Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Hershey, PA
Students enrolled: 336

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 5

Posted November 26, 2014
- a parent
We made the best decision by sending our child to St. Joan of Arc School. The parents are so welcoming to new people in this school. The principal sends out daily emails every evening which keep parents in the loop as to what is occurring in school. There are plenty of after school activities to choose from for your child, from sports, Lego Club, Science Explorers, and Choir. The classroom sizes are small which adds to the already amazing learning experience. New parents can always go on a tour of the school and learn about all this wonderful place has to offer. The Director of Development is very knowledgeable and an amazing resource at St. Joan of Arc.

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 5

Posted November 26, 2014
- a parent
After much careful consideration, we chose St. Joan of Arc School for my children when we moved to the area 3 years ago. They have a strong track record of academics and a warm atmosphere rooted in the Catholic faith. I am kept up to date on what's happening within the school through daily emails from the principal. A broad range of activities are available and small class sizes provide more individual attention. They leverage technology for learning through Smartboards, iPads, online resources, etc. I know my children are growing academically, socially, and spiritually at St. Joan and would encourage prospective parents to consider this school.


St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 5

Posted November 26, 2014
- a parent
We are thrilled with Saint Joan of Arc School! Academics are a top priority and excellence in education and moral formation is demanded of all students. Individualized instruction is incorporated into all aspects of the school by state certified, caring teachers. The school has access to a plethora of technology resources (smart boards, iPads, apple tvs etc) and extracurricular activities (foreign language, sports and wellness programs, music instruction) which are comparable or better then most area public schools. Our child enjoys school and is challenged in both academics and spiritually.

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2014
- a parent
I cannot begin to express how happy I am with both the Teachers and the Administration. They really seem to care about the children. This is a very good school and worth the investment in a child's education. The principal, teachers and staff are very professional. It is a small school and yet it offers students choices. I would highly recommend parents to consider this school if they want an excellent private school education along with the freedom to have their children pray and learn good solid Christian values

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 3

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
If you want to have your child study in the religious environment with majority of untrained and non -certified teachers and a Principal who is a paleolithic fossil, then welcome to this underfunded and under resourced school, stuck in the Nineteenth century.Compared to the Derry Township School nearby, this school is stuck in a time-warp.


St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has ADD, which is difficult enough at home without introducing her to the school environment. After an unsuccessful matriculation at a nearby twice-the-price Christian school whose administration could not be bothered to tune into her as an individual, SJA faculty took the time to work with us on a holistic approach to teaching and disciplining her. The team of teachers, guidance counselors, parents and principal took time to thoroughly tune into her needs. My daughter is flourishing so much better. It is truly a family atmosphere at SJA. They welcomed us (a bunch of non-Catholics!) into the family. I will forever be grateful to this school for helping to turn my daughter's behavior around. Principal is down-to-earth and wonderful to work with. She is a lovely nun who communicates with almost daily emails to ensure parents are apprised of details. She is dedicated to caring about SJA, all its students, and happenings within the diocese. The events and student offerings for extracurricular activities are varied and numerous. Even the staff knows how to have fun. If I could recommend one thing for improvement: more frequent website updates. SJA is a true gem of a school!

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 3

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
St. Joan has some strong points. The classes are small. The community of kids is pretty tight. But, the teachers were not very impressive. My son had ADHD and the teachers were terribly uninformed and difficult to work with. They were generally not the easiest to deal with interpersonally and picked on my son and others with similar issues. They are not really equipped to handle learning issues adequately.

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
This is a great Catholic School. Teaches core subjects with certified teachers but also includes Christian values and traditions. Educates both body and mind with a family style atmosphere. Visit our school today and see how your children can benefit from smaller classes with a caring, nurturing staff.


St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 4

Posted July 08, 2008
- a parent
The school has a small, family feel to it which is nice. A lot of parental involvement required, which we don't mind, and we are happy to see that the mandatory fundraising requirements are just rolled into tuition fo next year, if you choose to do so. Communication is sometimes a challenge with changes to school calendar, events, etc.

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 03, 2008
- a parent
The only good thing about sja is that the classroom as small. It needs a new leadership and other activities for the children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School
329 West Areba Avenue, Hershey, PA  17033
(717) 533-2854
Last modified St Joan Of Arc Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Joan Of Arc Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top