Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ross Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 349 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 3, 2012

If you have any doubts about sending your kids to Lancaster public schools... put your fears to rest. Ross Elementary School is a top-notch school with a caring faculty and great PTO. Our children are thriving. The building was renovated and our kids have so many great things to be proud of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2012

Our family transferred to Ross from a local private school three years audio. I must say it was the best decision we could have made for our chills education. Everyone from the principal, to the teachers to the janitorial staff is there for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2012

This school is very welcoming of new students. My son has been attending Ross elementary school since Kindergarden, and has enjoyed his experiences thus far. There are plenty of activities avialable for students to participate in and play an active role in thier school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2012

We are so happy with Ross. Both our girls got involved in the arts and music programs. It is really exciting to see the school and community come together to make this happen. It is encouraging to know that many teachers sacrifice their time and help out of their own pockets every year just so our kids have a chance to shine!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2006

My son is currently enrolled here. I think there are a lot of extracurriculars for kids to choosed from of course they require parental involovement to be allowed to join in and i know for some that can be a problem. My issue though is with the staff...while my son's teacher is ok (and and i stress just okay) the other teacher seem to be disinteretsed and there is a pattern with lack of a follw through. Since when should you have to 'beg' for a report on your child?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2004

My daughter transfer here in second grade. I thought there would be exciting things for her. I was wrong. Nothing extra special for her. Price Elementary offers a lot more after school activities for students to get involved in. What happened to that in this school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2003

I srongly agree with parent number one. My children are in kindergarten and second grade. The only thing this school has to offer are a few great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My daughter is currently a third grader. The first year at Ross transferring from another county school was terrific, her first grade teacher was the best! Second grade was a different story, principal change and teacher change made her second year disastrous! We no longer have dress down days or fun dress days as we had with Ms. Dolores Jones. Parental involvement is very little. Spanish teacher in second grade transferred or quit, we no longer had Spanish! Unsure if we have Spanish this year yet. Am worried about 3rd grade, praying all goes well. In second grade, seen many roaches in her classroom and lice was very prominent. If 3rd grade does not go well by end of first marking period, will transfer my child to a PRIVATE school! (And trust me, I cannot afford it.) Our city schools need to be cleaner and the class ratio to a teacher needs to be changed! Last year, we had 34 students in her class!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

George Ross (Ross) is an excellent city school. The Teaching staff is great, and give their best. More Parent involvement would make the school even better. I am proud to say that my two children have attended George Ross Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

32 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

32 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
59%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

37 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

37 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

37 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
44%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
57%

2009

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

54 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
7%

2009

 
 
25%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female67%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students53%
Female56%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female81%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female63%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students51%
Female50%
Male52%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female70%
Male54%
Black62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students47%
Female50%
Male42%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students59%
Female66%
Male52%
Black54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 53% 8%
Black 21% 15%
White 19% 71%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

840 North Queen St
Lancaster, PA 17603
Phone: (717) 291-6268

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Anne School
Lancaster, PA



Brecht School
Lancaster, PA



Sacred Heart School
Lancaster, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT