Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bishop McDevitt High School

Private | 9-12 | 750 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Harrisburg

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $159,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2011

Graduated in 1971. Best education in the entire area. Philosophy of the system and educators still have an influence on my life to this day. I was well prepared in the continuance of my education. Highly recommended.


Posted January 5, 2009

Very hard. Does not get enought credit for how hard the curriculum is. Students are much smarter than many public school kids. Not enough classes. Students don't get into the best colleges, the college they deserve.


Posted August 6, 2008

I am an alumni and parent of Bishop McDevitt. McDevitt is the best school in the entire Capital Region including the West Shore! McDevitt has a mission to continue the Catholic Faith, we proclaim the Gospel of Christ, value each individual, and to promote self-disciplined learning in which all aspire toward lifelong personal growth.


Posted February 19, 2008

I believe that McDevitt has a good academic program, but the faculty and administration cause way too much debate over things that do not matter and do not contribute to the education of the students. The tuition cost is outreageously high, while the school itself looks as if it has had absolutely no work done on it what so ever. Where does all of our thousands of dollars go then? The educational system may be good, but in my opinion it should be ten times better for the cost, and the rules and regulations that the students and parents need to abide by which cause too much controversy in itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2004

I graduated from Bishop McDevitt in 1963. My diploma from this school is at least equal to a masters degree by today's standards. Excellent teachers and programs. I am truly thankful for the education I received at McDevitt.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 5, 2004

Academic program is right on track! I have a sophomore there this year and will add a freshman next year. The sophomore has done very well, the programs are excellent, the atmosphere is conducive to learning. As a graduate myself, wouldn't send my children anyplace else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

Our son thrived in the school. The honors classes were challenging and rewarding. The atmosphere seems to foster education and stability. The teachers are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

This was a great school for my son and has a spectacular football history! Highly recommend to any parent looking for a private school in the area!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 71%
Black 20% 15%
Hispanic 8% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
School Leader's name
  • Sr. Mary Anne Bednar, IHM
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • Diocese Of Harrisburg
Fax number
  • (717) 234-1270

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Crusader Way
Harrisburg, PA 17111
Website: Click here
Phone: (717) 236-7973

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Harrisburg High School
Harrisburg, PA


Shimmell School
Harrisburg, PA



Wordsworth Academy
Harrisburg, PA



The Keystone School
Harrisburg, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT