Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Upper Merion High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
Mrs. Jowett....I don't remember my children talking more about a teacher than Mrs. Jowett. They seem to bring her up every day and think highly of her! That works for me!

Upper Merion High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
Some teachers are stronger than others. Some are challenging and some are not as much. But, my children really like all of their teachers!


Upper Merion High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
My children are pretty smart and get good grades. I actually think they should have more homework. BUT, the teachers really do challenge them...just more IN the classroom than OUT!

Upper Merion High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
The students are held accountable for their grades and their actions. Honestly, if this topic gets a low rating it's because a student or parent added it when the "going got tough"!

Upper Merion High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
The students are committed to each other and they "police" themselves. My children are treated better at UMHS than they were in a small, private school.


Upper Merion High School 5

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
My children love Upper Merion High School. They are in 10th grade and came from a small private school. I wish I made the move in Middle School. There is SO much more offered with classes, clubs, and sports. They are thriving!

Upper Merion High School 1

Posted December 29, 2015
- a student
As a former student of color at this school, I had a terrible time. The academics are subpar compared to high schools with similar demographics. The faculty/teachers/students are all from similar ethnic and socioeconomic backgrounds which causes a problem for people who are different. After moving out of state to a top performing public school, I realized how much upper merion is lacking. There is no diversity and a false sense of intellect here. Look elsewhere for students of color/intellects.

Upper Merion High School 4

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
Very happy with Upper Merion High School. My sons graduated in the top 30%. Recently visited the HS & when asked by a former teacher how college compared to HS, their response - it wasn't the classes that were the challenge, but the amount of work outside the classroom to prepare for their classes and tests that presented the biggest challenge. Their AP classes helped them rise up to that challenge and put in the work needed in order to succeed. Had an excellent freshman year at American University.


Upper Merion High School 1

Posted March 06, 2013
- a parent
so disappointed in UM schools! , My Daughter graduated top 10% from U.M and had all AP classes. She told me how unprepared she was in her freshmen year at Temple. The guidance counselors are useless and don't know or care about our children at all. I have a second graded now and he is not going to any of the um schools. What a shame!

Upper Merion High School 4

Posted September 08, 2011
- a student
First of all, the laptop lawsuit was not Upper Merion, but Lower Merion. Secondly, as a graduate of Upper Merion and a current college student, I only realized how lucky I was to have gone to UM after I left. It is a great district and the majority of the teachers are dedicated and knowledgable. Yes, the college counselors could have been more helpful, but students need to take initiative on their own, and in my opinion to criticize the district for students not going to Ivy League schools is ridiculous. Not to mention the fact that more than one student in the top of my class are now at Ivy League schools. My perspective may be skewed since I took all honors//AP classes, but compared to many of my current peers at college, I feel I am much more well prepared in many academic areas than they are, and I have Upper Merion to thank for that.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Upper Merion High School
440 Crossfield Rd, King Of Prussia, PA  19406
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (610) 205-3802
Last modified Upper Merion High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top