Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Joan Of Arc Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 29, 2015
- a parent
Students are encouraged to keep going in the face of adversity..... Just ask any of the parents of the varsity girls basketball team!

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 29, 2015
- a parent
Catholic schools are all about honesty, integrity and fairness.......and a whole lot more than just the education basics.


St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 5

Posted June 29, 2015
- a parent
St Joan of Arc School is an excellent environment for your child to flourish! The teachers are very caring and the school offers a well-rounded curriculum. The school's technology is very up to date and even the preK classes have smartboards! Even PreK4 full day has Spanish, art, gym, computer and library classes. The school has a librarian and various other specialized teachers. Sister Eileen, the principal keeps all parents up to date with daily emails. Parents are always welcomed to school events and the PTO is very active in the school. I always feel welcomed in the school. I'm so glad my husband and I chose to send our children there. We sacrifice to make this a reality for them.

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 29, 2015
- a parent
I think the teachers here are phenomenal! Your child will emerge from each grade a much more responsible, and better well rounded person because of what they learn from their teachers. They set a great example of Catholic values each day and teach so much more than the basic curriculum.

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 29, 2015
- a parent
Students are well prepared for high school and beyond. After attending St. Joan of Arc, they develop sound study skills and know how to do research and write well-written papers. 5th grade projects really emphasize these skills at the elementary level. Even my first grader is presenting topics/projects to his class. I wish I had such sound public speaking skills developed at such a young age.


St Joan Of Arc Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 29, 2015
- a parent
Stents are taught to respect from the prek3 to eigth grades. Disrespect is not tolerated.

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 29, 2015
- a parent
School students regularly do service projects, collect food and supplies, etc. for those less fortunate. They have bingos and onter fun games like Math games to support the Missions of poor countries. All students are welcomed and nurtured.

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2015
- a parent
St. Joan is a great school! Children receive an education that prepares them academically for high school and beyond, as well as wonderful Christian values. Small, family feel to the school but plenty of extra-curricular activities are offered after school as well as during the school day. We couldn't be happier with our experience at the school.
2 people found this helpful


St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 1

Posted March 21, 2015
- a parent
Poorly trained staff and teachers. Underfunded school but the Principle gets to go on a Junket to Europe paid by the PTA !!
6 people found this helpful

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 1

Posted February 27, 2015
- a parent
The school has a reputation of being lax when it comes to the issue of discipline, especially the current principal and administration. It is well known, even at the Diocesan level that there is not strong leadership at the school. I have found from personal experience that my children received a better education and much more Christ-like attitude at the local public school system than while attending St Joan.
4 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School
329 West Areba Avenue, Hershey, PA  17033
(717) 533-2854
Last modified St Joan Of Arc Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Joan Of Arc Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top