Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Hanover El School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

the teachers at the school really are there for the children to learn there is a big difference on the bully mood they put it in to prates and they reword good behavior they get help for the children when there grades start going below average. I am a parent with 3 children in deferent age levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2013

This school has great teachers. You can tell they love their jobs and the kids. I am not a fan of the principal though. I know 2 families that have left the school because of him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

We couldn't be happier with West Hanover Elementary School our son currently attends Kindergarten with Miss Hutchins and between her, Mr C and the rest of the staff here he is thriving. I am so excited for my little man to move into 1st Grade and my other little pre-schooler to go to Kindergarten next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2012

West Hanover Elementary to me is a Great School, and your children will not get lost in this School.The Pricipal, Mr C is great, I have no idea how he knows all the kids by name, and parents as well. My daughter loves this School, loves the teachers, as do I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

It has a small town school feeling which reminds me of my elementary experience but offers so many experiences because of the great PTA and staff involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

We are new to the school this year and I have been most impressed with how much the teachers care. I really appreciate the extra mile the staff members go to make my children feel welcome and motivated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

It is a gret local school that has some of the best teachers and administrators on their staff. They area caring and compassionete with all children that pass theru their doors. I saw my son go to school there and now my granddaughter. They both think West Hanover is a terrific school......staff wise and education wise.


Posted October 13, 2010

I LOVE the involvement from the parents and teachers. The community is really involved in the school and the teachers are first class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

We love West Hanover Elementary School because it is such a family atmosphere at this school and everyone comes together for whatever cause there is. It is an absolutely wonderful learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Good progam , pta, does lots for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

Our school still has a positive vib as soon as you walk in. It's a great place to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

The teachers and staff are amazing. The care that goes into teaching our students is refreshing. The PTA is very active and provides a lot of extra services to the students and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

I love West Hanover Elementary because it is a positive learning environment for my children to learn and grow. The students' educational and social well being is of the highest interest to their teachers, administrator,staff, and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

The teachers, principal and entire staff are dedicated and care about the children and families of this school district. 'Learn like a Champion' is what each and every child is told on a daily basis!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

The absolute best! Small school w/ a brilliant staff and active parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

This is the oldest school in the district (circa 1970) and graduates some of the best students. Just shows that education can happen any time students, teachers, and parents all care. Sure would be nice to get an updated school, though!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

This school has done wonders for my children. They have instilled values as well as education. Each and every teacher and staff cares about each and every child as if they were there own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

West Hanover Elementary is a great place for kids to learn and to have fun in the process. The school staff has a genuine interest in the making sure the children understand the curriculum. Additionally, the PTA has a great program for the kids to make sure everybody has fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

We have the best principal in Mr. C.- he knows all the kids names and has helped the students to achive great test score and to 'learn like a champion'. Our PTA is very involved and our parents are willing to put in the time to insure our children get a great education and enjoy doing it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

Wonderful faculty and a great group of parents who really care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female100%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female97%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female89%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female86%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students95%
Female93%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students99%
Female97%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female81%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 71%
Hispanic 6% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Black 3% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7740 Manor Dr
Harrisburg, PA 17112
Phone: (717) 657-3210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

East Hanover El School
Grantville, PA



Paxtonia El School
Harrisburg, PA


Linglestown El School
Harrisburg, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT