Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6 & Ungraded
Public district
Furlong, PA
Students enrolled: 888
 

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

13 reviews of this school


Bridge Valley El School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
My son is in the first grade at Bridge Valley. He is a good student and always gets encouragement from his teachers. He enjoys going to school and is excited to tell all about it at the end of the day! I believe he could handle more challenge academically; however life is full of challenges for grownups. It is better to have easy school life that allows kids to enjoy other extracurricular activities.

Bridge Valley El School 1

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
It's not a good school. I really hate bridge valley, it is not as good as other schools.


Bridge Valley El School 1

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
Unsatisfactory. Not a good school at all. I am disappointed in the school for the lack of quality.

Bridge Valley El School 4

Posted December 01, 2012
- a parent
This year, we finally had the chance to experience public school for the first time. Our child attended a wonderful preschool in the area which more than prepared her for first grade at Bridge Valley. The school is absolutely gorgeous and we were thrilled about the great facilities. At the start of school, however, we noticed right away that our child had learned the majority of the first grade curriculum and would probably be bored. Rather than bumping her up to a higher level math or challenging her, they counseled us to wait months and do more testing. Well, in those months, she has learned virtually nothing new in math and has to ASK the teacher for harder problems!!! I wish they would have listened to us and accelerated her at the time --we feel as if we are home schooling her in areas since she is hungry for a challenge and not getting it at school. I agree that if your child is behind or autistic, it's a fantastic school. But what if your child is already ahead?. Those kids are left to their own devices. No wonder why China and other countries are pulling ahead of us in education..our schools have to do more to take challenge the top third!!

Bridge Valley El School 1

Posted October 09, 2012
- a parent
Very disappointed in the school. They appear to have great programs for children who need more help learning, but those in the top third are left to their own devices far to often and are not challenged. We have met with staff and leadership to address our concerns and have been disappointed with the lack of action. The teachers are focused on the bottom third and lack the ability to challenge the top third. Additionally, test scores are not in line with the rest of the district at this elementary.


Bridge Valley El School 5

Posted August 04, 2012
- a community member
One of the better schools in Central Bucks. A mural on the stairs that lead upstairs, elevators, big classrooms with cubbies (that look like lockers) instead of coat closets. The bathrooms are very clean. And the gym entrance (green door) has a whole other part of the school. They have 3 playgrounds and swings. The kickball field is accessibly through a fence opening. The one playground is near the entrance that has that ugly wasp's nest up on a 2nd floor window. I love this school!

Bridge Valley El School 5

Posted June 07, 2012
- a parent
This school is wonderful! We have had an amazing experience with Bridge Valley Elementary! The teachers truly care about the kids education, the administrators show strong leadership and are very involved day to day, the curriculum is challenging...BVE has so much to offer.

Bridge Valley El School 5

Posted September 06, 2011
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about this school. The teachers are wonderful, the administrators are invested in the students and the students enjoy being at school. Total package with BVE!!!


Bridge Valley El School 5

Posted April 06, 2009
- a parent
This school exceeds our expectations and hopes by a mile!!! Our oldest son's teacher, Mrs. Doherty, has been like a rock for him. She has never given up on him and has helped turn him around. We moved to the district from out of state at a time when our son's grades were doing down. His reading and writing fell behind dramatically in 4th grade. After starting here in 5th grade, his teacher and counselor quickly recognized the concerns and moved into action. His grades have gone from D's to A's and B's. They have identified his learning differences and put plans into place to capitalize on those. His self-esteem has improved dramatically. We couldn't be more pleased with the school, teacher and all of the staff who have rallied together to support our family!

Bridge Valley El School 5

Posted March 17, 2009
- a parent
Bridge Valley is everything one could hope for in an elementary school...caring teachers, awesome staff, top shelf administrators dedicated to the education of every student.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bridge Valley El School
2280 Sugar Bottom Rd, Furlong, PA  18925
(267) 893-3700
Last modified Bridge Valley El School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bridge Valley El School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top