Advertisement
Advertisement

Circle School

Private | PK-12 | 75 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Harrisburg

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $159,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2013

This is our second year at the Circle School and my kids love it. They are happy and well-adjusted. They are learning things they are interested in and becoming self-motivated. I am also happy that they don't talk about clothes or how they look (as they were beginning to do in public school). They are too busy being creative and using their imaginations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

Look at schools in other countries - they're all trying to get away from "drill and kill" and rote memorization. If you've ever met a person who left Circle School and is now in college or working, you'll meet interesting, intelligent and (most importantly) happy people. If you find yourself saying things like "work isn't supposed to be fun, that's why they call it work" or "better get used to it: the world isn't fun", you probably won't like the Circle School. My daughter is in her second year at Circle School. She doesn't know the lexicon of the parts of speech, but she speaks well to adults and other kids. She's working on her handwriting but only because she values good handwriting (because I do). Just like ANY school, if you aren't involved as a parent, your child won't succeed. If you think that it's ONLY the school's responsibility to teach your child, NO school is going to bring your child to excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

Set up some kind of curriculm for those entering in the Kindergarden grade level so they can at least read and write appropriately, so as to not be teased or looked at strangley when they are around children who otherwise can.


Posted July 7, 2011

After researching several other schools in the area, we settled on The Circle School four years ago, and have not been disappointed. Our daughter is excited every day about going to school. If you are looking for a safe place where your child is free to explore their world at their pace, look no further. They have regular informational meetings, where you can tour the school and hear about it first hand from staff, parents, students and alumni.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

There are 13 year-olds who can't read or write yet, 8 year-olds who don't even know how old they are, you can't get a diploma, and the staff asks the students and students' parents for money all the time, even though they pay thousands of dollars a year.


Posted May 3, 2011

When it comes down to what really matters in living life, The Circle School's *curriculum* of freedom, coupled with responsibility, allows young people to grow in ways that far surpass what is possible with a curriculum based on memorization of facts, submission to authority, and rote practice. My daughter has been a student at The Circle School for 8 years. Her grasp of interpersonal relations, communication skills, responsibility, cause and effect, the power of decision-making, justice, fairness, and ownership of her own personal power are the skills that do and will continue to support her in living her life- not whether or not she can diagram a sentence. The three 'R's are easy- it's the lessons that young people learn everyday through being in an empowering environment where they are respected that will stay with them through life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

I am a graduate of the Circle School and am currently attending the University of Colorado at Boulder, majoring in Environmental Design, which is comprised of Architecture, Urban Planning, Landscape Architecture and Design Studies. I am constantly amazed by how applicable my experiences at TCS are to my college life. Once you start college, it is up to you to choose your own classes, to attend them and to do the work required. The professors and faculty do not breath down your neck or send you reminders if you don't come to class or turn in assignments. The self-directed learning method used at TCS and Sudbury Schools in general directly prepared me to think for myself and take responsibility for all my actions relating to my studies and my life here. In terms of school-book knowledge I don't think I am lacking in anyway in terms of my ability to understand and complete assignments. Most of the students here who went to a traditional high school are struggling even more then those who didn't because they didn't retain any of the information they learned in school because it held no interest for them. College is about pursuing your interests and at TCS, you get a head start.


Posted February 23, 2011

"We change the world not by what we say or do, but as a consequence of what we have become." ~ Dr. David R. Hawkins The Circle school provides an environment for my daughter to become and exceptional human being. Our 10 year old daughter is thriving at the Circle School and we know that whatever she chooses to "become" she will have the best shot by attending this School. The staff are wonderful, open and loving, highly educated people who care deeply about and appreciate every aspect of her. A safe, loving and supportive school that allows her to pursue whatever passion(s) she has. We know that whatever makes her heart soar may end up being the one thing she was meant to become in this world. Knowing that she has the freedom to light that fire, in a capable and supportive environment any "academic" concerns we have quickly diminish because we know she'll be eager to master them. It will all be part of HER plan. Oh and yes, she will be a productive citizen participating in democracy too. Knowing our daughter, she may end up running for President ...and she'll probably win! I hope so. We could use someone like her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The philosophy of the school supports the development of 'real' people: self-motivated, self-determined, critically thinking, responsible and community orientated, in an atmosphere of mutual respect, loving support, and freedom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

My 6 yo is blossoming at the Circle School. My son is excited to go everyday and dreads days off, breaks and summer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

My two children have attended the Circle School for the last three and four years. My son has gone onto Community College and has a 3.8 GPA for his first semester. My daughter took college classes and has a 4.0 GPA. The school is a miracle. It has brilliant and caring leadership in combination with an amazing philosophy. I look forward to picking up my children everyday, just to see the smiling faces of the other students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

My daughter graduated from The Circle School last June, and began her adult life as a volunteer with Americorps, the national service Corps. This week she got her first evaluations, and they were excellent. The Circle School prepared her for excellence in Life, not just in academics, although she excels in that, too. And she 'owns' her success completely. All that she has done has been of her own choice, not forced or manipulated on her by well-meaning adults. It's truly her life and her success, and I couldn't be prouder of her or The Circle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2007

The Circle school is a unique school environment where children ages 4 though 19 practice life in a nurturing, dynamic, and stimulating environment where learning occurs naturally through self-chosen and self-directed activity. Students accept responsibility for their entire learning experience. They choose how to use school time, and may join 'corporations' of students with similar interests and can become 'certified' to use special supplies or equipment, go on field trips, check chores, etc. Students are not separated by age or grade. The school runs according to democratic principles with students regulating school policy through the 'school meeting.' Rules established by the 'school meeting' are enforced by a 'Judicial Committee' which is made up primarily of students, and on which all students of all ages participate on a rotating basis. Parents are highly involved through the school's 'Assembly.' Admission is inclusive. Tuition is based on income.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

If you've always wanted to homeschool (unschool) your child and circumstances don't allow it, this is the school for you. Caring staff, great environment. Graduates speak highly of their experiences at the Circle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

Really excellent alternative school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

The circle school is a sudbury school, based on the democratic model of the sudbury valley school. Kids from 4-18 attend, the school is run by the school meeting (each student and staff member gets one vote). Various 'corporations' made up of staff and students carry on the day-to-day activities of the school. Activities are completely self-directed - there are no required classes, and there is no required curriculum. I have two children at this school, and they are learning to become responsible members of their community, as well as developing a love of learning, and the skills to find out what they need to know about whatever they're interested in at the moment. The circle school is a fantastic school - i wish every kid could have an opportunity to experience its wonderful atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 4:00pm
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCACS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

210 Oakleigh Ave
Harrisburg, PA 17111
Website: Click here
Phone: (717) 564-6700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT