Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christian Fellowship Academy of Greensburg

Private | PK-12 | 50 students

We have a Christ centered program preparing students for the professional world
 
 

 
 

Living in Jeannette

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $93,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $570.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

CFA has been an answer to prayer. We are so thankful for the education our children our getting. The teachers are so loving and dedicated and involved. They are constantly going the extra mile to teach and nurture and shape our kids into the best versions of themselves. I recommend this school to everyone I know. It truly is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

My sons go to this school and we've made sure they've gone to Christian Fellowship Academy through the thick and the thin of our financial hardships. When we had nothing, CFA helped us ensure they had the stability the school offered. Now we are stable and we give back every chance we get! The heart of my sons shows the heart of the school extends far beyond simple grades. They are smart, present well in public, and we receive constant compliments for their behavior. What this school instructs is in alignment with our home's core beliefs. My wife and I are Christians; born again and in service to the Master. I hold an MBA and my wife is a professional writer, we have high standards and Christian Fellowship Academy meets them. Student population growth is well above growth projections and the curriculum is enhance by special programs... my son was stripping DNA from fruit this February and my kindergartner was learning the life cycles of plants while studying germination. A student just can't get this experience in public school when you have 40 children per classroom!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

Our children have attended the Christian Fellowship Academy for more than eight years. Our two oldest sons graduated from CFA and the youngest son is currently in seventh grade. Our children have received a quality Christian education. The two CFA graduates were academically prepared for college. The oldest has recently graduated from California University with a 3.87 GPA in the medical field of speech communication disorders. The other graduate has taken his love of serving others in another direction and he is attending college while serving in the U.S. Air Force. Our youngest son has attended CFA for eight years. As he has attended the Academy since the age of four, we can witness the difference how the smaller classes and the family atmosphere has better equipped him with significantly superior reading, math and computer skills. Our family highly recommends the Christian Fellowship Academy to every family who desires a quality, academically superior Christian education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

We've had our children enrolled at CFA for 6 years, so I'm speaking from experience when I say they provide a premium quality, Christ-centered education, family values, and individual attention to each student. My thoughts on how CFA is run: They have a great system for addressing any issues or questions parents might have, and they do so in a timely and sensitive manner. The principal has been with the school for over 20 years and has a very good handle on what is going on within the walls of the school at all times - a must for any school that we choose for our children! The teachers are excellent, the academic program is strong, and they have wonderful service project outreaches to help others. Many students have gone on to prestigious higher learning institutions, including Duquesne, West Point, and Carnegie Mellon, and have become chiropractors, business leaders, engineers, chefs, teachers, entertainers, and writers. I highly recommend Christian Fellowship Academy; they nurture their students academically and spiritually. To see your child mature like that is priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2011

This school has virtually imploded losing over 100 students from '10-'11 to '11-'12. enrollment is down to about 25+or- students. Pre-K is closed and the high school program closed this year. Most of the teachers have left as did the principal from the past several years ... we can only speculate as to the cause, but how can that many committed Christians bail out on a school and "all" be wrong? This once exciting and thriving school is a shell of it's former self with only die-hard supporters of a failing philosophy still on board. My opinion is that there are several viable and still thriving Christian schools, including high schools in Westmoreland County from which to choose, so, why bother with one that is on the way out. Christ will purge those who follow a man and don't remain faithful to HIM (winnow the wheat from the chaff).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

If you are looking for a great Christian school for your children; look no further! CFA has an excellent reputation within the Westmoreland Co. education community and a thirty-year track record of integrity and proven experience. Graduates have attended Carnegie-Mellon, Duquesne, West Point Academy, Grove City, Geneva, Gannon, Appalachian State, Penn State, Univ. of Pittsburgh, and others. Individualized instruction/attention and family-like atmosphere are distinctives of this Christ-centered learning institution with a thirty-year legacy to back it up. .
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 18, 2011

My son has been attending Christian Fellowship Academy & High School for 5 years. He is a solid "A" student and has had a wonderful experience at CFA&HS. In my years of curriculum design, I know that everyone has their own opinion of course design, however as an instructor, I can tell you the curriculum is steadfast and solid with a strong Christ-centered focus to keep my son focused on what is important in life... being a Christian servant. To top it all off, his teachers are wonderfully caring and share Christ s love regularly. In addition, our students have won many regional awards in both academics and sports in recent years. If you re looking for a solid and steadfast Christian school in Westmoreland County then Christian Fellowship Academy & High School is a great place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

Excellent school, excellent teaching and administration staff. School exists to create leaders that have a biblical worldview. I am thankful that my children have a REAL Christian Education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

Attended for about one week. Not exactly a high quality school, seemed to be more of a Sunday school in the guise of an actual school. Information was vastly distorted in the name of religion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2008

Christian Fellowship Academy and High School has been a blessing to me and my three children. The teachers and staff honestly care about each and every student. The atmosphere creates self confidence and sparks creativity in every child. I was so happy that I could send my children to a school that encouraged them to walk with Christ, and that promoted my own conservative values. This school will always hold a place in my children's hearts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

What a blessing Christian Fellowship Academy and High School has been to me and my family. The Lord led us to visit the school over 3 years ago. My daughter was to start middle school and we were concerned about the influences that would be upon her as well as the world view on academics. What a challenge the first year was; she was behind a year and a half from the public school. She was able to catch up and still make high honor roll. We have been so pleased with the quality Christian Education. We are also pleased with the sports available. We are also beginning to add in other opportunities for the students to challenge themselves with. CFA and High School is continuing to grow and meet the needs of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2007

The academics are poor, the sports, music and art programs are very weak, and the parent involvement is less than adaquit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

Our three children attend the Christian Fellowship Academy. Our youngest child began attending CFA at the age of four. My older children were in a public school. When our family began to really notice the difference this Christian school was making in the spiritual and educational development of our four year old, we started considering the possibility of transferring our older children to the Christian Fellowship Academy and High School. Yes, now all of our children are attending the school. Our kids love the school. They love the close knit atmosphere of the faculty and students. As parents we know that our children are receiving a quality, spirit filled education. The curriculum is challenging and the expectations are high. Christian character is instilled into the lives of the students. The school also welcomes and encourages parents to participate in the many school activities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2006

My daughter started attending Christian Fellowship in the 7th grade. She is now a sophomore in college. My husband and I know it was one of the best decisions the Lord ever told us to make. The quality of the education our daughter received exceeded our expectations. The curriculum is tough and it far exceeded public school instruction. Getting used to the grading system and the advanced curriculum was the most difficult part of our transition. Once our daughter settled in, things went very well. Christian Fellowship offered sufficient activities considering the size and the number of students. Our daughter participated in basketball, softball, volleyball, drama, and soccer. They have yearbook, cheerleading, and other activities also. We believe Christian Fellowship gave us a big return on our investment in our daughter. More importantly, it was imperative to us that what was (and is) enforced in our home was reinforced at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 71%
Black 8% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 9%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school public schools
private schools
homeschool
Colleges most students attend after graduation Carnegie-Mellon Universtity
Duquesne University
University of Pittsburgh
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kathy A. Gustovich
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (724) 523-5439

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Kickball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
public schools
private schools
homeschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$1000 - $4000
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
private schools
public schools
homeschool
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2005 Ridge Rd
Jeannette, PA 15644
Website: Click here
Phone: (724) 523-2358

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Penn Middle School
Jeannette, PA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT