Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lower Moreland High School 5

Posted November 07, 2015
- a parent
Having had two sons go through the LMHS system- one just graduated LMHS- Both are doing amazing in College!!! - One is actually now attending Harvard Law while the other is in another Ivy league college, Columbia U. (And no he didn't graduate top of the class either) LMHS academics are unsurpassed!!! They really prepare you for college - amazing teachers and overall good support and a nice extra curricular selection. My only negative - I would love to see the administration be more active in the kid's life's though attending their shows, fundraisers and sporting events- so sad that even the Principal and the kids roles models never attend a student performance, unless asked to give a speech... - their Music Dept. is unsurpassed! Many awards! Again, would love to see more support from the teachers and administration at these amazing activities! Go LIONS!

Lower Moreland High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 07, 2015
- a parent
Mr. McKee was a special person and Principal - I wish all future leaders of the Jr. High and High School will be as amazing as he was. Also - No-one has ever filled the shoes of Gail Garber at Pine Rd - those two were the best of the best!!!!!! Be all love you and thank you for helping make your kids the successes they are today!


Lower Moreland High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 07, 2015
- a parent
Excellent staff for the most part! Except for a few teachers- LMHS staff rocks! Some of the older teachers have tenure and really need to retire, the staff in general is amazing!

Lower Moreland High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 07, 2015
- a parent
Although I know we give more homework then the other local school districts - ie. - Summer projects, etc... - it definitely in the long run helps prepare them for real life and they end up ahead of the others!

Lower Moreland High School 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a community member
This is a great school no doubt about it- unfortunately, there are many kids who are underprepared for it- I think many parents these days think that just because they can afford to live here that their kids should all be successful in school as well- however that is not how it works in the real world- not everyone should get a gold star, extra cookie at lunch, special treatment, etc. Based on some of the comments below, it seems to me that parents need to do a better job of parenting and taking responsibility for their children instead of doing what many do these days and that is to pass the responsibility off on others (schools, teachers, etc.). When I was growing up, there were plenty of people who stole, bullied, dealt drugs, etc. What else do you expect? There is money here and kids will be kids! It is no different anywhere else affluent or otherwise- some better, many much worse. The difference is that with our generation I think we were MUCH tougher than today's kids- and I think that is because 'parenting' has changed. Kids no longer have the ability to stand up for themselves, they are whiny, spoiled, not accountable for their actions, etc. Glad I am an adult now.


Lower Moreland High School 3

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
The high school is in denial about the drug problem that is going on in their school. The bullying is an issue with the parents and the students. The drama club has had their favorites since middle school. The school could improve with peer education and programs with bullying.

Lower Moreland High School 4

Posted November 04, 2013
- a community member
LMHS offers some great academic programs. The English teachers are excellent, and the students graduate with a strong knowledge of and interest in literature. It also has a great music program with an AP course in Music Theory. A student who is a musician has many opportunities for study and performance. Overall, a good, solid academic preparation for college and the world beyond.

Lower Moreland High School 3

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
ok school, lots of drud dealing going on. weed, adderal other adhd meds are sold by kids who actually suppose to take them. Lots of disfunctional kids who cant deal with programm. Help only available for those who fail classe. They deffinetelly need good tutoring program.


Lower Moreland High School 4

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
Top notch music program. The music teachers are wonderful. Great academic program.However, It should be a good transition from middle school to High school. I am not really sure if students are prepare for the transition. I know that 9th grade is hard and some students are not really prepared for that. I wish the administration should be aware and focus on this issue. I don't like the stress that a 9th grader encounters when they go to high school.

Lower Moreland High School 1

Posted January 17, 2013
- a parent
Very bad counsling and very bad admininistrative handling of information flow to parents. School utilizes the legal system when they need it. My son needed assistance for a learning disability and they pushed him thru four years without teaching any corrective measures. They covered themselves buy holding regular meetings and documenting there efforts. They gave him high grades and pushed him along and then dumped him upon graduation. Without any guidence for the future. He attended a college above his abilities, and needless to say he dropped out due to being overwhelmed. He no longer had the Lower morland push him along at his side. We hold the school responsable for this.

Nearby schools

Lower Moreland High School
555 Red Lion Rd, Huntingdon Valley, PA  19006
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (215) 938-0220
Last modified Lower Moreland High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top