Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Saucon Valley El School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2014

My child is in the elementary school and was tested into the gifted program. I am amazed at how individualized the program is for students with both gifts and needs. When my son had any area he needed extra help for they were quick to assist and meet with me. The teachers really seem to care about the sucess of students emotionally and academically. My son loves the art and library teachers too. He brings home actual art projects not just crafts/busy work. He likes that the library gives out new books any time he is finished. The librarians are so thoughtful with him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2013

My children started the 2012 school year at SV Elementary in Kindergarten and 2nd grades. My kids have grown so much in this school and look forward to each day. It is a beautiful school, the teachers are excellent and they still have music, gym, health, art and a huge library. I am so glad we moved into this school district. it may be primarily white students but my mixed, hispanic and white, children have not had any issues regarding their skin colors. The district is also financially diverse but the children do not seem to care that their friends house may be smaller or bigger than their own. The children being raised in this area are happy well rounded kids that are going to become great young adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2011

If you want to buy a house in this area be prepared to buy quick. There is a reason the real estate slump never really happened here -the school districlt is that good. The set up they have of one campus for k-12 means the resources are shared and there is a sense of community that is built for all the schools. The administration is responsive - the teachers we have had all have been seasoned, caring, quality professionals. I have a child with gifted special needs and thought it would be a battle - it has been a pleasure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2011

I have a serious problem , our bus stop was placed in front of a registered offenders home and SV will not move it. We have done everything and they still act like defiant little children. Sad. Very sad.{ I have children in high. middle & elementary school. }
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

We moved to this town for the great school reputation. We have been very pleased so far. The facility is top notch - brand new - state of the art equipment in the classrooms, climbing wall in the gym!, library is lovely. Teachers for us have been attentive, use the internet to communicate with weekly updates on what is happening in the classrom and provide immediate responses to parent questions. Parents are welcome in the classroom and volunteer in force. The district is big enough to have good resources - small enough that your child will not be lost in a grade size in the 1000's found in neighboring districts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

My children went to Saucon for a few weeks before we moved to Texas and in that short time, they were made to feel at home. Their teachers were exceptional and after we moved away, the whole class (both of them) made cards that the students decorated themselves telling my kids how much they were missed. I was so sad to take my kids out of that school :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Saucon elementary school is a safe and loving environment where my daughter has trully blossomed as a student of education. The school staff continues to establish great communication with the the parents regarding the students everyday progress and future events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

This school has a very positive atmosphere. Parents are involved and strive to make the school even better. I have found the students to be polite, nice, happy kids, eager to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

Awesome school and wonderful staff! My child has been a student for the past 6 years and I have been pleased with every year. I am also a part-time substitute teacher and have enjoyed interacting with the staff and students. I am thoroughly pleased with all areas, especially the principals' office and the way in which they handle discipline, safety and daily crisis. I would recommend this district to anyone who is considering a move to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

Our family relocated to Hellertown from New Jersey and it was the best thing that we ever did. The school that my son was in lost almost all of it's extra curricular activities. I love the fact that Saucon Valley Elementary offers a variety of programs for the kids to participate in. My son has had an Accommodation 504 plan since he was in the 1st grade (he is now in 4th grade)due to his ADHD and when we moved here in July '06, his teacher and guidance counselor were more than happy to go through his plan to make any necessary revisions. The school is very attentive to my son's needs and I greatly appreciate their patience with him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

I would highly recommend this school. We moved here from a well-regarded school district in New Jersey and found the academics here to be the same or better. The principal seems open minded and progressive. I am not sure about special needs children though, the NJ system had more inclusion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2006

My kids love Saucon Valley! I would highly recommend this campus to all parents. The class sizes are perfect, the focus is on learning, but also extra-curricular activities are high as well. Lots of opportunities for parent involvement also. And the values taught are priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

This school has every means of handeling an situation that comes there way with children, from mental disorders,learning problems,and physical needs thsi school goes above and beyond the call of duty. i reccomend anyone looking to relocate,think about the suacon valley school distric when relocating.you child will benifit from well educated skilled teachers this school employees, the safety and the education of these children is saucon valleys number one priority, each month this school teaches about a different virtue, something other schools need to put in to consideration, everyone in the school is polite and kind due to the strong teachings about (respect)and(responsibility)dont by the school as a whole. thank you for continuing to give my son the great education every child deserves.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

166 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

166 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

172 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

173 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

175 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

144 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

144 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

149 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female89%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female88%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)35%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female93%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)86%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female88%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)79%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students89%
Female91%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)73%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female92%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)52%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female90%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)26%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students87%
Female97%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)46%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 71%
Hispanic 4% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 2% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2085 Polk Valley Rd
Hellertown, PA 18055
Phone: (610) 838-9331

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Theresa School
Hellertown, PA



Donegan El School
Bethlehem, PA



Holy Infancy School
Bethlehem, PA


Freemansburg El School
Freemansburg, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT