Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
3-5
Public
Harrisburg, PA
Students enrolled: 635

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thomas W Holtzman Jr El School 4

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
My son is currently a 4th-grader at Thomas Holtzman He had a fantastic teacher last year and has been blessed to have an even better one this year. All of his teachers are wonderful - I have nothing but praise for them. The assistant principal (Ms. Kiphorn) is WONDERFUL. She goes well above and beyond the call of duty in helping children when there are problems at school. My only issue with the school is the lack of parent involvement - my daughter attended TH in the past and I have seen a substantial drop in the number of parent volunteers at the many events coordinated by the PTO. The parents who complain about the school are the same ones who fail to show up for anything or take responsibility for their children's behavior. Negativity breeds negativity.

Thomas W Holtzman Jr El School 4

Posted July 26, 2010
- a parent
The principal is lacking in many areas. And seems to be absentee with his duties. My husband and I are deeply, DEEPLY disappointed in him. As are other parents. It seems everytime someone posts a review of how disappointed we are with the principal, our posts are removed! Besides being unhappy with the principal, the school is great! And the teachers are great!


Thomas W Holtzman Jr El School 5

Posted February 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Thomas W Holtzman Jr El School 4

Posted August 06, 2008
- a parent
I am an alumni of STHS, Class of '85. I moved back to the township 4 years ago when it was time for my children to start school. The curriculum in this district is competitive and the faculty and administration really do care about the students. My experience in the Susquehanna Township School District has been very positive! - Karla Roach

Thomas W Holtzman Jr El School 5

Posted March 03, 2008
- a parent
I give this school a 10/10. I attended this school as a child and now my son attends. The curriculm is exellent and the district overall commitment to academics made me a well prepare college student and graduate!


Thomas W Holtzman Jr El School 5

Posted November 30, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Thomas W Holtzman Jr El School 3

Posted April 28, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Thomas W Holtzman Jr El School 0
no rating

Posted January 15, 2006
- a parent
Mrs. Sowers (spelling?) is a great school counselor and a good resource for this school.


Thomas W Holtzman Jr El School 4

Posted June 10, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Thomas W Holtzman Jr El School 0
no rating

Posted December 08, 2004
- a parent
As far as special needs students go. Thomas holtzman. In my Opion rates below most school's I have ever attended. I know a special needs student in grade5 and In my Opion your school has droped the ball.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas W Holtzman Jr El School
1910 Linglestown Rd, Harrisburg, PA  17110
(717) 657-5158
Last modified Thomas W Holtzman Jr El School is a Public school that serves grades 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas W Holtzman Jr El School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top