Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Upper Moreland Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 23, 2011

I really like this school. The academic programs are excellent and I'm always being challenged. The schools also focus on extracurricular activities as well. There are a lot of sports and clubs, not to mention a very good music program. When I graduate this year I won't forget UMMS!


Posted March 24, 2011

I graduated in 1958 and my children graduated, one in 1988 and one in 1993. I look forward to my grandson starting kindergarten in september 2011. Three generations in a fine school district.


Posted February 16, 2011

This is a wonderful school. I am a 6th grader and i was very nervous a first, but the incredible teachers helped me to a marvelous point. I love the school because it lets kids participate so much more than other schools. When I have to leave for 9th grade, I will never ever forget Upper Moreland Middle School.


Posted May 5, 2010

Upper Moreland Middle School has been a great place for both my children to learn, explore new horizons, and reach for the stars with the support of wonderful teachers and administrators. They have an opportunity to expand on not only their intellectual but also their musical and athletic interests, including swimming. It is not a very big school, but the students who attend have big dreams and big goals in life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

I love this school. The kids are very great. It has a great gifted program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2009

i agree the students are very cruel especially to students who come here from another school district and the teachers and other staff are very judgemental. when my son came here i brought him from a very troubled school so that he would have a better education, he was never a trouble maker until the teachers and other staff wouldnt help him with the cruel students this forced his hand and he had to defend himself and now has been punished every day for it. Just because this site may suggest 4 stars for a rating I recomend any future parents of students attending Upper Moreland any level should ask the current students their opinions because quite honestly I wish I would have. My child is very bright and because of his punishments the school feels neccessary he is not challenged to the best of his abilities. Ha, some great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

This is a alright school. However, I think that they should rethink many of their past decisions. Such as their gifted program and humanities testing. It s poorly jugged and they should consider that fact that they are denying some of their best students the chance of being in gifted or humanities since many kids clearly derisive to be in these things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2008

The school is wonderful, if only the children didn't have to be so cruel here. Never in all of the school districts I've attended have I met a crueler class of students. It's really a shame.


Posted January 24, 2006

Very committed to meeting the needs of individual children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

213 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

209 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

228 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

228 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

226 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

230 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

228 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

235 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female90%
Male87%
Black74%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)58%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female84%
Male78%
Black63%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)41%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)69%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female90%
Male84%
Black65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)53%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female90%
Male85%
Black87%
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)46%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female87%
Male82%
Black65%
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students70%
Female67%
Male72%
Black60%
Asian77%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students75%
Female86%
Male65%
Black50%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)35%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 71%
Black 10% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Hispanic 4% 9%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4000 Orangemans Rd
Hatboro, PA 19040
Phone: (215) 674-4185

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Middle Earth Academy
Warminster, PA



St David School
Willow Grove, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT