Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Name of Jesus School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
I always knew my child would be bullied at some point. I just never imagined the teacher would be the bully.

Holy Name of Jesus School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
This had to be the most unChrist-like environment in the classroom that you could imagine! A little boy was made to cry for drawing a picture of Jesus and His Disciples because he was suppose to draw a picture about Charlotte's web. The teacher laughed about making the child cry.


Holy Name of Jesus School 5

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
Our children and family has been blessed by Holy Name of Jesus School. The teachers go above and beyond expectations. We feel part of a big family. Not all of our children were perfect. Holy Name of Jesus worked with us to identify their God-given talents. Besides education, the school is in the business of getting our children to heaven. We have made friends with other families at Holy Name of Jesus and feel a part of the community. Highlights-A teacher told me that something had changed with our daughter and she had trouble reaching her. Our daughter needed glasses! One teacher noticed my son's aptitude with computers at an early age and started a computer club. This son graduated and studied computers at college. A teacher notice a tongue thrust in another son and advised me to allow the speech pathologist at the school to look at him to correct the problem.They are always looking for parent volunteers.. My daughter was in a Math club afterschool that was led by a dad. All volunteers have their Youth Protection clearance and background checks. We feel our children get individual attention at Holy Name of Jesus. Holy Name is Middle States accredited.

Holy Name of Jesus School 4

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
Holy Name of Jesus is an excellent school. Both of my children attend Holy Name of Jesus school and they are flourishing. My children love going to school everyday. I am blessed to send my children there!!!

Holy Name of Jesus School 1

Posted January 22, 2012
- a parent
My best advice is to avoid this place. Leadership has absolutely no interest in engaging parents. Academics suffer in this place, despite an upgraded physical plant and the fact that this is the wealthiest parish in the diocese. The school puts too much emphasis on multiple different competitions and extracurriculars, and to my shock (assuming Catholic schools were the same to better academically), students are not on par with their peers at local public schools in some classes. There is surprisingly little homework. This is probably done so kids can stay in school until 9 pm to rehearse a play for months on end (including school holidays), and can have time to compete in multiple local and national activities that faculty and administration push them into, and feel will make the school look good. Language offerings are a joke; science and math are sorely lacking. I would definitely avoid this place and consider other options.


Holy Name of Jesus School 1

Posted August 16, 2011
- a parent
This school has problems one of them being that some of the sports programs are being run by a lot of non catholics and some of the things going on is terrible like a lot of dishonesty and unfairness. Non catholics are being put ahead of the catholics in sports like football and basketball. Some parents even put their kids in the school just to play the sports and they arent even catholics, or they do and say what they have to just to get their kids to play in the sports programs or go to the school but dont even believe in what the school is representing. The new principle should take control of this.Until that stops everyone is going to suffer from it.

Holy Name of Jesus School 1

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
The leadership that left is under the same leadership that just took over. The fate of Holy Name is undetermined and many good children were judged unfairly at this school and asked to leave over the past few years by the both of them. Leadership should have been asked to leave not the students.

Holy Name of Jesus School 5

Posted July 07, 2011
- a parent
Holy Name is not recognized as often as it should be as a great school. We have had nothing but great experiences here. The teachers are outstanding and really care about the students. The parents are excited about the new principal. The parent involvement in my son's grade is great. We have to turn away parent help sometimes. I am happy that we chose Holy Name as a school for our children.


Holy Name of Jesus School 4

Posted April 25, 2011
- a parent
For kindergarten age, our experience has been phenomenal. We lucked out with an outstanding teacher. Our child seems challenged, and seems to be flourishing in the environment. We will be sending our child back next year for first grade; however, we'll make our decision for future years on a case-by-case (yearly) basis, because of the changes in leadership of the church and lack of knowledge of how the school performs above the kindergarten grade level. We were disappointed to find that there is nearly zero diverisity in the student population and hope this will begin to change over time.

Holy Name of Jesus School 2

Posted March 29, 2011
- a parent
Teachers seem very unaware of what is going on in there class rooms!! Kids are being mean and rude and hurtful towards other students and teachers seem oblivious to it...nice 0 tolerance bully rule! My oldest is also a straight A student, and it wasnt until I logged on to Edline to check on her grades for the new semester that I found out that she now has an F in her best subject!! Why wasn't I made aware that there were problems...part of the F is due to 2 zeros on test from being absent!!! She is 9, as a teacher she should make sure the students take their test the student should not have to hunt down the teacher!! And I understand it's a catholic school but to flat out tell a CHILD that what they think or believe is wrong because it is not the "catholic" way is horrible. My child came home in tears twice because what she thought and believed in her heart was shot down by her teacher...she was 7 are you kidding me!! This will probably be my childrens last year at Holy Name!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Name of Jesus School
6190 Allentown Blvd, Harrisburg, PA  17112
(717) 657-1704
Last modified Holy Name of Jesus School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Holy Name of Jesus School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top