Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Blessed John Paul Ii Elementary School

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hermitage

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $105,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2012

Not a happy alumni. Poor discipline and not much commitment from the teachers, little respect for those from outside the parish. It was behind the times 20 years ago, it's probably more so now.


Posted August 14, 2011

My children attended Notre Dame Preschool and absolutely loved the teacher and her program! They were so well prepared for kiindergarten and came home every day happy and could not wait to return. There isn't another preschool in the area that can compare! Now the rest of the school--that's another story!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2010

Both of my children attended Notre Dame preschool, and even that ended up being a bit of a disappointment. I had such high expectations from what others told me about the program, but I left there feeling a bit misled. Originally we had planned on continuting them through all the way, but after many, many discussions, we opted for public schools instead, without a single regret. The financial aid, and level of education is EXTREMELY HYPED UP, but my advice is, check all the facts before comitting to anything. There is loads of parent involvement....because it is required! Bottom line, why pay tuition when you're already paying school taxes. Especially with the local public schools levels at least equal, if not superior (like w/the example of Hickory). Once told, the GOOD teachers are at public schools with good pay...the ones who can't get jobs teach private. Hummm...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

My three children attend NDS, We are very impressed with the level of academics, the family atmosphere, the expectations of our children and the overall experience that our children have experienced over the last several years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

The education was not of a quality one would expect from a private school. My children earned straight A grades at Notre Dame without problem, but the education material was so far behind that of the local public schools that one was taken back a grade and the other put in special education when we left Notre Dame
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

As a parent of a current student, the school provides an average quality education and a good Catholic education. We expected higher quality of teaching and have been greatly disappointed in mathematics preparation. There seems to be limited oversight by school management. There is no foreign language offered and the emphasis for extra-curricular activities is sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

My daughter is only going into pre-k. She went last year for preschool and I couldn't be happier. Her teacher is absolutely wonderful. The structure is more than I expected, and from what I understand the entire school is this way. The level of parent envolvement depends on the parents. This school has open arms to all parents! They have a program called Script that allows you to buy gift cards to all types of stores from the school and it helps you put towards your tuition. I love this school and I look forward to my child's next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

I graduated from Notre Dame this year, and I can teel you, I was crying. It is an outstanding place of learning with caring teachers and an outstanding academic program.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 71%
Black 2% 15%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 9%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Erie
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2335 Highland Road
Hermitage, PA 16148
Phone: (724) 342-2205

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Artman El School
Hermitage, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT