Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Valley Christian School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Huntingdon...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $350,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 13, 2012

I love VCS i have two of my kids going there my son Michael Brown and my daughter Faith Brown and they love this school my son Michael has been in this school for five years now
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

Our child is in kindergarten this year at VCS, and we have been very pleased with the education he is receiving and the teaching and administrative staff. The personalized and caring attention is great, and they really seem to care about educating the child on all fronts, not just the "three Rs." Compared with other Christian schools in the area, I believe VCS is much stronger academically. They are close to finalizing their accreditation, which I find to be an important validation of the quality of their program. We looked at several others schools in the area, including the highly rated Abington public schools, another Christian school, and another private school, and found that VCS was not just the best value by a mile, but also very strong academically. I empathize with the frustrated parent below, but am also curious as to the other side of the story. Based upon other stories I've heard from other VCS parents, I know the school has worked very closely with children who may need special help for things like dyslexia, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

Epic disappointment... Our child attended Montessori , and when ready to attend 1st grade, we decided to try this school after researching many in the area. The structure of Montessori is different from this school, yet only three weeks into the school year, they told us we had to take our child to another school, and began pressuring us to do so post-haste... Our child has some speech delay, but when faced with this challenge, they give up on your child faster than you could possibly imagine. After only 3 weeks, we are expected to pick up shop and move him immediately, eating the costs of 200.00 in school clothing etc.. as well as trying to find a new school asap. Only 3 weeks at the school and they have shown us that they cannot work with our child, but even worse, that they are not even willing to
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

My children have attended VCS for several years now, and my fourth, and youngest, child will be entering soon. I cannot say enough positive things about VCS. My oldest child, who has a learning disability, thrives here, along with my other children. The children are consistently doing work at least a grade level above their public school counterparts. This has been, and continues to be, money well spent for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

VCS has assisted us in raising a child of God with a love for life and a love for learning. The strong academics at VCS are Christ centered with a focus on integrating the Word of God in every aspect of learning and life. Trusted with the care of my child for 6 hours a day are Christian teachers that love, nurture and educate our child with the care reserved for family. This care extends to all aspects of learning that includes the body, mind and heart. I especially enjoy the time that I am able to spend at school assisting in the classroom. It is quite a rewarding experience to be able to interact with those that are so influential in the development of the character that will guide my son onward in life. We are truly blessed for such a wonderful son and especially thankful to God for the VCS family that assists us everyday in raising our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

I love everything about Valley Christian School. The teachers and Adminstrator are passionate about teaching children and do an excellent job of focusing on all aspects of each child's development. They give the children the good news of the Gospel everyday through their words and actions. The Bible cirriculum is solid and relevant. The academic subjects are challenging and are taught from a practical application and biblical worldview standpoint which makes the children love learning and creates good thinkers. There are many outside activities that the kids can participate in. They also have a service focus which teaches the students to think about others and their needs. There are creative opportunities throughout the year for the students to show love and mercy to others in the name of Jesus. The parent-partnership is wonderful and creates a real family/community environment. This is definitely a GREAT SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

This school is a true blessing for any parent. My daughter loves it. She loves her teacher, Mrs. Wenger. More importantly than the strong academic curriculum, the strong Christian foundation is wonderful. I would recommend this school to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

Valley Christian School has been a great blessing to our daughter and family. She is encourage and motivated to do her best. The teachers and staff are sincerely concerned about the children in the care. They are excellent role models for her to look up to. The other families are wonderful people to get to know. I can't wait for her to get home to find out what's up at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2005

Great staff and faculty! Beautiful campus, wonderful sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 74%
Black 19% 16%
Hispanic 9% 7%
Asian 6% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2364 Huntingdon Pike
Huntingdon Valley, PA 19006
Phone: (215) 947-4581

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Albert the Great School
Huntingdon Valley, PA




Greenberg Joseph School
Philadelphia, PA



Rydal East School
Huntingdon Valley, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT