Advertisement
Advertisement

Upattinas School

Private | K-4, 6-12 | 55 students

We are best known for progressive ideals.

 
 

Living in Glenmoore

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $387,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 1, 2012

I am a relatively new parent at Upattinas School and we are very pleased! My son said to me recently that this is the best school year that he has ever had!! Upattinas is a very different environment than the typical college prep mania that pervades most high schools. However, with that said, my son feels positively challenged and has actually chosen to take additional classes because he enjoys them so much. I feel comfortable that he is getting excellent preparation for college and beyond. The opportunity to spend several hours a week doing music is also a strong positive for us. - - This is a good environment for my son but a student definitely has to have a good level of motivation and responsibility to get the most out of this environment. Definitely worth checking out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

I wish I could have grown up in this school. I'm normally a do-it-yourself-er, but I am happy to pay Upattinas to do this for me in an age where public schools are forced to focus on all the wrong things. Children need time to play in order to grow. They cannot learn without play. School should be an emotionally safe place to explore playing with people, paints, letters, numbers, the natural world and more. Upattinas is that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

As a student of Upattinas I can with out a doubt vouch for the excellence of this progressive school. Upattinas is a safe and loving enviroment where I can go to learn the things that I want to learn and be the person that I want to be. The classes are small and individualized, the community is understanding and supportive, the teachers are great, and my fellow students are awesome! All in All, Upattinas is a magical place!


Posted January 18, 2012

As a current student at Upattinas, this school feels like a home to me. I feel comfortable, accepted, and loved by the community and free to be myself. I feel that I am truly respected by the staff and challenged to work hard and do my best academically. The classes are small which allows lots of in class discussion and individual attention. I feel confident trying new things here and believe we have very strong art and music programs. I would recommend Upattinas to anyone looking for a place that will both challenge and nurture them.


Posted August 14, 2011

I'm a former student (graduated 2003), and in my experience, this school is the best. However, if you're a slacker or just want to get through your school years doing the minimum amount of work, then this is NOT the school for you. You'll be trusted to behave like a responsible young adult and make choices about your own future by creating a customized curriculum that best suits your needs and interests. Unless you're motivated to learn and succeed in your education, you'll probably fall far behind in a school like this. But if you're like I was, the self-motivated, open-minded type who's curious about life and the world, you can take the opportunities Upattinas offers and far exceed your expectations- I personally graduated with 4 extra credits, and my senior year I only had to go in 1 or 2 days a week as I had only one class to complete to graduate. I learned of Upattinas from when I was homeschooled (grades 3 through 7), my mother took me here for annual evaluations. I loved the atmosphere of freedom, caring, and respect I saw during our visits, so later when I was in grade 10, I begged her to let me transfer here from public. It was one of the best decisions I ever made.


Posted January 12, 2011

The school states that it is a democratic community. It is a family ran business. They promote open communication however, we have found that there is a lot of miscommunication. For 12 wks we attempted to make contact with our son's middle school teacher. He never returned our phone calls. His mother (school director) contacted us weeks later to speak for him?! If your child is not the middle of the road kid forget it! If your child has any form of learning difference this is not the place for them. If your child has any social quirks, this is not the place for them. They called our child a social enigma directly to our face. They told us that he is not a behavioral problem and such a sweet child however, he has "social quirks" The director is the one who delivers the msg. via the grapevine. Personalityconflicts and family related business tend to get in the way of the school. They have a guidance counselor 1 day/wk, but do not expect to be able to utilize her services. The school is NOT open to outside help from the professional community (ie TSS support).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

I'm a current parent at Upattinas and have been so happy with the caring, supportive and stimulating environment Upattinas has provided my son. It's called an 'alternative' school, but from my way of thinking, all schools should honor children and young adults the way Upattinas does.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

I am a parent with three children, one still at Upattinas and two adults in college/grad school. As I watched the graduation ceremonies last week I felt so proud of the students and the staff - what a diverse group of kids, working and learning together, and what respect between teachers and students. Anyone looking in would be amazed at the open expressions of love and gratitude. As a parent on the 'inside' I know full well that part of the success my older children are having in college and in their lives as awesome people comes from Upattinas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

I am a current student at Upattinas and I have a ton of school pride. It has re-shaped me entirely and has made me a much better, and more confident and independent person. Every child and parent should know about the power of alternative schooling.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2008

I am an alumni of Upattinas, and a current student at Kutztown University. Upattinas truthfully was the best thing that ever happened in my life. I only spent 2 years of my school career there, but it was that school which shaped me into the person I am today. If it hadn't been for their open learning environment, caring community, and diverse views I would have never grown up. It is a school best suited to students who motivate themselves and enjoy learning. Because the school believe that learning occurs no matter where you are, or how old. they encourage students to discover things on their own and to do their own research into areas that interest them. Teachers are there more as guides than as instructors. If you are looking for these things in a community and school. Upattinas is the original and the best.


Posted October 7, 2006

I am actually not a parent, I am a current student at Upattinas school and I think that it is a great learning environment. I've learned more about life from my two years at Upattinas than I have from my many years in public schools. Not only that, but it's furthered my general school education a great amount. My parents love it too and are proud to have me in such a great, loving place. Alternative schooling is the definite way to go to help kids to grow up smart, happy, and loved.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2006

I am a parent of a student at Upattinas. There is no guidance for a child. The school is open ended without clear expectations or guidelines. If your child is totally motivated on his own and knows what is needed for sucess then that is the school for your child. If not, it is an expensive babysitter. The Outward Bound teacher and the Chemistry teachers seem to be the only teachers that really care about the students. I have been very disappointed. The school seems to have changed over the last 5 years. They seem confused as to what they are really about. Teacher quality is poor with the exception of Outword Bound teacher and the Chemistry teacher in the High School. It is not a fair Democracy a they profess to be. -Disappointed parent
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 74%
Asian 5% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Black 0% 16%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 7%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nancy Collins
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Part-time study
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NCACS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Computer
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
More from this school
  • Valued for four decades as an innovative and progressive school that stands apart from traditional offerings, Upattinas School is a licensed, private, nonprofit school that serves students in grades K-12. While some children respond well to our environment, we are not a therapeutic facility. If we cannot serve a child with special needs in our day program, we can offer the support of our homeschool program.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

429 Greenridge Rd
Glenmoore, PA 19343
Website: Click here
Phone: (610) 458-5138

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


West Vincent Elementary School
Chester Springs, PA


Devereux Brandywine
Glenmoore, PA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT