Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

8,500 students|Agora Cyber Cs
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
71 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 104 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Agora Cyber Charter School 2

Posted January 11, 2016
- a community member
This school is HORRIBLE. The work is confusing and the teachers can't help as much as they would be able to in our old tranditional school. I know they want to help, but it's nearly impossible for them to do it effectively. My child lost half a year of instruction because there were always so many tech issues. Going back to a regular school.

Agora Cyber Charter School
Grateful to: Student

Posted November 02, 2015
- a student
I want to thank my friends for always having my back,and supporting me,no matter what happens,i just couldent thank them enough


Agora Cyber Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted November 02, 2015
- a student
I feel like the teachers are abusing there power because they think there better then us students

Agora Cyber Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 02, 2015
- a student
It good,not to much work,but its good,and i get the rest of the day,to enjoy,and live my life

Agora Cyber Charter School 3

Posted September 17, 2015
- a community member
My son went to Agora Cyber for years. I am a person that struggles to get by so am very appreciative of the internet reimbursement. However, my sons last year at Agora I had problems getting my reimbursement. They had claimed that I did not submit "proper" paperwork. I did submit my paperwork, properly as I always have. I had written an inquired many times. I never did see it. So I left to a school that does give reimbursement's. Hopefully without the hassle that I had received. I hate having a fit over this small amount of money but the reality of it is, while I am raising my child, I am working a whole lot less and bringing home not much to live on. Since I do indeed pay out the money for internet, I was counting on that reimbursement. I was rather worked up about this since I did indeed do my part of the deal. Someone told me to report them to the Dept of Education. I don';t know what good that will do, but I indeed have the thoughts. I do still have the paperwork of proof of my internet expenses. I think this situation became messed up the way many do with Agora. They are unorganized in their faculty and what they are doing. I have seen signs of this many times over. The right hand don't know what the left hand is doing. It took me loosing money to say the heck with it and move on. My son is now in Connections Academy. It seems to be a better layout and less complicated then what Agora had for a website. I appreciate that.


Agora Cyber Charter School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
Because of the huge changes that have happened, I cannot tell how it is going to go.

Agora Cyber Charter School 2

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
My son was a 3rd grade student at Agora last year when it was still partnered with K12 and the experience was very good. This year, it is now 3 days into the 4th grade school year and he has yet to be able to attend one class because of technical difficulties - on their end, not ours. The new system is totally different and very confusing; the teachers don't seem to be able to explain it very well. We are still unsure who his teachers are or how to access his work. Even after sending emails, attending orientation sessions and asking questions for 3 days, we are still unable to figure it out. It should not be this hard. Worse, I think my son is being counted absent for these days, even though he has no listed classes. The one class he did have listed yesterday, we were unable to enter. It was just a blank screen, no many how many times we tried. We are giving it a week (2 more days) and if things do not smooth out, we are finding a different school. Our son did so well here last year. This is a very large disappointment.

Agora Cyber Charter School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 04, 2015
- a student
I don't feel that this school develops honesty, integrity, or fairness in its students because of the fact that the teachers in the online classes never enforce rules, and they allow kids to hand in assignments that are weeks overdue. This teaches laziness and dishonesty in students, and doesn't at all prepare them to be honest, respectable people.It also teaches students that it's okay to not follow rules, and that rules really don't matter.


Agora Cyber Charter School 2

Posted September 04, 2015
- a student
I did Agora for 3 years from 6-8th grade, and it was very bad. The teachers never enforced the rules, kids were allowed to hand in assignments a marking period after it was due and the teachers didn't care, and kids were always allowed to private chat (which isn't allowed, according to the class rules) and come to class 30+ minutes late. There was hardly any participation in the online classes because of how poorly the teachers reinforced the rules. Another negative aspect about Agora is that in my three years of being there, I only had one teacher who properly taught all of the materials and made sure you knew what you were doing for homework and understood it. Overall, the teachers are very unprofessional, a majority of the students don't participate, and rules don't seem to matter. If you are looking for a good, trustworthy cyber charter school, then I would highly suggest PA Cyber. But please, don't join Agora Cyber Charter School. It will only make your child more frustrated and confused with their schoolwork!

Agora Cyber Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
Poor communication and no support from teachers and administration. I would never recommend then to anyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Agora Cyber Charter School
590 North Gulph Road, King of Prussia, PA  19406
(844) 402-4672
Last modified Agora Cyber Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Agora Cyber Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 104 reviews. Top