Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Susquehanna Township Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 708 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2014

Little hooligans infested this school. Now adays i see 6th graders walking around and being like "EY. YO. DIGGITY. YOU GOT SOME MONEY, GONNA BUY SOME MILK WIHT THAT SH*T. AWH YEAH, MY BOI. LET ME REPEATABLY MISSPELL EVERY WORD I POSSIBLY CAN" what happened to the world.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 18, 2013

Horrible. Cannot recommend. There is no discipline. No control. Hate to even rate it at a one because it is so terrible. I want to either move or attend private school. I am a current sixth grade student.


Posted January 2, 2013

I am a close friend of someone who goes to this school. And from what I hear, this school is terrible. He hates it, he gets bullied and no one does anything about it. I know another person who goes here, his cousin. She hates it also. But she doesn't get the same treatment from the other kids as he does because she is a bit 'popular'. As popular as she is, she still hates it. Whenever I meet up with them, they always say something that happened from school. There is too much fights, and bullying. It drives them insane until they eventually get breakdowns. I understand some people may love this school, I respect that. Everyone has their own opinions, however, from what I'm hearing from these kids and how much they dread to go to school the next day, this is a horrible enviornment.


Posted September 4, 2012

DONT EVEN PUT THIS SCHOOL IN CONSIDERATION FOR YOUR CHILD if you are not poular or aa bully you are being bullied, there is atleast 1 fight every month and there is no disipline, kids say rude things to teachers, the school is out of control kids make fun of kids saying they look wierd make fun of names clothes, hair, looks, shoes, kids just walk up to kids and say what the you know what are you wearing or your shoes or ugly if you dont dress like a tripper your are getting bulllied and its just kaiosk, PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCHOOL, no school is perfect, but this would be a bad choice, if you have no choice but to go to this school, you better make sure your child has a prettty big expanded expesive wardrobe.. good luck


Posted August 21, 2012

I HATE this school!!! This school year my parents put me in a private school. There was too much bullying and distractions and kids fighting a lot! The bullies always seemed to win. If you were bullied and complained nothing happened to the bullies. My best friend was hit and punched at least every other day. Sometimes every day throughout the school year. And books knocked out of his hands - slapped- stuff like that. Talk about miserable. Until finally he left Susquehanna Township Middle School and is now in cyber school. The bullies never got in trouble. Last straw for my parents was - well I can't even type it. I heard if you write real truths here the school removes those comments. But let's just say my folks had enough and so did I. I was a straight A student but my grades dropped from all the drama at school. My siblings are all in private school now too.


Posted August 20, 2011

This middle school is horrible, from bullying, fighting, picking on other children, to the administration. There is no respect for one another, and there is no discipline or supervision. I would NOT recommend this school to ANY child that would like to enjoy their youth years. The teacher try to make changes and help the children, however, the administration let the kids go without discipline for to long, it s out of control. My child moved to Susquehanna two years again and starting the middle school in 6th grade. There has been nothing but trouble and problems from this school the entire two years of going there. It s sad to see a school ran by teenage bullies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

i hate that school! the people there are so immature nd they need to grow up fast. They are going to be in for a surprise when they get to high school because they don't know how to act right and be respectful. They are soooooooooooo disrespectful to everyone that's not their friend! So mean! I hate it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2009

I think the middle school is an ok school. Susquehanna middle school has good academics but when it comes to displine not very good. Mainly problems with dress code,teachers,and fights ect. Not as many fights as the high school but this is a alright school. It is more to expect if your coming from different school but the school coujld be better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2009

I went here and was picked on, made fun of, and called names. This was one of the worst schools ever! We moved and she has been so much better. This school had alot of problems with the teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2008

I think this school is awesome! They never judge anyone and thats a big deal for the ones who get picked on all the time. Plus, they assign teams for students, so they learn how to work together as one. The teachers know how to have fun and teach at the same time!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2007

The overall quality of this school is starting to decline. The academics are good but the discipline is starting to fall apart. It is very sad to watch
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2006

this school has high standards. The grading system is high so it influences children to excel. the teachers are very dedicated to not only teaching, but they are also dedicated to creating a fun and safe enviornment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2006

I have been happy with my son's transition to the middle school. The teacher's are accessible through e-mail or for meetings when requested. I have found them to be prompt in their repsonses to my inquires. Academically, I like the team concept, especailly have three teams at the sixth grade level, to help in the transition from elementary school to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2005

this school had a complete turnover of principals at the beginning of the year. the new administration has made a remarkable effort to maintain a positive learning environment even as they learned new protocols and district policies (politics). the school has had to deal with too many student fights and issues related to school safety this past year. the academic programs are excellent although there are some complaints about access to higher level courses. the extracurricular activities are wonderful with a vibrant music department. parental involvement is welcomed although more could be done by way of outreach. the school's greatest strengh is its ethnic/racial and religious diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2004

This school is great, great homework hotline, in case the kids miss something, great clean bthrooms, news at the beginning of school and great lunch.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

215 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

214 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
61%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

228 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

225 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
64%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

212 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

215 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

216 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

223 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
53%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female63%
Male63%
Black47%
Asian92%
Hispanic60%
Multi-ethnic58%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female65%
Male55%
Black43%
Asian83%
Hispanic50%
Multi-ethnic63%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)28%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female79%
Male82%
Black65%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
Multi-ethnic86%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)36%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female82%
Male75%
Black64%
Asian94%
Hispanic92%
Multi-ethnic85%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female76%
Male83%
Black57%
Asian100%
Hispanic78%
Multi-ethnic73%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)37%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female74%
Male77%
Black54%
Asian93%
Hispanic67%
Multi-ethnic87%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students62%
Female58%
Male65%
Black34%
Asian87%
Hispanic61%
Multi-ethnic53%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students57%
Female63%
Male52%
Black44%
Asian79%
Hispanic35%
Multi-ethnic50%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 41% 15%
White 40% 71%
Hispanic 7% 8%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

801 Wood St
Harrisburg, PA 17109
Phone: (717) 657-5125

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Infinity CS
Penbrook, PA


Marshall School
Harrisburg, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT