Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Villa Maria Academy Lower School

Private | K-8 | 358 students

We are best known for intentional leadership program.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2013

Our family has been absolutely thrilled with our decision to send our two girls to Villa Maria! They both have very different personalities, yet it is the perfect fit for both of them. There is a definite sense of family and pride at Villa. We have been in schools where that is absent, and it really does make a huge difference in the morale of the teachers and families. There is a strong emphasis on incorporating technology into the classroom and projects which will help our girls stay competitive as they advance in school. We also LOVE the sports programs available at Villa! The coaching and competition has been terrific. Being on various teams helped my older daughter (who transferred to Villa in 5th grade) make friends and get to know faculty members. She instantly felt like she was welcome, belonged, and a part of something special. Plus, it is very convenient to have all practices take place right after school on campus... no more rushing dinner in between 5:30 and 5:45 to race to 3 different evening practices! :) All in all, transferring our girls to Villa was one of the best decisions we've ever made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

The transfer of our two girls to VMA was seamless. We have seen tremendous positive changes in both of them, mostly their confidence level and happiness. They are thriving academically, socially, and spiritually. Spanish and dance are two new classes that they didn't have at their previous school and they love both. We like that there are many after school activities and sports to choose from starting at a young age. This is a nurturing and encouraging environment. The principle, teachers and staff are wonderful! We are so thankful that our girls are able to have this experience . We LOVE Villa Maria Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2012

I observed this school last semester as part of my college curriculum and was very pleased with how it went. Good teachers, smart kids, and a professional administration


Posted March 20, 2012

A wonderful, unassuming gem of a school. My daughter loves each and every day at Villa!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

This is a wonderful school. The academics are challenging. It is a very warm and welcoming environment. They work hard at really individualizing each girls experience to meet their needs. One of their main focuses is leadership. I have seen many positive changes in the confidence of my daughter since she started in VMA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

VMA has an emphasis on technology in EVERY classroom subject. This combined with a Christ centered atmosphere is preparing VMA girls to be their generation's ethical leaders of tomorrow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

The principal is wonderful and the girls absolutely adore her. She's fun, and positive and motivating and you get the sense she REALLY loves what she does. Academically, I think its great for my 2 girls. Are there others which are even better academically, I'm sure . . . There always are! BUT, they have definitely challenged my girls and have done so without neglecting their emotional & developmental needs. My oldest's class has been doing a national on-line computer-based math challenge and her class is 1st in the nation! The older girls are so impressive too that's what sold me during my 'Visit to Villa' day. They are so poised and confident. It's really astounding. I had to keep reminding myself that they were only in 7th & 8th grade. They really do encourage the girls to be strong and confident and 'whole' which is critical in developing true leaders!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

This is a wonderful school! The girls are all well-behaved and get good grades
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 15%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 9%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • Forensics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Sister Susan Joseph, IHM
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • All girls
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (610) 647-6403

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Field hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club
  • Forensics club
  • Girls on the run
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Villa Maria Academy Lower School prides itself on fostering a love for learning, a dedication to 21st Century teaching and learning, and aids in the creation of confident, accomplished young leaders who are confortable leading their peers and others to become their very best.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$9000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Villa Maria Academy High School
Academy of Notre Dame de Namur
Episcopal Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1140 King Road
Immaculata, PA 19345
Website: Click here
Phone: (610) 644-4864

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Sts. Peter & Paul School
West Chester, PA




Chesterbrook Academy
West Chester, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT