Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Blue Mountain Academy

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hamburg

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $140,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 19, 2013

I am so thankful to have attended BMA. My family is a huge supporter of Christian education. These past few years have been such a blessing. The staff truly care about the kids and want them to not only have a good education but also learn more about Jesus. I highly recommend BMA!


Posted October 19, 2013

My kids, both very creative and dedicated, were fed by the different staff personalities at this school. Both have moved onto college with ease and have represented their Alma mater with pride! From the school setting to the philosophy of helping students learn academically, socially, vocationally, and most importantly spiritually, they have lived up to their motto: Distinctly Academic; Decidedly Christian!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2013

This school was my life for the first 20 years (8 years in the elementary school). I don't think I could have grown up in a better place. Great academics, wonderful music, all in a nature setting on the Appalachian trail.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2013

The leaders are pretending to be Christian but are only Christ like some of the time. I used to want to go here, but if you speak up and point out when someone doing wrong - you are labeled a troublemaker. They like to brush things under the rug and pretend they didn't happen, just like some other churches. People are tired of it, probably why we have less and less students here every year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2012

The school has greatly deteriorated over past 3 years. Standards have lowered. Instead of getting kicked out for smoking, etc...students are given in school suspensions. Not special enough for the money. Probably why enrollment dropping drastically over past 3 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

Praise the Lord My daughter is finishing her 4yrs at BMA in 2months. The journey was a spiritfiled one for both of us. She has grown Spriitually and mentally, The leadership skills is excellent. I know by the Grace of God my daughter can survive where ever she goes.She had theopportunity to travel to places i never thought of. I thank the Lord for where he has brought us from.this also increased my faith in God, to see how he work in my life. Take no thoughts for tomorrow, God will take care of you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

I currently attend blue mountain academy and in my opinion it was the best decision i ever made. Its a great school with so many opportunities to offer that other schools could only dream of.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2009

I attended BMA for 3 years, enjoyed it. I also graduated, and although it was pricey, It was the best experience of my adolesence. The leadership training and the survival skills you gain are quality. It definately prepares you for college. If you attend as a dorm student, it will be a bit of a change, but the staff and teachers are great. Your child will develop great relationships that last a lifetime with other students and will be exposed to a sincerely wide range of diversity among the student body. There is also a work program that encourages a strong work ethic among students. Opportunities to travel the country and the world arise within the tour groups. There's so much to look forward to. Its great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2008

Graduated from here 2 years ago and was not the best experience. Felt censored and closed off from the world at large. Teachers were okay. Homework not much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2007

My Child is starting his 4th year as a BMA Student and he would have it no other way. The school has helped him to grow both Spiritually and mentally. I am impressed at how the teachers spend most of there time on campus talking with and interacting with the students. My son seems to have great relationships with his teachers. Also the school has great programs that I love going to see because it shows how much my child has grown. I really love this school and I can tell that God has his hands over it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

Blue Mountain Academy is a quality christian school. The teachers provide a caring and supportive environment in which the students can learn. They make themselves available to those students that need extra help. My daughter has thrived in this environment. She has grown both spiritually and academically since she has been at BMA. She is very happy at BMA and plans to graduate from there. The students are warm, friendly and supportive of each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 71%
Black 28% 15%
Hispanic 20% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2363 Mountain Road
Hamburg, PA 19526
Phone: (484) 662-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The King S Academy
Mohrsville, PA


Blue Mountain High School
Schuylkill Haven, PA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT