Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Anne School

Private | PK-8

We are best known for faith-filled education.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lancaster

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $121,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2013

I am very happy with the education our child has received at St. Anne's. I would not hesitate to recommend the school to those on the fence about the quality of the school. A bonus has been the relationships we have gained with other parents, as the parents are encouraged to become involved. This creates a sense of community that is absent at public schools. The one negative is the aging building the school is currently in. While the building itself is old, the technologies used within the school include a modern computer lab with macs and ipads. Safety features include multiple exterior cameras.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

Our oldest child started at St. Anne's in KDG, is now a freshman at LCHS. Our other children are in the intermediate, having started in the SA preschool program. Our children have had different realms of learning that were accomodated. Our one child was in the challenge program and the other needing remedial help. Our kids are learning in a fun environment with traditional teaching enhanced with modern technology (iPads,iMacs, SMART boards, christian values, morals and respect. It has made us more spiritual as a family and better Catholics. We love how all of the teachers know all of the students. The older children mentor the younger ones--grades K-8 know each other and it feels like family. We love how the day starts with prayers, the Pledge of Allegiance and a patriotic song--things being banned in public schools. Security is tight and the teachers and staff have been trained in emergency management. They offer Spanish & computer starting in KDG, Library, Art, Music & music lessons, Latin & Algebra in Jr. High, as well as sports participation through CYO & LCHS. If you are looking for a top-notch quality education in a faith-filled, loving environment, look no further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

My 2 children attend St. Anne's. We are impressed with the teachers. The teachers are attentive to the student's needs and effectively communicate with the parents. My one daughter is in the challenge program. The teacher of the challenge program knows how to motivate the students to learn in a way that is fun. The new principal has been a blessing to the students and the community. She has brought a stability to the school that was lacking in the past. Her support of the students and staff shows in her communications with the parents. We feel blessed to have found a school in Lancaster that gives our children a great education, teaches morals and gives the whole family a great community to thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

We have had one child graduate from St. Anne's School. The middle school teachers were all fair and extremely helpful to our son. The younger primary grades are a hit and miss with teachers. The new principal has no leadership ability and the has poor communication skills with the parents. This was not the case last year and I actually wish the former principal had stayed and maybe we wouldn't be in the situation we are. We believe in a Catholic education but this is not what you are paying for in fact you are paying for a name and previous reputation that was earned. Save your money or send your kids to a school less glitx but more heart. Bythe way who knows when the new school will be completed, but funny they are more worried about taking care of the parish hall and lobby then the actual reason we raised the money which was for a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

We are in our fifth year at St. Anne's and we absolutely love it. From the moment you walk into the school you get a very welcoming feeling from the administration, staff and parents - it feels like home. The children love the school itself and thrive in the small-school environment, with small class size and a great deal of attention from teachers. We have three children currently at the school, from kindergarten through fifth grade, each with different academic abilities and each have been well served, socially and education-wise. Parents are encouraged to be involved on a daily basis in the school community and it is very enjoyable. For anyone considering the local school system, we had our children in the public school for a year and disliked the lock down feel of the schools and not being able to be on site and involved in the children's daily work. St. Anne's has a security system and the school is safe and locked throughout the day but parents can come and go all day to help and participate in everyday activities. As you may know, we've grown out of our space in downtown Lancaster and a new school is planned next to St. John Neumann church on Delp Road. Come join us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

When my husband and I decided to transfer our oldest child from a Manheim Township Public School into the St. Anne community, we had no idea that we would all change and grow from the experience. I have always been actively involved in the education of my children, and St. Anne has provided numerous ways for me to share my talents and real world experience with the students. The children are encouraged to think and act in ways that verify the love that we labor to instill in their hearts. Every parent wants their child to grow up to be a happy and productive member of society. St. Anne faculty, staff, and parent volunteers are working together toward specific and small attainable goals to get them there and beyond. The elementary and middle school years set the stage for the levels of self-motivation and confidence necessary for success in life. St. Anne provides these tools and tempers them with the honor, ethics, and respect for all that is so sorely lacking in our world today. If you want your child to survive, any school will do - as life teaches it's own lessons. If you want your child to thrive, consider St. Anne. Our family is all the stronger for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2011

My child transferred to St. Anne's from the Manheim Township Public School District. We are very satisfied with the academics of the school. As noted in other reviews, the students score extremely well on national standarized exams and there have numerous winners at both regional competitions for Science Fair and National History Day. The "breadth" of offerings is not the same as in a public school but the depth of education in traditional subjects is excellent and prepares students well for high school. More importantly, students are well prepared for life. The faith based program, which embraces prayer and opportunites to "act" in charitable ways in our community, results in kind, respectful and disciplined students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

St. Anne School is an excellent academic and spiritual school. It not only teaches challenging academics, but it teaches its students morals and values, something that is lacking in our society today. They educate the whole child. My child has a disabilty and the school has made accommodations and worked with my husband and I to make sure my child is getting the best education available. The teachers are outstanding and highly qualified. They not only know the names of the students in their own classes, but make sure they interact with the students in many other classes. They simply care for the students, they are not in this position for the money. I have been very pleased and extremely satisfied with the education my 3 children have received at St. Anne School, it has been worth EVERY penny. Check out the website and visit to see for yourself what a great school it is!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

The Academic Level is not good, the Manheim Township School Academic Level is much better; many parents are leaving St Anne's to a better public school system. The school is pseudo-catholic, with no full-time presence of Priests or religious teachers. Check the local newspapers websites, and you will find all negative news related to the school. We Catholics in the area do not have the opportunity to send our kids to a real Catholic environment; the closest catholic school is under St. James Catholic Church in Lititz PA. Love and protect your Children, that is your mission.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

St. Anne School has outstanding academics in an environment that focuses on doing things right: 1) Three of the six classes that were tested in last year s ITBS testing placed at the 96th percentile nationally, with the others close behind. 2) In the last three years, St. Anne has had 24 winners at the National History Day (NHD) Regional Competition and 23 winners at the county-wide Science and Engineering Fair. 3) In this year s NHD regional competition, St. Anne students captured 9 awards, out of a total of 27 possible, winning more than any other school! No other school had more than four winners. 4) Programs to help all children, whether at the top of the class, the bottom or somewhere in between. This year, the school implemented a Student Development teacher that is working with every middle school student to help improve their writing and oral presentation skills. The focus is on the student at St. Anne School, and it shows!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

Good school. Surprised there is so little diversity considering it is located in downtown Lancaster, Pa
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

St. Anne is a wonderful school and I am happy to have my children attending there. The teachers care about each and every child and the principal does a fine job leading both the students and staff. He has great leadership skills does a fine job managing the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

St.Anne has an excellent Spanish program, they are intensely academic, and intensely disciplined, the current Principal has not good experience in Education, and Faculty is suffering from this lack of executive leadership. The Catholic environment is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

Saint Anne's may not have a special education department, but they do have Spanish, Latin, and advanced algebra, an engaged faculty and staff, rigorous standards, and provide a wonderful developmental platform for their students. They are intensely academic, intensely disciplined, and intensely Catholic. They are also not publicly funded. It is a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

Large class sizes = no individual attention. They don't have their own special education dept. Manheim Twp is leap years ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

Great school if you want your child to quote the bible. As far as academic excellence- save your money.


Posted September 13, 2004

I went to St Annes and I really enjoyed the experience! Its a small school and everyone knows everyone, I really like that cuz it makes you feel at home and comfertable. Everyone really cares about you there, I would definatly recommend St Annes!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 71%
Two or more races 14% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 2% 15%
Hispanic 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Chris Kennedy
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (717) 394-8628

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Harrisburg
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

108 East Liberty Street
Lancaster, PA 17602
Website: Click here
Phone: (717) 394-6711

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ross El School
Lancaster, PA



Brecht School
Lancaster, PA



Mccaskey Campus
Lancaster, PA


Fulton El School
Lancaster, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT