Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Lancaster, PA
Students enrolled: 243
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Anne School 4

Posted January 29, 2013
- a parent
I am very happy with the education our child has received at St. Anne's. I would not hesitate to recommend the school to those on the fence about the quality of the school. A bonus has been the relationships we have gained with other parents, as the parents are encouraged to become involved. This creates a sense of community that is absent at public schools. The one negative is the aging building the school is currently in. While the building itself is old, the technologies used within the school include a modern computer lab with macs and ipads. Safety features include multiple exterior cameras.

St Anne School 5

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
Our oldest child started at St. Anne's in KDG, is now a freshman at LCHS. Our other children are in the intermediate, having started in the SA preschool program. Our children have had different realms of learning that were accomodated. Our one child was in the challenge program and the other needing remedial help. Our kids are learning in a fun environment with traditional teaching enhanced with modern technology (iPads,iMacs, SMART boards, christian values, morals and respect. It has made us more spiritual as a family and better Catholics. We love how all of the teachers know all of the students. The older children mentor the younger ones--grades K-8 know each other and it feels like family. We love how the day starts with prayers, the Pledge of Allegiance and a patriotic song--things being banned in public schools. Security is tight and the teachers and staff have been trained in emergency management. They offer Spanish & computer starting in KDG, Library, Art, Music & music lessons, Latin & Algebra in Jr. High, as well as sports participation through CYO & LCHS. If you are looking for a top-notch quality education in a faith-filled, loving environment, look no further.


St Anne School 5

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
My 2 children attend St. Anne's. We are impressed with the teachers. The teachers are attentive to the student's needs and effectively communicate with the parents. My one daughter is in the challenge program. The teacher of the challenge program knows how to motivate the students to learn in a way that is fun. The new principal has been a blessing to the students and the community. She has brought a stability to the school that was lacking in the past. Her support of the students and staff shows in her communications with the parents. We feel blessed to have found a school in Lancaster that gives our children a great education, teaches morals and gives the whole family a great community to thrive.

St Anne School 1

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
We have had one child graduate from St. Anne's School. The middle school teachers were all fair and extremely helpful to our son. The younger primary grades are a hit and miss with teachers. The new principal has no leadership ability and the has poor communication skills with the parents. This was not the case last year and I actually wish the former principal had stayed and maybe we wouldn't be in the situation we are. We believe in a Catholic education but this is not what you are paying for in fact you are paying for a name and previous reputation that was earned. Save your money or send your kids to a school less glitx but more heart. Bythe way who knows when the new school will be completed, but funny they are more worried about taking care of the parish hall and lobby then the actual reason we raised the money which was for a school.

St Anne School 5

Posted October 20, 2011
- a parent
We are in our fifth year at St. Anne's and we absolutely love it. From the moment you walk into the school you get a very welcoming feeling from the administration, staff and parents - it feels like home. The children love the school itself and thrive in the small-school environment, with small class size and a great deal of attention from teachers. We have three children currently at the school, from kindergarten through fifth grade, each with different academic abilities and each have been well served, socially and education-wise. Parents are encouraged to be involved on a daily basis in the school community and it is very enjoyable. For anyone considering the local school system, we had our children in the public school for a year and disliked the lock down feel of the schools and not being able to be on site and involved in the children's daily work. St. Anne's has a security system and the school is safe and locked throughout the day but parents can come and go all day to help and participate in everyday activities. As you may know, we've grown out of our space in downtown Lancaster and a new school is planned next to St. John Neumann church on Delp Road. Come join us!


St Anne School 5

Posted October 19, 2011
- a parent
When my husband and I decided to transfer our oldest child from a Manheim Township Public School into the St. Anne community, we had no idea that we would all change and grow from the experience. I have always been actively involved in the education of my children, and St. Anne has provided numerous ways for me to share my talents and real world experience with the students. The children are encouraged to think and act in ways that verify the love that we labor to instill in their hearts. Every parent wants their child to grow up to be a happy and productive member of society. St. Anne faculty, staff, and parent volunteers are working together toward specific and small attainable goals to get them there and beyond. The elementary and middle school years set the stage for the levels of self-motivation and confidence necessary for success in life. St. Anne provides these tools and tempers them with the honor, ethics, and respect for all that is so sorely lacking in our world today. If you want your child to survive, any school will do - as life teaches it's own lessons. If you want your child to thrive, consider St. Anne. Our family is all the stronger for it.

St Anne School 5

Posted September 28, 2011
- a parent
My child transferred to St. Anne's from the Manheim Township Public School District. We are very satisfied with the academics of the school. As noted in other reviews, the students score extremely well on national standarized exams and there have numerous winners at both regional competitions for Science Fair and National History Day. The "breadth" of offerings is not the same as in a public school but the depth of education in traditional subjects is excellent and prepares students well for high school. More importantly, students are well prepared for life. The faith based program, which embraces prayer and opportunites to "act" in charitable ways in our community, results in kind, respectful and disciplined students.

St Anne School 5

Posted May 09, 2011
- a parent
St. Anne School is an excellent academic and spiritual school. It not only teaches challenging academics, but it teaches its students morals and values, something that is lacking in our society today. They educate the whole child. My child has a disabilty and the school has made accommodations and worked with my husband and I to make sure my child is getting the best education available. The teachers are outstanding and highly qualified. They not only know the names of the students in their own classes, but make sure they interact with the students in many other classes. They simply care for the students, they are not in this position for the money. I have been very pleased and extremely satisfied with the education my 3 children have received at St. Anne School, it has been worth EVERY penny. Check out the website and visit to see for yourself what a great school it is!!


St Anne School 1

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
The Academic Level is not good, the Manheim Township School Academic Level is much better; many parents are leaving St Anne's to a better public school system. The school is pseudo-catholic, with no full-time presence of Priests or religious teachers. Check the local newspapers websites, and you will find all negative news related to the school. We Catholics in the area do not have the opportunity to send our kids to a real Catholic environment; the closest catholic school is under St. James Catholic Church in Lititz PA. Love and protect your Children, that is your mission.

St Anne School 5

Posted March 10, 2011
- a parent
St. Anne School has outstanding academics in an environment that focuses on doing things right: 1) Three of the six classes that were tested in last year s ITBS testing placed at the 96th percentile nationally, with the others close behind. 2) In the last three years, St. Anne has had 24 winners at the National History Day (NHD) Regional Competition and 23 winners at the county-wide Science and Engineering Fair. 3) In this year s NHD regional competition, St. Anne students captured 9 awards, out of a total of 27 possible, winning more than any other school! No other school had more than four winners. 4) Programs to help all children, whether at the top of the class, the bottom or somewhere in between. This year, the school implemented a Student Development teacher that is working with every middle school student to help improve their writing and oral presentation skills. The focus is on the student at St. Anne School, and it shows!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Anne School
108 East Liberty Street, Lancaster, PA  17602
(717) 394-6711
Last modified St Anne School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Anne School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top