Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
216 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Blessed John Paul Ii Elementary School 2

Posted May 04, 2015
- a parent
I have gone back and forth this entire school year to whether or not I should write a review about this school. Well, the day has come that I have chosen to write one. I give this school two stars only because it is a faith-based school and they do a good job at educating the students on that particular subject. However, if it weren't for that, I wouldn't even rate it. This is our first and last year here. The academics do not compare to other area schools. If you don't have the right last name or if you, as a parent, didn't attend this school growing up, you will not be treated on the same level as those who did attend. The bullying is not handled properly. Teachers and principal are biased. Again, wrong last name, not the place for you to be. Save your money!

Blessed John Paul Ii Elementary School 1

Posted January 23, 2012
- a community member
Not a happy alumni. Poor discipline and not much commitment from the teachers, little respect for those from outside the parish. It was behind the times 20 years ago, it's probably more so now.


Blessed John Paul Ii Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2011
- a parent
My children attended Notre Dame Preschool and absolutely loved the teacher and her program! They were so well prepared for kiindergarten and came home every day happy and could not wait to return. There isn't another preschool in the area that can compare! Now the rest of the school--that's another story!!!!!

Blessed John Paul Ii Elementary School 3

Posted June 14, 2010
- a parent
Both of my children attended Notre Dame preschool, and even that ended up being a bit of a disappointment. I had such high expectations from what others told me about the program, but I left there feeling a bit misled. Originally we had planned on continuting them through all the way, but after many, many discussions, we opted for public schools instead, without a single regret. The financial aid, and level of education is EXTREMELY HYPED UP, but my advice is, check all the facts before comitting to anything. There is loads of parent involvement....because it is required! Bottom line, why pay tuition when you're already paying school taxes. Especially with the local public schools levels at least equal, if not superior (like w/the example of Hickory). Once told, the GOOD teachers are at public schools with good pay...the ones who can't get jobs teach private. Hummm...

Blessed John Paul Ii Elementary School 4

Posted September 03, 2009
- a parent
My three children attend NDS, We are very impressed with the level of academics, the family atmosphere, the expectations of our children and the overall experience that our children have experienced over the last several years.


Blessed John Paul Ii Elementary School 1

Posted August 07, 2008
- a parent
The education was not of a quality one would expect from a private school. My children earned straight A grades at Notre Dame without problem, but the education material was so far behind that of the local public schools that one was taken back a grade and the other put in special education when we left Notre Dame

Blessed John Paul Ii Elementary School 3

Posted July 17, 2007
- a parent
As a parent of a current student, the school provides an average quality education and a good Catholic education. We expected higher quality of teaching and have been greatly disappointed in mathematics preparation. There seems to be limited oversight by school management. There is no foreign language offered and the emphasis for extra-curricular activities is sports.

Blessed John Paul Ii Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2005
- a parent
My daughter is only going into pre-k. She went last year for preschool and I couldn't be happier. Her teacher is absolutely wonderful. The structure is more than I expected, and from what I understand the entire school is this way. The level of parent envolvement depends on the parents. This school has open arms to all parents! They have a program called Script that allows you to buy gift cards to all types of stores from the school and it helps you put towards your tuition. I love this school and I look forward to my child's next school year.


Blessed John Paul Ii Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2004
- a student
I graduated from Notre Dame this year, and I can teel you, I was crying. It is an outstanding place of learning with caring teachers and an outstanding academic program.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blessed John Paul Ii Elementary School
2335 Highland Road, Hermitage, PA  16148
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (724) 342-2205
Last modified Blessed John Paul Ii Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top