Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Garnet Valley El School 5

Posted October 05, 2012
- a parent
GVES is a wonderful school! Beautiful campus. My children love it. What else is there to say when the kids love going to school? Go Jags !!

Garnet Valley El School 5

Posted April 28, 2011
- a community member
I love this school! BEST school EVER!!! I used to go here. All the teachers and students are SOOO NICE!!! Most definetly an AMAZING elementary school! The after school YMCA program is great! Bus drivers are very nice!


Garnet Valley El School 5

Posted June 29, 2009
- a parent
Amazing learning opportunities abound through the classroom, clubs and activities. Home and School Association is committed and generous in giving back to the school through innovative fund-raising activities. Principal is committed and visible-she even does the morning announcements and leads the pledge of allegiance each morning! Wish the stairs and floors were a bit cleaner, as well as the cafeteria tables, but that's small stuff in the bigger scheme of the great learning environment.

Garnet Valley El School 5

Posted June 13, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Garnet Valley El School 5

Posted April 11, 2008
- a parent
I have had nothing short of a stellar experience with this school district. To read a bad review amazes me...Of course, I am sure that no school district is perfect and can make everyone happy. However, I do know that two of my 3 children needed special assistance to bring them up to the proper learning level and they are now exceeding the expectations. I have nothing but admiration for these teachers!


Garnet Valley El School 5

Posted April 08, 2008
- a parent
I have a child in this school and he loves the experience here. The teachers are very caring and work with the students to identify individual styles of learning. They have a great extra-curricular program and provide differentiated education to students based on their intellectual ability. Overall, a great school.

Garnet Valley El School 2

Posted November 30, 2007
- a parent
Our children did not have a positive experience at GVES despite the rave reviews this district receives. We found the teachers either inexperienced or burnt out and the administration unconcerned. Too much energy was put into catchphrases like differentiated instruction but nothing of substance changed in the classroom. The high PSSA results are the result of high SES/income levels--nothing innovative that the teachers are doing or principal is encouraging. Think twice if you're really looking for a school that will develop your child's ability to think flexibly, reason critically, and understand technology's power early--all important for the challenges they will face in their adulthood -- with a changing demography, environment, and economy. It's almost impossible to measure these...and so they don't get compared school by school...but aren't they what really matter? And schools create flexible thinking, critical thinking, and technology appreciation in students by modeling them. Don't expect that here!

Garnet Valley El School 5

Posted September 20, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Garnet Valley El School 5

Posted April 09, 2006
- a parent
This is an outstanding public school where children and families come first. The staff is highly professional and every child is encouraged to be the best he/she can be. There is a warm and caring atmosphere and my daughter has loved being here. Art (excellent),music, PE, Library, health, and Study Skills are 'specials.' There's tons of parental and family involvement. I've been a teacher for over twenty years and this is the best public elementary school I have ever encountered. The entire school system is outstanding.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Garnet Valley El School
599 Smithbridge Rd, Glen Mills, PA  19342
(610) 579-4150
Last modified Garnet Valley El School is a Public school that serves grades 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Garnet Valley El School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top