Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hempfield Area Senior High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2014

Hempfield Area Senior Highschool is the worst school. I was bullied there by football players and they never got in trouble. They ruined my highschool for me and I was held back for no reason. They teachers are awful. Do not go to this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2013

Hempfield High School is a great school! I just read a lot of the reviews and I will be honest, I do agree with both the positive and negative comments. The teachers are truely amazing. They honestly do everything they can to prepare us for college. I can't tell you how many times my teachers stand there and telll us about things they did in college and give us assignments that prepare us for what they went through. There are a wide variety of activities and clubs. There is something for everyone. If you can't find something, then you haven't tried or looked hard enough. Yes, we do have some bad kids in our school but you really can't blame the school for that. Last time I checked, it wasn't the school raising the kids and doing all of their decision making. Our faculty and peers do they best they can to try and keep us from making bad life decisions and do as much as they can to help us. We have drug awareness assemblys more than twice a year and there are teen issue seminars offered to help any student who is going through some hard times. I don't know anything in great detail, but I do know our school is doing what they can to make our high school experience the best it can be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2013

The top students in the school are very solid. The bottom 15% very weak. A very big school which allows for many electives to be offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

Having had three children graduate from Hempfield Area,and as a teacher in a neighboring district, I must say I am very impressed with the district. The education my children received was excellent. The teachers were challenging and supportive. There has been lots of criticism about the construction of the field house. I am happy that my kids had these facilities to utilize during heir time at HA. Hempfield does have the political problems and bickering that plagues most schools, but overall, the school district is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

Our child currently attends Hempfield High School. She previously attended Wendover Middle School. We have been extremely pleased with both the schools and the teachers. Her teachers have motivated her and boosted her self-esteem. She is currently enrolled in several AP classes. The classes are hard, but the teachers are available for tutoring. Our daughter's out of school time is spent with the Hempfield Band. This keeps her very busy; however, the band experience has been wonderful and something she will never forget. She has met other highly motivated students, as well as caring, devoted teachers and band parents. Overall, our experience with Hempfield has been excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

Hempfield was a complete waste of my time. The district is focused on pushing funds into the sports, etc, instead of adopting new innovative curriculum. I'm currently an educator and pursuing my masters, and I can say if I visited Hempfield now and looked at the teaching methods it's almost archaic. I won't even get into the politically charged hiring methods and useless teachers unions that keep these school continuing their mediocrity. I'm glad to be in a progressive area where education is always changing and adapting to what the needs of the community are.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2008

I realy like it here... I get a good education and its in a nice, realtively quiet area. Too many kids that go there complain about it, but compared to other shools, the opportunities we get here are pretty good. We get a great education and there are plenty of clubs and activities to join. And with the size of the student body, you can meet a ton of people and make lots of good friends, because alot of the people here are great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2008

I am completing my Bachelor's of Arts at Thiel College this semester and, honestly, Hempfield is not as bad as everyone makes it out to be. I felt prepared to go onto college, but I was still scared like most people are because it's a new environment with new people. I have found out that Hempfield offers many more languages than most other high schools (I go to school with people who weren't offered any foreign languages!) and I was given the opportunity to take a Psych and Sociology course there which helped me choose my majors; Crim. Justice and Sociology with a minor in Psych. Hempfield is a good school, unfortunately, no one realizes that until they leave!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2007

Honestly the school is way too big for me and I really dont like it their at all. The student population is too great and there are not that many teachers to fulfill all of these students needs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2006

I have attended Hempfield in the past and am currently in college now. I believe that no high school truly prepares you for what to expect at the college level, but Hempfield did the best job I could have hoped for. I participated on sports teams, in band, choir, and theater. I thought the teachers were very involved with their students. I also thought that even the academic, non-honor classes were taught to the highest quality. After meeting students, and marrying one, from other schools, I was surprised, and thankful, to have such a good education. Many of my classmates have gone on to earn excellent careers already.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 17, 2006

In the honors programs, the academics are great. The rest aren't so amazing; many 'academic' classes are taught laxadasically and result in no educational gain by the students. The band is also excellent. Too much money is spent on sports teams, however. As a result, there isn't enough money in the budget to buy PAPER or even REPLACEMENT BOOKS. The Guidance Dept. is terrible and completely unhelpful - just like the rest of the administration. The cafeteria produces sub-par, revolting food, is poorly lit, and is somewhat unsanitary. If the school were simply better run at the administrative level it would be a perfect fit for everyone. As it is now, it's just mediocre.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2006

This is coming from a student who involves himself in the AP courses and many activities at Hempfield. Academically, I can promise you that there is no school in the region that is better than Hempfield in advanced courses. All of my teachers are excellent and manage to get much accomplished in and outside of class. I go on trips and compete in interscholastic competitions, and in meeting students from other districts I find my classes to be on par with and, in many cases, far beyond other classes from different districts. I recently have taken 7 ap tests for college credit and my scores were all high enough to earn me college credit. Parents get involved (sometimes too much in sports cases) and our marching band is renowned. Every form of extracurricular activity is available, or if it isn't, staff will work with students to make it available.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2006

Great academic program, great sports programs along with band and other activities available. Parents can be involved as much as they want with lots of areas were parent volunteers are need to help out. Overall good school but very large.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

476 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

476 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

473 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
49%

2009

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

485 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female64%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female82%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)56%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students58%
Female54%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)90%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 71%
Black 2% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 9%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4345 Route 136
Greensburg, PA 15601
Phone: (724) 834-9000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Central Westmoreland Ctc
New Stanton, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT