Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kutztown Area Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 480 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 26, 2013

Honestly, I think Kutztown is a relatively below average school. Not only do they say they have a "strong" bullying program (they really don't), but students with disabilities and who don't "fit in" have a hard time making friends and getting along with the "popular" kids. The only good thing about Kutztown is the laptop program, but then again its very annoying to deal with two types of assignments at once (paper and electronic). Countless times my grades have slipped due to an unexpected online assignment or failure of the electronic submission system. That brings me to how the teachers don't often announce their assignments. I'm constantly e-mailing them since the calendars on our class Moodle pages (where teachers put their assignments) often don't work (another reason my grades slip). I don't recommend Kutztown to students looking for a nice, worry-free school because of these reasons, not to mention the little details like an old, run-down building, no air conditioning in parts of the school, and the rather unhealthy and overpriced lunches. Of course, there are good things about every school, such as Kutztown's good academic program, but overall I don't recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2013

I am a current freshman, and I must say, I love this high school. The enrollment is small, but that is to our advantage with academics and activities. The laptops are a useful tool, and the teachers are helpful. We are proud of our music program, the building is run down, but we thrive within. I'm proud to say this is why school, and I wouldn't want to attend any other.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2011

Spanish teacher..... I wont name any names,(sarcasim) but the fact is that we have teachers that are extremely frustrated teaching what they're teaching and taking it out on students. After speaking with one of the teachers it was very clear to me that we have an very immature lady (spanish teacher) i wont name any names, I am very glad that my daughter will never have to sit in her class again. this lady has marked a higher grade than my daughter should have received on her report card (in her mind) just to not have to face her parents due to all the immaturity she has encountered with my daughter over the years. And how I know this is because she flat out said it directly to me. I feel bad for the students she will have to be teaching until her final years. This year my daughter has made honor roll. No thanks to that teacher
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

Kutztown has a lot of potential, but unfortunately we're experiencing increasing problems with our school board. They don't listen to teachers, students or parents and seem to be interested solely in spending as little money as possible as to not upset conservative community members. The fault here lies within the community, failing to elect responsible board members who legitimately care about the well being of the school and its students and for failing to get involved with and educated about the happenings of the school and its urgency for reform. Kutztown high school is filled with frustration due to the uncooperative disposition of its school board. As a student, it's extremely discouraging and frustrating to see adults constantly bumble over issues, without rendering positive reform. The fact that we feel powerless to change things which directly affect us, does not help our lack of motivation. There is so much talent academically and musically, but our physical school is in dire need of repair.


Posted February 14, 2008

Honestly, Kutztown is an above average school. Although we have lost many good teachers in the past few years and our PSSA results have slipped slightly, we have many positives-- our current freshman class is breaking all of the curves set by students during previous years, our debate team is the league champion, and our musical and performing arts are our real strong suit-- few other schools in the county can compete with our use of technology, strength in music and art, and our educational quality.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2008

My family has been very active in the district since kindergarten, it's been fun. High school years have been very challenging. Our family's needs/health issues have changed and this school did not meet our medical or academic expectations. This school has a lot of potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

Everyone's grades have been dropping ever since the introduction of the Apple One to One Laptop Initiative. Having these 'precious' commodities not only causes the students to not pay attention but also causes the teachers to electronically hand out documents and expect us to understand.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

135 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female60%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)19%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female71%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students54%
Female51%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students90%
Female97%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)68%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 71%
Hispanic 2% 8%
Asian 1% 3%
Black 1% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Barry Flicker

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 Trexler Ave
Kutztown, PA 19530
Website: Click here
Phone: (610) 683-7346

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT