Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

21 reviews of this school


St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2015
- a parent
St. Joan is a great school! Children receive an education that prepares them academically for high school and beyond, as well as wonderful Christian values. Small, family feel to the school but plenty of extra-curricular activities are offered after school as well as during the school day. We couldn't be happier with our experience at the school.

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 1

Posted March 21, 2015
- a parent
Poorly trained staff and teachers. Underfunded school but the Principle gets to go on a Junket to Europe paid by the PTA !!


St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 1

Posted February 27, 2015
- a parent
The school has a reputation of being lax when it comes to the issue of discipline, especially the current principal and administration. It is well known, even at the Diocesan level that there is not strong leadership at the school. I have found from personal experience that my children received a better education and much more Christ-like attitude at the local public school system than while attending St Joan.

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2015
- a community member
St. Joan is an awesome school with caring, committed teachers who teach not only the basics but life lessons. They teach good habits such as solid study skills to help your child flourish in any high school environment. Class sizes are small and there really is a family feel to the school. There are many evening activities to bring the whole school community together. If you want your child to feel nurtured and not lost, have them attend St. Joan.

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 1

Posted February 14, 2015
- a parent
A very underwhelming and poorly funded school compared to the Nearby Derry Township school which is one of the best schools in the state. Do your child a favor and put them in a school where they have a chance better chance to be successful in life.


St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 1

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
Not a good school if you want your precious child to compete in the modern world instead of the "Catholic " world of religious fundamentalism and the 18th Century values.

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 1

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
If you're looking for a Christian education for your child, this is not the place. Your child would be more likely to have a teacher who has a relationship with Jesus by sending them to public schools in Hershey. Additionally, St. Joan inadequately prepares students academically. We know many families who have suffered a great deal by sending their children to St. Joan, especially regarding the vast bullying issues (often perpetuated by the teachers and administration). While we have a great appreciation for St. Joan of Arc Church, this school is the last place we would send our children. (Aside: It might be worth noting that several negative reviews have been removed from this site, with a stream of glowing reviews posted in the week immediately following the date the original negative reviews were posted. Is it possible that the administration is "reporting" the negative reviews and then planting positive reviews in their place to keep enrollment and funding up? It wouldn't surprise me if this is the case as the administration generally goes to great lengths to cover up any problems that arise within the school's walls.)

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
The school is small, yet you'll see students from here listed as winners in local writing and speech contests, etc. Academics are strong, but there is also an emphasis on the arts, technology, and of course, morals, manners and spirituality - truly an education for the whole person. The environment is nurturing and welcoming. The principal knows every child and family, and is very accessible. When it's time to put on a school performance, the entire class is included - a great lesson in teamwork, practice, inclusiveness and using your gifts. I have been so pleased with this school!


St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2015
- a parent
St Joan of Arc School is an excellent environment for your child to flourish! The teachers are very caring and the school offers a well-rounded curriculum. The school's technology is very up to date and even the preK classes have smartboards! Even PreK4 full day has Spanish, art, gym, computer and library classes. The school has a librarian and various other specialized teachers. Sister Eileen, the principal keeps all parents up to date with daily emails. Parents are always welcomed to school events and the PTO is very active in the school. I always feel welcomed in the school. I'm so glad my husband and I chose to send our children there. We could not be happier.

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School 5

Posted November 26, 2014
- a parent
We made the best decision by sending our child to St. Joan of Arc School. The parents are so welcoming to new people in this school. The principal sends out daily emails every evening which keep parents in the loop as to what is occurring in school. There are plenty of after school activities to choose from for your child, from sports, Lego Club, Science Explorers, and Choir. The classroom sizes are small which adds to the already amazing learning experience. New parents can always go on a tour of the school and learn about all this wonderful place has to offer. The Director of Development is very knowledgeable and an amazing resource at St. Joan of Arc.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School
329 West Areba Avenue, Hershey, PA  17033
(717) 533-2854
Last modified St Joan Of Arc Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Joan Of Arc Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top