Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dana El Center

Public | K-5 | 572 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2014

The school is 'for' the students. Caring staff, and up to date teachers who care.


Posted March 16, 2014

My daughter is in kindergarten and her teacher is awesome she is doing well loves gym class art computer class recess music and riding the bus home love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

The teachers, teachers assistants and all of the staff at Dana Elementary are fantastic people. They give 100% of their time and heart to make sure the kids in their care are learning and enjoying the time spent at Dana! I have 2 grand-kids.....one went to Dana a few years back and still remembers his experience with a smile....the other grand-kid is a current student and he can't wait to get to school every day! Thank you to all the people at Dana that make it such a great experience for the students and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Though both of my kids are doing well in school, I don't feel they are getting enough homework. My kids are done in about 20 minutes. My 5th grader should be getting some book reports and learning to take notes for next year.. They both like the teachers and seem very motivated .I hope it pays off and she is prepared for the middle school.. We shall see, and I will let you know!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

I have mixed feeling about this school. Some teachers are great and will go the extra mile while other are obviously just there for a pay check. The princalpal does the best he can with what he has available in my opinion, however it is way overcrowded and the school board wont spend the nessisarry money needed for expansion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2007

This school is what an elementary school should be. The teachers have a common goal and they are a close knit group which gives students a sense of belonging. I have witnessed for myself how this faculity works together for the good of the sturdents and the district. I was also impressed by the clean appearance of the building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2006

I recently attended the Open House at Dana St. Elementary school and found it to be enjoying and informative. It was very heart-warming to see so many children with their parents and grandparents sharing in their progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

When my children started school here I thought it was going to be a fulfilling experience. Four years later, my children are enrolled elsewhere. Not only is the principal incompetent, but the the school's PTO is a disgrace. It's difficult to have a parent-teacher relationship when the parents hate the teachers and treat them like the 'enemy'. The PTO members do not care about the children or what their mission as a parent group should be. The principal allows this type of atmosphere to exist. She plays both sides of the street and will not make a decision. She is also the principal of two other schools. These schools need leadership not incompetence. Dana is not a school where a student can thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

It's been a great experience so far (we are only in kindergarten). They move at a good pace, although my son is a little bored, I know they have to think of everyone in the class. We have been blessed with a good teacher who clearly knows what she is doing. My son has music, art, gym, and computer class once a week. I do wish those could be integrated more often (twice a week--for music, art, and gym would be better). Parents are pretty involved, although it does seem to be somewhat cliquish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

Great School, My kids Loved it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2004

All of my children have gone through Dana and unfortunately I feel that the the morale is at an all time low. There are some great teachers there but there are some who really shouldn't be there anymore if they really don't want to be. The workload during class seems heavy but my children have not had one book report for two years - and they want to increase the PSAT reading scores? Parental involvement has become minimal and the PTO has lost sight of their role -partly because there is no longer any teacher involvement. The school lacks consistent leadership and has very few teachers willing to get involved after school hours. There are no more spelling bees and school field trips seem like an inconvenience to the teachers. Some things need to be done to get the morale at Dana like it used to be. It's affecting the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

I think the school principle is doing a great job at Dana. I have a daughter in 1st and one in 7th who went to Dana. If I ever have a problem I can always call the school and they do what they can to help me and my child. Most of the teachers are great with the kids. The school puts the kids first, and thats the way it should be. These kids are our future. There are many times when I'm at the school I see the principle walking around the halls making sure kids are where they are suppose to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2003

The comments made by another parent in April of 2003 are no longer entirely correct. Parents, through the Parent-Teacher Organization, made their feelings known regarding the potential change to self-contained classes for grades 4 and 5. For the 2003-2004 school year, students in grades 4 and 5 do rotate classes as they had done in previous years. This is not to say that things at Dana Elementary do not need improvement, however. My current issue deals with the lack on consistency among teachers in the same grade levels. For example, my son's teacher only sends home corrected tests and homework assignments, and a weekly spelling and vocabulary list. Other teachers in the same grade level provide their students with reading lists and a schedule of tests for each week. This is an issue that will most certainly be discussed at an upcoming parent-teacher conference, however, an older child of mine has had the same teacher and the problem was evident at that time as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2003

My child attended this school. The experience was excellent for her. The teachers are excellent. Some policies however have lessened my enthusiam for Dana. I used to eat lunch with my child, on occassion while in the school, by the time my second child arrived, I could no longer do this. There was chance that the departmentalized classes of 4th and 5th were going to be self-contained. This did not happen thanks to concerned parents who brought it to the school board's attention that they did not believe this was a good idea. The tests scores at Dana rose in the past three years, I see no reason to change something that works.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

Dana Elementary is a great school with wonderful, caring teachers. I have nothing but praise for the principal who has always been available for any questions or concerns I might have. My daughter is progressing and loving school. There are a few magnificent teachers including Mrs. Larson and Mrs.Dudascik. These educators have gone above what I expected as a parent and allowed my daughter to shine. The parents are very involved with PTO functions. My family is extremely satisfied with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2003

As of the 2002-03 term, no longer is any type of before or after school child care avalible in this school. The current principal, has also severly limited the amount of enrichment the student body is exposed to by recently implementing self-contained classes as oposed to the traditional multi , specialized subject teaching the fourth and fifth grades were participating in for more than the last decade. Cause soley to funding offered from the state to be increased, for improvement in the Standardized testing scores, not thought of what is best for the students. (whom upon completetion of the elementary center, will enter the middle school grades 6,7 and 8 to change classes 7 times daily on a 7 day rotating schedule.) Dana Elementary has progressively gotten worse in the last 5 years. I strongly recommend other school considerations.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

92 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

92 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
59%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female91%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female83%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female79%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)31%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female78%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students87%
Female87%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)46%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female78%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)46%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female66%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)36%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students69%
Female73%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)31%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 71%
Hispanic 3% 9%
Black 2% 15%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 Dana St
Forty Fort, PA 18704
Phone: (570) 283-0591

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Graham Academy
Luzerne, PA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT