Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Children's House of Bucks County

Private | PK-5 | 84 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fairless Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $189,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2013

My daughter has been a studenct at Children's House of Bucks County for 4 years. We LOVE this school. The teachers are wonderful, attentive and caring. They continually worked to create a warm and inviting environment that challenged my daughter daily. This past year my daughter was enrolled in the schools full day Kindergarten program and I was very impressed with the curriculum. Her math and reading skills are beyond my expectation and she even put together a research project on Panda Bears using different text books. The school follows a montessori curriculum which encourages the children to be independent thinkers and helps to build their confidence. They also learn from older peers who act as role models for the younger children and then they become the role models themselves as they get older. My daughter was always excited to go to school and I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

My son has been attending the Children's House of Bucks County for the past year (he began at age 3). Before signing him up, I visited a number of area schools and was struck by the quiet concentration, challenging activities, and supported independence of the students at CHBC as compared with other preschools. I wanted a positive first academic experience for my son and could not be more pleased. The teachers are outstanding, the mixed-age classrooms provide excellent socialization, the classroom is stimulating and inviting, and the learning materials provide a rich and varied intellectual experience. I have re-enrolled my son for next year and plan to enroll my younger child when he is old enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2013

Wonderful school. The Montessori concepts are followed very well. Amazing curriculum, amazing teachers. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

Children's House will surpass your expectations of a school for you child. It is a certified non-profit Montessori school that is staffed with well educated/experienced teachers. It is a family environment where parent involvement is encouraged. I could not be happier with my son's development. He will be starting full-day kindergarten in the fall and it is all he can talk about. He is so excited for all the kindergarten activities and programs. I am excited for him to continue his education! I also attended CHBC and I remember how ahead of the other kids I was when I attended first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

Our daughter has been attending from age four - five years now. We have checked out other schools and put her in one for a semester but nothing beats this school for us. The teachers are dedicated, she gets tons of individual attention and her learning is very advanced - no comparison with a public school education. No bullying, no BS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

This school gives young children the love of learning. This school is a certified Montessori program (AMS), accept no imitations! Montessori done right works very well. CHBC offers a wonderful program, flexible choices for school programs for a full time parent to ease into a school program, or for working parents. The teachers (Directresses/assistants) are VERY good and are strong educators, committed to ensuring the children are able to learn at their own pace, and stay engaged in the learning process, never bored or overwhelmed. A slow learner will get a great foundation, a fast learner will excel and be very advanced coming from this school's programs. A key benefit to this school is they offer a full-day kindergarten program. There is nothing more important for your child's future than having a great early education...if you can't do it yourself, this is the next best thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

My son has attended since he was in preschool and we love it! This is a great school and a great way to learn for any child. Each child in a class learns at their own pace. Just like when we are babies, some learn how to walk sooner and some learn how to talk sooner but in the end we all learn how to do these things. Children should be able to excel in the things they enjoy and take a little more time with the things they struggle with. Not all children can learn everything at the same pace. The teachers are patient, caring and wonderful. I can't say enough about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

Both of my sons started their education at CHBC and I am extremely pleased that my husband and I made that decision. The foundation that they received at CHBC was phenomenal. The teachers are great and extremely skilled. My sons have a sincere joy for learning. They were reading at three and adding to 1000 at four. The boys learned botany, zoology, cooking, sewing, geography, and interesting subjects that most children their ages do not learn and don't enjoy learning it when they do. My sons learned it learned it and could not get enough of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

I absolutely love this school. It is a non-profit Montessori school for Toddlers-Elementary. My son has attended since he was in preschool, he is now in 1st grade. The program is fabulous, I can't say enough about it. Their music program is great. The children regularly put on concerts for the parents, staff and other children. The art program has been added to [the internet] where the children can display their masterpieces. They have many events for the children and families of the school. The parents volunteer at the school to get more involved with the day to day activities at the school. The school is more like a family. It is a great experience for parent and child. Every parent has a say in what goes on at the school. They really make you feel that your opinion counts. My family loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2005

The most incredible thing about this school is how they teach each child at their own level and pace. Each child gets an individualized education, regardless of whether they are a bit behind and learn more slowly, are gifted and therefore ahead and learn quickly, or anywhere in between. Also, the respect the directresses (Montessori for teachers) show for the children is very different from what you see at public and other private schools. This respect for others is also instilled in the children, resulting in a classroom that is amazingly calm and productive. The children are also much happier than what you see at other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2005

This has been a wonderful school for my son. After visiting other schools to prepare for a recent move I am even more impressed by the quality of the program and what they have done for my son. Because of ADHD he needs to be challenged in order to pay attention. Boredom is the end for him. They keep him engaged and learning. He is over grade limit in everything and wants to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 3%
Two or more races 12% 2%
Black 6% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 9%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Susan P. Weir
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (215) 946-3088

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

840 Trenton Road
Fairless Hills, PA 19030
Website: Click here
Phone: (215) 943-3656

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Calvary Christian School
Fairless Hills, PA



Village Park El School
Fairless Hills, PA


Fallsington El School
Fallsington, PA



Bucks County Montessori CS
Fairless Hills, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT