Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harrisburg High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2011

Being a person that has gone to this school i can honestly say that it isn't the best high school and yes the curriculum is outdated but so are the books. I went to FLfor a year and and was a bit confused on why the work was harder down there than here. But again the kids act that way because NO ONE is saying or doing anything about it. The sad fact is that yes it is outdated and the kids are rude but it doesn't mean that they have to be moved to the ghetto like on parent said. That's just wrong. Instead of putting the school down and talking trash learn to speak up and especially if your child goes there. Simple of the matter they give kids test to see where they are in math and reading and whatever the score is they will put the kids in the class he or she belongs. I was in put in a eleventh grade math level by the time i was in ninth grade. So if your son is in the seventh grade math level guess what they will be out there. IF YOU HAVE A PROBLEM WITH HOW THE SCHOOL IS TEACHING GO TO THE MEETINGS OR SET UP A MEETING WITH THE TEACHERS AND THEY WILL WORK WITH YOU TO SET UP A PROGRAM THAT WORKS FOR BOTH PARENT AND CHILD! Stop putting the school down and do something that can help
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2011

I AGREE WITH BOTH SIDES OF THE FENCE. NO THERE IS NOT ENOUGH PARENT INVOLVEMENT WITH THE SCHOOLS. PARENTS ARE UNAWARE OF THE PROGRAMS THAT ARE OFFERED AND DO NOT URGE THERE CHILDREN TO JOIN ANYTHING! PARTLY DUE TO THE INCREASE IN TEENS NOW WORKING, OR THE LACK OF ENCOURAGMENT. AS A RESULT THE DISTRICT NOT JUST THE HIGH SCHOOL HAS FAILED. ONCE EVERYBODY FORGOT ABOUT THE KIDS, THE KIDS WERE LOST. SO ALL THE BLAME SHOULD'NT BE PUT ON THE STUDENTS.. CUT THEM SOME SLACK, HAV'NT THEY SUFFERED ENOUGH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2010

there students come down to bishop mcdevitt and rob the students from our school. students from there wrote vulgar things on the bishop mcdevitt property. they are very LOUD when they leave school and walk past mcdevitt. McDevitts student body as well as I cannot wait until we are relocated in lower paxton twsp. My family will also be relocating from our Paxtang area which is about 3 miles from John Harris because of the communitys turn for the worst. John Harris needs to be moved to the "South Side" or "Projects". Section 8 is also taking over the area of Melrose Gardens Smh! the school has done nothing but make harrisburg into one BIG ghetto. I wouldnt school my dog at John Harris let alone my child! Children: you all are in my prayers!


Posted April 27, 2010

i recently moved here from another state and was amazed at how this school takes education or should i say the kids act like education is a joke. This will haunt them in the future. The drugs and lack of parent involvement are terrible. The teachers i feel sorry for because until the parents get a hold of their kids it's a wrap.My son is doing 7th grade work andis in high school and the kids act like this is hard, it's a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I know this school has not received good ratings but they are trying so hard. They have dedicated teachers and coaches who are working against the social and economic problems that come with an urban school. There are so many success stories that no one hears about -they only hear the studentsz who don't make it and not the ones who do go to college and lead successful lives.


Posted November 19, 2008

I am an alumni from hhs. i graduated in the year 2008. i believe this school needs more parent involvement and support, the school is basically passing students who aren't even ready for college. im in college now and i feel as though i wasnt prepared for it. however there are great programs such as PAC and SBI. the music programs are also great. they have the best choir and band. the sport teams are great! especially the football and basketball teams!


Posted March 1, 2006

I beleive there is not enough parent involvement. Students are not getting all the support they need. The schoolis not a bad school the students just need more family support. I beleive test scores would go up tremendously if parents would get more involved in their children's life, as far as academics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2005

Honors program and SBI (School of Business and Industry) provide the student with many options to take advantage of their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

The students walk the hallways all day long and don't listent to the teachers. The students are not passing the state require tests that the school is required to pass.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 11, 2004

Harrisburg High School is a full of talented young people and is a bounty of opportunity in academics and some extracirriclar for focused students. However, improvements in overall academic structure and learning incentives for staff, teachers, and students would be a further enhancement for a school that has had much improvement in recent years. The academic efforts should also include a concentrated effort by staff, teachers and parents to get a greater number of parents involved in the educational mission of the the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Harrisburg High has come a long way towards improvement. In response to the other parental comment, it should be stated that the teachers have been there after school for personal one on one tutoring, as well as increased parental contacts. I am also a parent and an advocate of the educational system. It is about time we pull together as a community of learners and take responsiblity for our childs education. Laying the blame on one sector whether it is the parent, teacher, or childs lack of motivation is not the answer. We need to seriously look at everyone's role and step up to the plate and take part in the learning process. Harrisburg has a wealth of talent , skills and abilitities across the board,(whether it is in the parents, students, teachers, or administaration.) however we haven't had the leadership to enhance and access those. Now that we do it is time to move ahead and stop the blaming game. Look ahead and remember to live to learn learn to love and love to live.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2003

I think the class size is too large. The teachers are not acknowledging a students problem area therefore students are not learning to their fullest capabilities. There should be mandatory tutoring sessions for students lacking academic progress in any subject.The guidence counselors should prepare all seniors for higher learning and there should be classes preparing students for job searching.I just feel that our school system is cheating our students and allowing them to settle for less.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

i find that the school fails to throughly explain certain subjects ande materials to the students leaving them behind on some subjects. I would rather they have a tutor program that parents and teachers can enroll they child/student if they see problems with them and there study/work habits.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

148 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
9%

2010

 
 
25%

2009

 
 
12%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

150 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
28%

2009

 
 
19%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

147 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
2%

2010

 
 
6%

2009

 
 
4%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

148 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
49%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students10%
Female6%
Male14%
Black9%
Asian13%
Hispanic14%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged12%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
English language learners4%

Reading

All Students25%
Female20%
Male29%
Black27%
Asian13%
Hispanic29%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
English language learners0%

Science

All Students4%
Female2%
Male6%
Black3%
Asian0%
Hispanic11%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged4%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
English language learners0%

Writing

All Students30%
Female37%
Male24%
Black27%
Asian25%
Hispanic48%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
English language learners13%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 67% 15%
Hispanic 23% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
White 4% 71%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2451 Market St
Harrisburg, PA 17103
Phone: (717) 703-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Shimmell School
Harrisburg, PA



Wordsworth Academy
Harrisburg, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT