Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hanover Area Junior-Senior High School

Public | 7-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

To be honest I went here for most of my life with an exception of moving around a little, but in my opinion this school was the utter most worst one I fulfilled in going too. The teachers are one of the biggest problems, yes there are some good ones but overall they have some of the worst teachers you can get. One of the teachers just sits there the whole class period while the kids talk even though he is supposed to be teaching a class. I think Hanover area needs to get there priorities straight before making bad decisions on the school teachers that they allow there.


Posted August 23, 2013

This school is horrible. They are more focused on their little football team than education. Most of the elementary school teachers are more worried with what you are wearing than actual learning. Not only that, their football team is terrible. I hate the school so much, there is excessive bullying, and the staff are unhelpful. For example, the pin number monitor. She just sits in her chair all day, texting! Very bad school, I would not recommend it!


Posted July 11, 2011

clearly this school district is passed on polictics! you must know someone of hiigher staute for your children to recieve anything from this school district! I feel our children were clearly failed because we didnt know the higher powers in this school! I am so happy we moved out of there and put our children in a school district where they will be treated equally!!!! I am a former parent of this school district and proud of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

As a current student at Hanover Area I am able to say that this school is barely meeting the standards of what a public school should be meeting. First, as for the students, students in any sports teams have a higher priority than normal students. And as well, bullying is a large problem in Hanover, and the staff does next to nothing against it. As for the admin, some of them do nothing but try to intimidate students by yelling and threats of suspension and the magistrate instead of understanding what the problem is. One in particular seems to have no care of the students at all. The teachers are a 50/50 group. While many of the teachers are of great character and do their job well, many on the other hand do not, but I suppose that is like every school. However, our guidance staff is top of the line and do the best of their ability to attend to the needs of the students. The school has numerous sports to participate in as well as many clubs and similar after-school activities. However, the largest concern with Hanover is the debt. We are currently around thirty-six million in debt, and yet the school board refuses to show records of how this money was spent.


Posted December 29, 2008

My family and myself attended Hanover. I feel that I got a poor education. I was always a respectful person and the teachers liked me. But, the teachers were not professional at all. I would not recommend having your child attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2008

Hanover Area has always been the school I wanted my son to attend. I believe it is the best school in Luzerne County. The only problem I have is with a few of the teachers. Some of them need to retire. My son says they are mean, grumpy, and just to hard on the students over minor situations. My son is a straight A student. I'd thank Hanover Area for doing such a wonderful job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2007

I graduated from this school, and I must say i am very surprised to read these bad reviews. I had some problems socially and their guidance counselers and admin took action. not only did they help me with my issues, but also would meet with me on a regualar basis. one of them asked me to help him out coaching a basketball team for the elementary school with him. great teachers, great admin.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 29, 2006

I would never say this is the best school. The teachers are, at the most, adequate, administration pays more attention to athletics than academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2005

The school is small enough for teachers to really get to know the students. I graduated from this school and also have children attending now. I love this district and would recommend it to anyone. Although I would second guess signing my child up for any Mini-Hawk organization activity such as football or cheerleading, it is a very poorly run group and they do not care how the children are treated. High school teams are another story. The high school coaches bring you into a family, as it should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

Hanover Area is a wonderful school. A few of the teachers should be made to do their jobs but, on the whole they have a very good staff. They have a huge array of extracurricular activities. Needs more parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

I think that this is a horrible school. The teachers there are totally unfair. They are more concerned about what the students are wearing than how well thier grades are. My daughter goes there and everyday she comes home in a terrible mood, and I ask her 'How was your day' and I always get the response 'horrible' or 'terrible' never did she come home sayin 'my day was great!' NEVER! I think some of the teachers thier are too old and grouchy to be teaching a class and I know many people would agree with me because i've already gotten thier opinions! When i talked to my daughters guidence counselor i asked her 'How are the other students grades?' and she replied 'well 6 students in her class are failing' That made me think that maybe its not my daughter its the teachers there! Horrible school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2005

The adacemics are great and the parent involement is exclent it is a good safe school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I think that Hanover needs to look at some of the teachers they have working there and make sure that they are doing their jobs. It's terrible to say but in some classes it is just a waisted year. Make the teacher do what they paid to do TEACH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2004

Hanover Area is one of the better schools in Pa. Meaning like the school itself,not meaning the students in it. All the teachers are nice and are good with the kids.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 22, 2004

Hanover Area Is One Of The Best Schools In PA!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

135 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
67%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

139 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

139 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

142 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

141 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

134 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female74%
Male72%
Black43%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female66%
Male64%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female59%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female82%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students54%
Female56%
Male51%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students81%
Female93%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female48%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female69%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students42%
Female35%
Male47%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students90%
Female98%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)63%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 71%
Black 6% 15%
Hispanic 5% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1600 Sans Souci Parkway
Hanover Township, PA 18706
Phone: (570) 831-2300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Boniface School
Wilkes-Barre, PA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT