's all goes from Elementary, Middle School and High School. From Principal, Teacher's and Staff in all three of this school is awesome. They very professional, knowledgeable and very caring. As a parent, I'm proudly to say that I will always recommend East Pennsboro School District to any students. When concern arrives they take care right away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

I am very impressed with this school. My daughter started Kindergarten mid-year and her teacher was wonderful communicating with us and helping her get up to speed. Now, in first grade, she is doing wonderfully with a great foundation for continued learning. My second child is in a different kindergarten classroom and I am very impressed with how the staff in each grade work together so well for the benefit of each, individual student. I feel my children are safe and given the attention needed to excell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

My daughter went to EPE and is now in the the middle school. All of her teachers were excellant. When her 3rd grade teacher saw that she was advanced in math, they put her in a pull out program with Mrs. Lewis which is more than a typical school would do. My son is now in EPE and all of his teachers have been excellant. The only complaint is the art teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

I am a parent of a Kindergartener and a teacher (of another district). As a parent, I have been impressed with the teachers and school so far. The principal/school communicate regularly through newsletters, information nights, email, phone, and even facebook. My daughter's teacher is well educated and experienced. She is patient and kind with the students and provides support and guidence often. As a teacher, I must say the complaints mentioned are often out of any teacher's control. Unfortunately schools are driven by highstakes testing (PSSA) but that it not the teacher/school or even districts choice. If you are unhappy with this approach please, please contact your local legislation & consider this when you vote!!! The NCLB Act is the root of the high stakes testing and despite the "catchy" name of "No Child Left Behind" it does infact leave children behind! In addition, my advice to parents who feel they are not receiving enough support, educate yourself on your rights as a parent (visit the state dept. of ed site). Ask questions about policy and practices. Often times, parents do not have a clear understanding of educational child development and practice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

Overall, its an "okay" school. I have had one child go through elementary and is now in middle and another child still in elementary. It is true if your child is above grade level, you will not get additional support. They think the other children "will catch up" to your child instead of making sure you're child continues to learn at the pace they are at. I have spoken with 7 different teachers to help provide worksheets or more advanced items for my child to do when they are done with their current work and none of my ideas have been received well. Many teachers are self righteous and act like they know best. If your child is at grade level and gets a bad grade, don't expect any help either. Graded papers RARELY come home, teachers don't utilize the online grading system, and you have to guess what their report card will show. EVERYTHING revolves around the PSSA tests, enough stress to leave my kids crying. They are also cutting programs left and right to meet budgets because teachers won't take a pay freeze. Most teachers expect you not to be involved and to just "trust" their judgment. Both my kids also loathe the art teacher and art class, odd for elementary students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

First the number of students in each class is more like 20 per class than 15. I also agree witht he comment below that they teach to get the test scores and forget anything else. Also, if your child is just making it or above average do not expect them to get any help. I have a child who just missed being in the gifted program and he is not being challenged in class at all. I have another child that is just making it for her grade and can not get any help because she is 'at grade level'. Also, the principal is not interested in solving problems she tells you what you want to hear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

my grandchildren go to East penn. and my daughter graduated in 1990. I am highly disappointed at their concern for one of my grandchilden. he is having a behavorial problem and the teacher does not seem to want to deal with it because he is not violent. We have to go outside of the school to get any help . This concerns me greatly because I thought they were there to help and give advice ........ but we can get no satisfactory answers to our needs.


Posted June 12, 2008

While I think East Pennsboro Elementary is a very good school when it comes to grades, they are not quick to accomodate. My son is gifted and they offer no programs until 3rd grade. They also do not like controversy and are quick to sweep issues under the rug or ignore them. I do believe there is some amount of 'favoritism' for children who have relatives working there. I feel that perhaps the school district is too preoccupied with having high test scores at any means and do not focus enough on the joy of learning that school can provide. I could be wrong though, my child is only in 1st grade and hopefully I have gotten the bottom of the barrel teachers thus far and will have better luck next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2005

Great teachers and programs however the school board looks more at appearances.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female95%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female91%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female96%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female71%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students89%
Female86%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 71%
Hispanic 7% 9%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 3% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

840 Panther Parkway
Enola, PA 17025
Phone: (717) 732-0441

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Camp Curtin School
Harrisburg, PA


Steele School
Harrisburg, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT