Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Garnet Valley Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1161 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2013

I've had nothing but great things to say about Garnet Valley until my child got to the middle school. Never have I met such rude staff. One of the first times I had to stop into the office, the secretary got up and WALKED AWAY while I was talking to her! The principal and assistant principals are not much better. They look right through you, no smiles, no "Hello, How are you?" They make you feel like you're wasting their time. I find it hard to entrust my child to a school where this is the type of behavior you encounter walking into the main office.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

My child went here from sixth and half way through seventh. She absolutely loved it there.she never once came home unhappy. She was always up beat and loved the kids. She's now in eighth and misses it dearly. She's having some trouble moving on from it though. And they were very helpful to her EIP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2013

Parent to one GVMS student and one that we had to pull from GVMS and place in a private school. Poor leadership from the principal. Doesn't respond to emails when notified of problems. More concerned with special programs such as canned food drives and OLWEUS than day to day instruction of your child. There is not a partnership between teachers and parents as the teachers appear to not want to be the "bad guys" by holding students responsible for their grades and school work. Power School has allowed the teachers to expect parents to be the first ones to address grades and homework with students. Special education is hit or miss depending upon to what teacher your child is assigned. There is no continuity from year to year with special ed. student's IEP's. You're essentially reinventing the wheel each year. Across the board, communication is poor from the teachers. You will have to initiate all communication as a complete marking period can elapse before a teacher will initiate contact with you. Finally, the teachers teach to tests like the PSSA not content mastery. District as a whole is only concerned about statistics and funding. Thanks Teacher Unions and No Child Left Behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

If your child has a learning disabilty than this is not the school for him/her. I believe that this school is more concerned about achieving high marks on the PSSA than on their students. The teachers withold grades and then make them appear weeks later when it is to late to do anything about it. Also, expect at least an hour to two hours every night for homework. Expect quizes in three different subjects on the same day. Their will be no time for extra curricular activities. Some teachers do care about the students. However, it is overshadowed by the schools goal to have high ratings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

GVMS is a great school providing your child does not have a learning disability. My husband and I are very dissatisfied on how they handle a child that needs extra assistance in school. No matter how many evaluations you have had where your child's psychiatrist/psychologist feels you need an IEP, the school wants there statistics to say that no child needs an IEP. They have by right to have their psychologist look at the report and their psychologist makes the final decision which means they go by what the school needs for their statistics. Since I am the mother of twins, for one child I rate it 5 stars. For my other child, I rate the system 1 star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

Excellent teachers; great curriculum. The academic program is leveled according to students' ability - starting with pre-algebra in grade 6. Very good enrichment level programs for ELA and science. Excellent extra-curricular activities such as after school programs. My kid goes to this school district and I couldn't be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

This school has languages, sports, and even student council. GVMS has clubs that individuals would love! I attending Garnet Valley Middle School, know that the teaching system is great and all students are respectful. As a student, I work very industrious on my school work and recieve the wonderful grades I deserve for my hard work. Unlike other mediocre schools, GVMS strives to do the best tthey can to ensure themselves, parents, students, and newcomers that are schooling is one of the best out there, (not to insult other Middle/ Junior High schools.) Beside from the wonderful Pep Rallys where kids like me cheer on are wonderful school, the port programs are conducive to a students abilitys. Even the 6th graders can join intramurals sports to recieve a higher chance of making the team they choose to tryout for. I am proud to say all students of GVMS are involved!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2008

I go to this school, and as my first year, I was scared. I though I would be lonely, but boy was I wrong. The teachers made me feel as if I had been with the school since I was 4 years old. This school has satisfied me very much, as well as my parents and family. I definetly appreciate the effort that GVMS has put into making me happy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2008

This school is amazing. The teachers are creative and they make the classes enjoyable, but they still teach us (the students) what we need to learn. Each grade has an assigned princapal and each one of them is superb. The main princapal is one of the nicest guys you will ever meet. The extra-curricular activities are fun, like sports from tennis, wrestling, and football, to volleyball, basketball and softball. There are also academic clubs, like newspaper, which comes out multiple times in the month, yearbook club, which gives the students opportunity to be in charge of making the book of books. Art clubs and video club are great for personal expression and they are fun to watch (video club) each morning on the daily announcements. The unified arts are fun and run for thirty-two day intervals. Keyboarding, music, tech. ed., art, cooking/sewing are each great. see next posted review.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2007

I love this school i have been in this school district for two years I love I never want to leave from PA
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2006

This school and set of staff, teachers and principals is really serious about their work
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2004

Outstanding school. Admisitration, Faculty and Staff work together to provide a great learning environment for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

398 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

396 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

394 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

394 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

371 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

374 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

373 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

382 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female86%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian98%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)80%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students94%
Female93%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)89%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female96%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)69%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)74%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female86%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)65%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students95%
Female96%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)85%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female76%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian97%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)58%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students89%
Female95%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian97%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)80%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 71%
Asian 8% 3%
Black 2% 15%
Hispanic 1% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
  • Ice hockey
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Field hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Present special topics during curricular units
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 Smithbridge Rd
Glen Mills, PA 19342
Phone: (610) 579-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Concordville Prep School
Concordville, PA




St. Cornelius School
Chadds Ford, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT