Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Margaret Mary School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
This is a wonderful school that provides excellent educational opportunities for their students. STMM is outstanding in National History Day, Science, Speech Competitions as well as Writing Competitions.

St Margaret Mary School 4

Posted January 17, 2014
- a parent
St. Margaret Mary School is an outstanding choice for students K-8 looking for a challenging educational environment and a top-notch Catholic education. The teachers are dedicated educators. They are paid less than their public school counterparts, but spend more time and effort bettering the students. Leadership is good. The principal is hard-working and puts in many hours. She loves the students and school. The school offers MANY extra-curricular activities for students: student council, pro-life club, quiz bowl, basketball, track & field, choir, band, languages, computers, theater, cheerleading, and more! The recently built gymnasium (2011) provides a great environment for events. Religious education and sacramental prep are excellent. Some suggested improvements: more of strategic focus on directing the school rather than day-to-day operations; a greater focus on algebra is needed; the hot lunch program should be abandoned or a full-time staff hired to alleviate volunteer issues. Overall, I recommend parents of prospective students make a visit to St. Margaret Mary School and find out if it's the right place for their children. I believe most will find it a fantastic fit.


St Margaret Mary School 4

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
My husband and I are very pleased with this school. In this economy when all public schools are making cuts to education this offers a nice change. They offer many of the special classes that the public elementary schools have had to cut (Spanish, art, etc.). My only complaint with the school is that there is no playground and although the students may use the neighborhood park they often end up just playing in the parking lot. If they built an onsite play area with equipment I would be pleased to give a 5 star rating.

St Margaret Mary School 1

Posted April 01, 2013
- a parent
I was very dissapointed with this school. I did not pay for my child to be mistreated by the teachers.

St Margaret Mary School 2

Posted September 17, 2012
- a parent
There are good things for some children at this school yet there are a lot of situations that are not the greatest for every child. Parent involvement is good but there is not too much diversity. A lot of children that are of color or have a different ethnic background get excluded with the exception of if they have a parent of a different race is well off or if the parent has a good job and is known in the area. Status is a big deal here and if you dont fit that mold your child could get labeled as a troublemaker or ADHD. Not a great school yet not the worst Catholic school in the area. The children learn this behavior at home and some of the parents just want to keep their children away from children of any other race or background but they do have a high standard for class work not the friendliest place for EVERY child.


St Margaret Mary School 5

Posted September 03, 2012
- a parent
My two children attend St. Margaret Mary's School. I would highly recommend it. The teachers are very professional, willing to listen to any concerns you may have, and provide a rigorous curriculum to prepare the children for high school and beyond. They provide a faith based education that develops the students spiritually, intellectually, and academically. The office staff is also very friendly and helpful.

St Margaret Mary School 5

Posted October 27, 2011
- a parent
I am very happy with this school. It is a very caring and nurturing enviornment. They teach the kids to be responsible in all aspects of their lives. The faith community is very strong. They expect a lot from the students which I feel is a great asset in today world. I would highly recommend this school to others of all faiths and backgrounds.

St Margaret Mary School 4

Posted October 26, 2011
- a parent
I question the motives of anyone who would give a school a "one star" rating. If an adult, or even a student, feels so negatively towards a learning environment, why would they wait until they are done to complain? Sure St. Mags has its share of challenges. The school did not have a gym for many years, and they made due. And now, their graduates are parents contributing to our community. The challenge in almost every school district is that most parents are willing to complain, but when asked to participate, they fall silent. If you're considering St. Mags for your child, visit the school. Take a tour. Ask administrators, teachers, and students directly. It may not be a "five star" school, but that means there's always something to strive for. I'm proud to have my child attending this contemporary Catholic schoot.


St Margaret Mary School 1

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
I can understand where some think the best of this school and some think the worst of it. Its unfair thats why. The ones that are in with the principal have nice things to say, on the other hand I have witnessed first hand the bullying, the unfairness, the punishments and the gossip. This school is not a bad school, its because of the people that do this not only to certain children but also to their parents. Its not that diverse and this is 2011, why is the principal being so stubborn about everything. I have one thing more to say, this is a catholic school and do unto others because it will come back to your child someday.

St Margaret Mary School 5

Posted April 01, 2011
- a parent
St. Margaret Mary School is a faith filled community with a wonderful Principal and caring teachers. Students attending this school are well prepared for high school. The student thrive from Pre K all the way to 8th grade. There are many activities including:Quiz Bowl, Newpaper, Photography, Student Council, Choir, Scouts as well as Cheerleading, Track and Basketball. There is a great before and after school program for the students. The lunches are made by volunteer parents and the kids love them! This year the school added a beautiful new gym, locker rooms, stage area. Send your child to St. Margaret Mary for everything from Math to Ballroom Dancing, I am so pleased with the education my children have received at STMM!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Margaret Mary School
2826 Herr Street, Harrisburg, PA  17103
(717) 232-3771
Last modified St Margaret Mary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Margaret Mary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top