Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lionville Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1507 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2013

This school is only great if your child excels academically and is low maintenance. If your child is average or needs special assistance forget it. They try to avoid 504 and IEP and will actively try to take your child off them to avoid issues with Adequate Yearly Progress associated with state testing (historically there are AYP issues in these groups for the district). Would not recommend this district or school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

The school does a great job and the teachers are excellent. Kids work really hard and learn a great deal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

iam a student at lionville middle school and i moved there recently , i started out being an awesome school when i started towards the end of 7th grade but now im in 8th grade it driving me crazy. The teachers really have to work together and some of them have to actually teach a little more. The school is very crowded but is in a fine condition. The people there are a bit scary sometimes and it can get intense and picky being a new student, its hard to find a spot, a spot that you really fit into but i hope high school will be a new start for me. Overall as a student i think the school is all right, and definitly needs to be organized a bit more school wide


Posted March 23, 2011

Downingtown is a great school district. The kids are expected to WORK. In my opinion school is not meant to be publicly subsidized babysitting. Downingtown kids are expected to work at being students. They get homework daily, my 7th grader gets it on the weekend too. When he needs help from me or my wife he gets it but we don't DO IT for him. How can you expect your child to learn to apply themselves and achieve results if they are never challenged? Does the district do its' job. Look at the test scores...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

The teachers don't provide the extra help to students in need. Their homework assignements too long and involved. My daughter just completed an assignment which discouraged parental involvement and she failed the project. If your child is having any difficulties, good luck hearing from the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

My son just finished at LMS this past year and unfortunately we've found out the hard way that kids who need a little additional help are not given what they need. In our case homework issues were turned around and said to be disiplanary issues instead of looking or testing for the underlying issuesof homework difficulties. He is now at Huntington Learning Center to bring him back up to his grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

This school and district seem to be going from bad to worse. Students who are drowning academically are not given help, parents are discouraged from being involved. Several students in my daughters class, 8th grade brought alcohol to school. It is very overcrowded and is going to get worse because they are not building a new Middle School. This district does not have the best interest of the students in mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2008

im an 8th grader at lms, and i have to say that i have had an amazing 3 years here. i do not want to leave and go to high school next year, because it will be too hard to leave my school and all my teachers. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2008

As an eighth grader, I am pleased to say that I have had a wonderful three years at LMS. The teachers are wonderful (for the most part), the administrative staff are always around to help you with any problems you have, and each student is given careful attention.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

My child is finishing 6th grade this year and is happy with the school. She has fit in this year very well socially and especially academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

Happily, our experience at this school has been completely opposite of recent posts. 7th grader has had a terrific experience academically & socially. 6th grade team-building efforts were comprehensive. She is quiet but involved. Solid music program, several clubs available if you take initiative to join. Strong sports programs. class size usually around 22-26, responsive movement among math class levels (up & down depending on student need). New district MS opening in 3 yrs will relieve overcrowded halls. like anywhere, there's pressure to fit in but seems relatively mild (uggs, not drugs!); she made transition from local parochial school w/ no problem
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

Very disappointed in the school district in general. If you are an average student you will be overlooked. The classes are to big, teachers are overwhelmed and parents are discouraged from getting involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

My daughter has been completley overwhelmed entering 6th grade at LMS. I have spoken to teachers, guidance and principal. Recommendation homework club. I feel as though she is a number. She does enjoy the music program. To many kids for her to even have a chance to be involved in anything else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

My son is entering 8th grade. He's done well here and we're happy with the school. The one thing I see in private schools which I wish we had is earlier regular foreign language study. Only advanced English students can start a foreign language in 7th grade. The normal path is to take the sampler, French, Spanish, and German in 8th grade, and decide on one of those for 9th. I really think the district should be doing serious language education in elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

Its an overall good school! It is very easy to get a good education here!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

525 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

521 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

484 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

492 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

464 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

465 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

461 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

487 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
Black75%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)71%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female92%
Male84%
Black75%
Asian98%
Hispanic75%
Multi-ethnic91%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)60%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female92%
Male92%
Black52%
Asian98%
Hispanic69%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)72%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female94%
Male87%
Black52%
Asian96%
Hispanic75%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)66%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female94%
Male93%
Black73%
Asian100%
Hispanic75%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)81%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students95%
Female98%
Male93%
Black76%
Asian98%
Hispanic92%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)78%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students85%
Female83%
Male86%
Black47%
Asian93%
Hispanic42%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)60%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students91%
Female96%
Male87%
Black79%
Asian98%
Hispanic77%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)66%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 71%
Asian 10% 3%
Black 4% 15%
Hispanic 3% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

550 West Uwchlan Ave
Exton, PA 19341
Phone: (610) 524-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Collegium CS
Exton, PA


Devereux Day School
Downingtown, PA




Regina Luminis Academy
Downingtown, PA


Downington Middle School
Downingtown, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT