Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grove City Area High School 2

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
As a resident of Grove City I would not recommend this school district. Bullying is rampant and the administration does little or nothing about it. Even though there is an anti-bullying policy, the school does not enforce it. The cliquish mentally that exists is difficult to if not impossible to pierce.

Grove City Area High School 5

Posted May 11, 2013
- a parent
I choose to move my children into Grove City schools because of rave reviews I heard from residents of the area. I have done this despite the significantly higher cost of homes within this district and much higher property millage. I am very negatively inclined to the guidance department to the point of going to higher administration and referring to one member as a zombie. This is not to be insulting but to drive home the essence of his unwillingness to respond to my valid questions regarding my previously A students falling grades. When a concerned parent especially a new one makes three visits to guidance office with grades in hand, it is his job to respond beyond "I would tell you if she was dealing crack on campus." And "I don't know who she is." And it is his job to answer specific questions regarding the curriculum or direct me to who can. On the other hand, I found the principals to be very responsive, and before the end of the day, I had return phone calls with answers. Go directly to the main office with any issue. Be prepared to weather the expense and the cliquish, churchy nature of the community but once you are settled it is a safe and quiet community.


Grove City Area High School 1

Posted March 22, 2011
- a parent
As a parent of both a special needs child and a gifted child, I found this school system to be adequate at best. They pressure children whom they feel will bring down their scores on test down to quit school by making their lives very unpleasant with bullying either by or with the encouragement of the staff. I would discourage anyone with school age children from moving into the district unless your child is what is viewed as the "right kind of student" and that changes depending on the staff you have contact with. There are a few very gifted teachers but the majority are poor or just disinterested in doing a good job.

Grove City Area High School 1

Posted March 03, 2010
- a student
As a current student at Grove City highschool i must say it isnt the worst school in the world, i have attended two other schools and as far as offered classes and advanced placement opportunities, Grove City holds its own. However, favoritism is huge in GCHS if you do not have a personal relationship with the teacher you will find yourself feeling very left out in class. When asking teachers for help many times they will laugh at you and make you feel stupid in front of the class. They make fun of the students in their tutorial classes and have an uncanny way of making one feel like a complete idiot for reaching out for help. Not all teachers are like this though there are some that are exceptional but the others unless you are advanced dont count on enjoying your classes.

Grove City Area High School 5

Posted September 18, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


Grove City Area High School 0
no rating

Posted February 08, 2009
- a parent
I feel they should offer classes , (math) that all students can learn, not just the gifted ones.

Grove City Area High School 5

Posted December 09, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Grove City Area High School 1

Posted February 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Grove City Area High School 3

Posted January 26, 2008
- a parent
Grove City is an excellent School District. When I have been concerned about an area of my child's studies, the teacher and guidance counselor work with the parent and are very supportive. The school is more than willing to provide tutoring and after school help if the child is willing to avail themselves to it. The school district makes use of teachers from local colleges with new ideas and enthusiasm as well as the tried and true. Parent involvement is high for all students who choose to participate in a club or activity or sport. Certainly state testing is important, the testing shows my child's weaknesses, as they are not the same for every child. My high school aged child is taking advanced classes from the ability she demonstrates from the testing. Comparing GC with schools across the state on other sites, our community has much to be proud of!

Grove City Area High School 3

Posted July 03, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grove City Area High School
511 Highland Ave, Grove City, PA  16127
(724) 458-5456
Last modified Grove City Area High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grove City Area High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top