Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Upper Merion High School 3

Posted July 15, 2016
- a parent
There are several problems with UM. First off, bullying - they say they are a no bully zone, but it takes getting a lawyer involved before they will do anything about the bullying. And even after that, they place the child in classes with the bully. Teachers are good, but a lot will push the ADD issue, especially if your child is not on medication for ADD. When the parent makes the informed decision to not give their child these medications, the school basically ignores the child. If you have an IEP, be prepared to fight for everything your child needs on it. UM pushes back hard to get the child off the IEP.

Upper Merion High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
Mrs. Jowett....I don't remember my children talking more about a teacher than Mrs. Jowett. They seem to bring her up every day and think highly of her! That works for me!


Upper Merion High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
Some teachers are stronger than others. Some are challenging and some are not as much. But, my children really like all of their teachers!

Upper Merion High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
My children are pretty smart and get good grades. I actually think they should have more homework. BUT, the teachers really do challenge them...just more IN the classroom than OUT!

Upper Merion High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
The students are held accountable for their grades and their actions. Honestly, if this topic gets a low rating it's because a student or parent added it when the "going got tough"!


Upper Merion High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
The students are committed to each other and they "police" themselves. My children are treated better at UMHS than they were in a small, private school.

Upper Merion High School 5

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
My children love Upper Merion High School. They are in 10th grade and came from a small private school. I wish I made the move in Middle School. There is SO much more offered with classes, clubs, and sports. They are thriving!

Upper Merion High School 1

Posted December 29, 2015
- a student
As a former student of color at this school, I had a terrible time. The academics are subpar compared to high schools with similar demographics. The faculty/teachers/students are all from similar ethnic and socioeconomic backgrounds which causes a problem for people who are different. After moving out of state to a top performing public school, I realized how much upper merion is lacking. There is no diversity and a false sense of intellect here. Look elsewhere for students of color/intellects.


Upper Merion High School 4

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
Very happy with Upper Merion High School. My sons graduated in the top 30%. Recently visited the HS & when asked by a former teacher how college compared to HS, their response - it wasn't the classes that were the challenge, but the amount of work outside the classroom to prepare for their classes and tests that presented the biggest challenge. Their AP classes helped them rise up to that challenge and put in the work needed in order to succeed. Had an excellent freshman year at American University.

Upper Merion High School 1

Posted March 06, 2013
- a parent
so disappointed in UM schools! , My Daughter graduated top 10% from U.M and had all AP classes. She told me how unprepared she was in her freshmen year at Temple. The guidance counselors are useless and don't know or care about our children at all. I have a second graded now and he is not going to any of the um schools. What a shame!

Nearby schools

Upper Merion High School
440 Crossfield Rd, King Of Prussia, PA  19406
(610) 205-3802
Last modified Upper Merion High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top