Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Upper Moreland Primary School

Public | K-2 & ungraded | 696 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 11, 2014

UMPS has been a wonderful experience for our daughter. She was previously in a private school so we were worried switching her to public. She is actually doing better in public. She loves going every day. The school is well run, very organized, and we feel like it is a safe environment. Mrs. King seems very experienced, accommodating, and good at keeping us parents in the loop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2013

My daughter is in UMPS Kindergarten. She is having a wonderful experience! Her teacher is FABULOUS! There are great specials each day. The school administration is approachable and a noticeable presence in the building, visiting and reading in classes. The Home and School Association plans lots of great activities for the students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

This schools' primary concern is not for the children at all, it is operated like a prison system so much so that as parents you feel like an outsider. The schools administrators are very rude and harsh, especially Lynn Briley .They were very unwelcoming to my son and my family from the very beginning until they had no other choice but to be cordial; and even then it was not genuine. The best part about this school was the bus driver, she was amazing and we really appreciate her. For some parents im sure they will have very different reviews for the school as they are more welcoming to certain families, but as far as I am concerned Upper Moreland Primary has a lot of life lessons to learn about how to treat all ppl the same, and focus more on the well being of the children than their attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

Very happy with the school. Faculty and staff are wonderful. So glad we live in this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

I have 2 kids at the Primary school and we couldn't be happier with their education. They have a great reading/math program. Lots of specials, one being technology that you don't find in all the schools. The art program and library are fantastic. Both of my children are excelling at UMPS. And the lunches are great, with lots of healthy choices. It's a really nice community, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

My daughter was enrolled in the 1st grade there back in the spring of 2008. Was a nightmare from the beginning. If you believe that your child may be a special needs student,don't send them there. They have no time or patience to deal with those students. My child has ADHD and the teacher kept calling us EVERY DAY with complaints about her progress. We explained to them she needed extra help. Fell on deaf ears and they were going to promote her to the 2nd grade when she was nowhere near ready to advance. Classrooms were too big for children with attention disorders. Social workers had no answers either. We wound up moving back to NE and my child had to repeat 1st grade anyway due to this lousy school screwing her up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2009

I absolutely love the primary school. The teachers care about the students and will inform you of your childs progress and behavior when the problem occurs. You are not surprised when report cards come.They have many activities for the family to come to. Pastries with Parents, Family skating and bingo are just to name a few.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2009

I have two kids that went to UMPS. We all had a great experience there, from the teachers, to the principal, the food service staff, and secretarial staff. Excellent! I couldn't ask for better! It is the same at the intermediate school as well, since they are literally connected. The school (including all of the above mentioned staff) are very organized and systematic. The security is top notch. The teachers are excellent, and they know just how to handle the kids. The principal does an excellent job running and maintaining the school and all of the teachers and staff. And most importantly, my kids loved it there!!! There is also aftercare until 6pm right there on the premises! I can say all of this because my children did go to another school that wasn't run quite like this, and there is no comparison! UPMS and UMIS are top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Black 6% 15%
Hispanic 6% 9%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3980 Orangemans Rd
Hatboro, PA 19040
Phone: (215) 325-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Mcdonald El School
Warminster, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT