Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Harrisburg Christian School

Private | K-12 | 290 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Harrisburg

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $180,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

My son has attended this school for two years. It is a small school, but it is great because each teacher knows all of the student's names. All of the kids know each other and seem to be pretty close to one another. My son as learned so much and was given more attention when he needed it in certain subjects. I would recommend this school to anyone who was looking for a Christian school to send their child to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2014

My family is so pleased with Harrisburg Christian School. The Academics really prepare the students, and the extra-curricular activities are wonderful. This school is truly creating the leaders that our society needs. The staff, is AMAZING!!! The way conflict is handled in a fair and proper method is very impressive. I would recommend this school to anyone. This school truly is ahead of many, again we are very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

We have been parents at this school for six years now and have two children at the school. My husband and I are very pleased with all aspects of the school. I feel that the school Is a great school in all aspects academically, the quality of the faculty, parental involvement and how the leadership team ( principals) handle issues and conflict. I ask parents that are looking at the school to book a tour, ask questions, look at our students test scores and compare them to other schools.... then make the choice that is right for you and your student. That is what we did 6 years ago and it was the best choice for us. Our children are excelling in all avenues, THANK YOU HARRISBURG CHRISTIAN.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

Curriculum relies on memorization much heavier than critical thinking skills. You will be preached to about partnering with the school to raise your child, and as long as you do things their way, your partnership will be successful. Principal actually said to me that the school couldn't afford to give my child individualized attention. At $8500/year and only a handful of students in the classroom, that is EXACTLY what I thought I was paying for. Now I am paying for it at a school whose employees know what they're doing, and offers things to make my child more well-rounded. Don't waste your money here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2013

Students' understanding of Scripture is excellent. Academics seem on par with other area schools. However, in the past few years, graduating seniors have matriculated into easy colleges. Infrastructure is roomy for the current number enrolled. Art room, library, gym, and cafeteria are all lovely and ample. Turnover and newness of teachers is a concern, as is the mold problem and sulphuric smell from the water fountain in the main hallway. As parents, we were able to partner effectively with HCS for several years. When the new elementary principal took over, her power and control issues contributed heavily to us ending our partnership with HCS. More than once, principal overreacted to parental complaints, took sides inappropriately, and exaggerated situations from molehill to mountain. Raised her voice at one of us parents when our child unknowingly committed a minor infraction. In investigating another minor infraction, she intimidated our child into silence, which she perceived as a confession to a major incident. Used non-Biblical solution. She shut down communication when we attempted to resolve Biblically (Matthew, per school handbook). When confronted, changed her story.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

Good elementary and middle school, but very substandard high school. Students are leaving in droves. Students who transfer from public schools, are way more advanced than HCS students. For instance, Freshman students are taking mostly sophomore and junior classes. HCS students who transfer to public schools have to take summer classes to catch up otherwise they have to take classes in lower grades. The courses are very basic, yet they are called honors or college prep just to make it seem like the school is advanced. My student should not be in an honors science class but that was the only option. Also there should be no reason why a student should have three study halls. The new high school principal is trying to make a name for himself by changing petty things. The school is always coming up with ways to ask for money by making students buy T-shirts or sweat shirts. If you don't buy it then the student wont be able to dress down with everybody else. The administration tend to be rude and snobbish. They never want to admit when they are wrong. The school looks very good on the outside. Just beware and research before you send your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

our 3 children all attend Harrisburg Christian and we have been impressed with the atmosphere of grace, the intentionality of teachers to know their students well, and the attention to the academics. We are thankful for the instilling of service in our kids, and the desire of the administration to walk with parents through the development of their children's character and abilities. We also appreciate the athletics program, the caliber of coaching. The Music program is also well developed, with instruments beginning in elementary and band, vocal and bells throughout the middle and high school years. There is an annual musical, and it is incredibly orchestrated, you would never think you're at a "small school." The culture is also really family-oriented, All in all, we were looking for a school where christian character would be represented in all facets of the school day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

Have been more than satisfied with the advanced academic offerings that my children have received all throughout their elementary, middle school and high school years at HCS. As gifted students, they enjoyed the Challenge Enrichment Class and as high school students have been challenged by the 10 Advanced Placedment and Dual Enrollment courses that are offered at HCS. Also, many opportunities to be involved in co-curricular (Athletics, Fine Arts, Student Government, etc.). The Faculty are highly educated, caring individuals that invest in the students not only during class, but before and after school as well. Fantastic School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

Awesome school - oustanding offerings of AP classes and solid academic performance in the elementary too. Sports teams do well especially the boys and girls soccer programs and field hockey. Lots of opportunities in music, art and other extracurricular activities. Tuition is well worth the educational, spiritual and cocurricular opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

The racial mix really very leaves much to be desired, and tuition is high and climbing. In spite of all of that, it really was a good, healthy environment to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

This is a small but amazing school. The setting is spectacular, the academics are phenominal! There are art, music and many extra activities that the whole family can participate in! I love the annual musical the kids preform! What talent and confidence the kids have. The staff truly care about the kids! A huge family!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 71%
Black 16% 15%
Hispanic 7% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Central Dauphin Public Schools
Susquehanna Public Schools
All Public schools in greater Harrisburg area
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:05 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Thomas Wieland, Headmaster
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (717) 545-9370

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Parents are part of the school association that "owns" the school and may serve on the school board or school commities
More from this school
  • HCS offers a solid college-preparatory academic program steeped in the evangelical Christian tradition
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Central Dauphin Public Schools
Susquehanna Public Schools
All Public schools in greater Harrisburg area

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
A good number attend local Community College and later transfer
4 year liberal colleges and universities
4 year Christian colleges and universities
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2000 Blue Mountain Parkway
Harrisburg, PA 17112
Website: Click here
Phone: (717) 545-3728

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Linglestown El School
Harrisburg, PA





Paxtonia El School
Harrisburg, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT