Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Seventh Street El School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2010

Its a very nice school the teachers r all very good with the students. I couldn't see my children getting the attention and help they get at any other school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

The teachers are able to establish great discipline, while maintaining a fun, productive learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

Seventh Street is a great neighborhood school. The school is centrally located to my communities and posts great scholastic numbers showing it is a very good school.


Posted October 19, 2010

I always felt like I was welcome as a parent in the school and I liked how approachable, flexible, caring and cooperative the principal and staff are. Big thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

My son went to 7th St. and it gave him a great start, he's in grad school now. doing well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

Best elementary school ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

I love this school because my grandsons love this schoo;.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

My son has attended Seventh Street for the last 3 years in the Emotional Support classroom. Everyone is very nice and do a great job teaching and guiding my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

My nephew has gone to 7th street elementary school the past three years, his teachers are patient, kind, and creative in their lessons. The school is a rare gem that rarely exist anymore. The programs they have that include the whole family are special for aunts and grandparents that value the childs development. It is amzing to hear what my nephew is learning, and his social skills of his community. The city of franklin and 7th street school are truly special and unique that are lost in bigger schools and towns.


Posted October 12, 2010

This is truly an excellent school. Wonderful teachers and support staff. The teachers always seem to concerned about providing the children with the best education possible. Congrats to the principal for great leadership.


Posted October 11, 2010

I went to 7th Street. It is a lovely little school where the teachers and administration really care about student achievement academically, socially, and emotionally. The small school atmosphere is very personal and prepares the students well for success.


Posted October 10, 2010

creative, innovative and caring
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

The best school my children ever went to. It's a tight community all the staff, parents and teachers look out for one another to make sure every child succeeds!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

for the great education that they give.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

All three of my grandchildren have gone to Seventh Street School, one of them is in 5th grade there this year and each one has loved going there. In this day of large schools, with many students, Seventh Street reminds you of times gone by. It is just big enough for each child to be treated as an individual and not only be taught their lessons, but looked after and cared for like they were in their own homes. The atmosphere is so pleasant, cheerful and homey. The teachers and all who work there are so great at their jobs and know each kid and their family personally. The kids love going there and I love the fact that when they leave there, they have good memories that never will be forgotten.


Posted October 8, 2010

I love 7th Street Elelmentary School because it is not overcrowded and I feel like I can talk to my child's teacher at any time, through email, phone, or post it notes! The cafeteria program is great and it's not only easy for us parents to pay for our children's meals, but it teaches the kids how to use new technology when paying for their meal. They have great technology throughout the classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

Wonderful students, teachers, parents, and staff. It is a small school where each child gets personalized attention and a great education!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2010

My husband and I bought a house near there 15yrs ago so that our children could go to that shchool. my oldest is in 6th and youngest in 1st. The teachers are GREAT!!! Everyone has been so helpful and all the parents are a big part of making it work. I'm so glad that my kids have a great school enviroment. I truely believe that because of 7th Street School my children will have a better future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

It is a great school to work at and the students are eager to learn. We are a past blue ribbon school, which says that we have worked hard to achieve a great learning goal.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 22, 2010

Seventh Street Elementary School in Franklin, Pa has a wonderfully gifted team of teachers and staff who work tirelessly to help students learn and grow. This small, nurturing neighborhood school possesses a positive environment where students thrive and bloom. My son has loved his experiences at school and looks forward to what each new day will bring:) As a parent, I couldn't be more happy with our neighborhood school or more satisfied with the quality of education my son receives. He's happy, excited, interested in learning and succeeding all from the support and encouragement he receives daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

13 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

13 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

15 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

15 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

15 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

19 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

19 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

19 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
33%

2009

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

22 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

22 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Femalen/a
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students58%
Femalen/a
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students68%
Femalen/a
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female77%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female54%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 71%
Black 5% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

310 7th St
Franklin, PA 16323
Phone: (814) 432-5562

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Central El School
Franklin, PA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT